Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars365
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 June 2014
Saw it twice in cinemas and countless times at home. Some may disagree, but I am just in LOVE with this film. Bale is a gem, Adams is great, Cooper is great, Renner is great and Lawrence? Do I need to say more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
Slow movie, easy to lose your way with this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
Enjoyable 70s themed straightforward Hustle movie with all the necessary twists & turns of the genre and a convincing "never quite sure" element to keep you wondering just how things might end
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
This is a long, daft, shaggy dog story of a film, and your expectations are everything. The plot is good, but it could be told in about half an hour, and in a crazy way it isn't what the film is about. The film is about the characters, their relationships with each other, and the complexities of motivation - the story is just a vehicle for the filmmaker to explore this. Once you understand this and focus on the quality of the character acting, this film becomes an absolute masterpiece. Christian Bale is almost unrecognisable as the serious conman who develops a conscience and his lack of self involvement with the image he wears for this film is laugh out loud funny. Amy Adams gives by far her best performance to date as his flighty love interest - much of the film is spent working out what parts of her are con and what are real, and she delivers with real subtlety. Bradley Cooper shows again after Silver Linings Playbook that there is a lot more to him than the cheap laughs of The Hangover as the borderline psychotic agent controlling them. Strangely though, despite their superb performances, they are all overshadowed by the incredible Jennifer Lawrence who steals the film with her portrayal of Bale's long suffering, low rent alcohol abusing wife - another career highlight for her. Coupled with the exuberant 70's fashion and styles and a corking soundtrack, this film is everything it has been made out to be - just be aware it may not be for the reasons you had anticipated. Fantastic film, and another character-led piece of work that is becoming the trademark and principle skill of the director.
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
It doesn't live up to the hype, okay performances but not as outstanding as they were being touted. Jennifer Lawrence for me stole the show. Got a bit bored and fast forwarded through bits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
wasn't one of the best films too recommend to a friend found it very had to wait right to the end to understand it all , enjoyed the tv series much much more. thought the acting was rubbish
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
I was expecting that this was going to be disappointing as the reviews were so mixed but far from it - yes it is a long film but I found myself not wanting it to end! The acting was excellent and visually the film was great too. Ignore the negative reviews, watch the film when you have plenty of time and aren't tired (falling asleep during a film is not necessarily an indication of its quality. It could just be you need more sleep!)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
This film has a very great story line all the way through , its very easy to sit down and follow all the way through ,I fully recomend to all who enjoy a great film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 October 2014
I’d been looking forward to watching this for some months following the numerous nominations and awards that it received earlier this year. Wow, I really wasn’t missing out on anything! I know this is based on a true story and I’m not entirely sure whether it’s supposed to be a drama or a comedy, I didn’t find it to be either. I managed to stick it out for 30 minutes before deciding I had better things to do with my night than force myself through a film that I really wasn’t enjoying, I was quite willing to grab a book and leave my hubby watching it, on the assumption that he was enjoying it, but he declared it a relief that I’d had enough as he couldn’t stand it either.

I have seen a couple of reviews which have said it takes a while to get going and it could be that the second half of the film is better than the start and that I’ve missed a treat by giving up to early but I’d never have made it to the second half of the film, if I’d kept it on I’d have been asleep in no time.
33 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
Bloody good film! With a fantastic cast full of incredibly talented actors! This film has elements of humour as well which makes it even more specail
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)