Customer Reviews


224 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (54)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything that is truly screwed up about America...and more...
America is as America does. Watching this was like a cross between Starsky and Hutch, LA Confidential and Goodfellas all rolled into one crazy movie, with a top soundtrack to boot. The look, style and feel of this movie alone is enough to suck you in and drag you by the hair through a hedge backwards. The comb over, perm and Elvis look are goofy too. It really is that...
Published 4 months ago by whitedragon

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Long Too Much Inpro.
No wonder this film didn't won any oscars at all, except Jennifer Lawrence's excellent performance. She's spot on capturing the character in a subtle way - amazing how young she is and so versitile with her acting. Didn't like the cast of Amy Adam, she's a good actor over all but not in this film, and her wardrobe - over used the 70s low cut fashion. In summary, the...
Published 2 months ago by Jac Knight


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything that is truly screwed up about America...and more..., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Hustle [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
America is as America does. Watching this was like a cross between Starsky and Hutch, LA Confidential and Goodfellas all rolled into one crazy movie, with a top soundtrack to boot. The look, style and feel of this movie alone is enough to suck you in and drag you by the hair through a hedge backwards. The comb over, perm and Elvis look are goofy too. It really is that crazy. But it's just so American it hurts. Sleazy, tacky, egotistical, narcissistic and totally manic.

But at the end of the day this is a comedy. There are 'drama' elements, but they take a back seat. American Hustle shouldn't be taken 'seriously', in the truest sense of the word. This is just a blast. We need to constantly realize what we are witnessing: Everything that is truly great, but screwed up about America. The land of the free gets taken for a ride by a duplicitous con man, who actually comes across as a deadpan but seemingly well intended, plausible character on the surface....

Jennifer Lawrence tops the charts as the dizzy blonde, semi-neurotic, trailer trash, bitter and embattled younger housewife with a deranged kid, whose been ensnared by (the same) over-weight, heart condition I need my pills, con man of a so called husband, one marvelous Christian Bale. Who must have put on at least three stone or more to play the part.

Then we have the smart, savvy, but equally duplicitous lush puppy, butter wouldn't melt, how can you not love me, Amy Adams, Bale's real partner in slime, I mean crime. While they are art wheeling and dealing and making a fortune they are caught by FBI agent in charge, the hilarious Brad Cooper, with his perm, who tries to use them to catch the alleged real criminals - the scheming public officials who have been paid off by mafia. A mysterious sheikh is employed too, to try and catch them all at it. Everyone in the movie seems corrupt in some way. Everyone has an ulterior motive, everyone wants to use everyone else, everyone wants to manipulate everyone else. Who really is the bad guy?

Underneath all the craziness and shenanigans there is actually a story and a plot going on (70s FBI 2 year ABSCAM sting operation). But the plot of the movie seems almost irrelevant to mention, because that's not what we're really watching for. In comes Jerry Renner who plays the Mayor with umpteen kids, who is all family on the outside, but just as corrupt on the inside. It trips over itself in one crazy scene to the next you're left dangling as to who is really trying to con who. But Jennifer Lawrence doing Wing's 'Live and Let die' is right up there... We also get to see the legendary Robert De Niro in a non-credited cameo as mafia's second in command, thrown in for good measure...

You have to understand the mentality of the movie to appreciate it, I can't believe so many on here gave it 1 star, they weren't paying attention, they didn't do their homework and they didn't realize what they were witnessing. Shame on them. Hustle indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Long Too Much Inpro., 7 Sep 2014
By 
Jac Knight (Bucks, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: American Hustle (DVD)
No wonder this film didn't won any oscars at all, except Jennifer Lawrence's excellent performance. She's spot on capturing the character in a subtle way - amazing how young she is and so versitile with her acting. Didn't like the cast of Amy Adam, she's a good actor over all but not in this film, and her wardrobe - over used the 70s low cut fashion. In summary, the film is far too long and too much inpro with Chris Bale, Cooper and Adam. The story picks up when Lawrence involved... . It would have been a much more interesting story if it were cut down to just 1.30 hrs. Any good story could become boring if it drags on. The director is not a good story teller. It I were 20 years younger I would have liked some other reviewers - walked out of the movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Performances 4 Story 0, 13 Nov 2014
By 
This review is from: American Hustle [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Some films are noted for their action, other for their stories, whilst others still have a great central performance. The very special few will have all these elements and become a classic. ‘American Hustle’ is not that film. It has little action and a slightly confused story, but what it does have is four stellar performances in the guise of Christian Bale, Amy Adams, Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper. These performances are at a level that you can forgive some of the film’s mistakes and instead embrace the elements that do work.

Based on a true story, ‘American Hustle’ discards any sort of reality in favour of an overblown portrayal of the 70s and even more overblown characters. It is almost as if director David O. Russell sketched out a general idea of what they were planning to do and shot the film anyway. This is certainly the case towards the end as a rather loose narrative begins to unravel into near enough nothing. In most cases, this would prove a real problem, but ‘American Hustle’ is not about the story, but about the characters.

It is here that the film really shines. You expect the likes of Bale and Adams to work well; they have Oscar nominations to spare. Of course you also have the wonderful Lawrence, proving once more that she can do drama or action; stick her in a film and watch her excel. The final of the four is Cooper, despite previous accolades I have not thought much of him, but as the sleazy FBI agent he is excellent. A charming facade soon breaks away to reveal something far less becoming.

The power of these four performances is plenty enough for you get swept away in the world of ‘American Hustle’. At times the lack of coherent story makes this film less like a movie and more a testament to a time and place. This is a time and a place filtered through the slightly offbeat eye of Russell and one that I would be glad to go back to. Who knows, next time he may even give the characters in his films a purpose?

In terms of extras, there was not much on the disc I saw, just some deleted scenes. The film should be caught on BluRay if possible as although it is set in the 70s, Russell has forgone the grainy feel of the films of the era and instead adds as a vibrancy and sense of colour that looks great in HD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly unimpressive, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Hustle [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Yes the story is pretty good, and based on truth to whatever degree. And yes an amazing star cast with the calibre of acting you would expect from them. But I have seen films like this before (some of those were TV movies), this type of movie has been done to death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 30 Oct 2014
This review is from: American Hustle (DVD)
I disliked this film and found it boring, slow and completely unoriginal. I had high hopes and was eager to see it and now I am bitterly dissappointed! The acting is fine but the script and general story is dull and uninteresting.
I still cannot figure out what the hype is about and would recommend to others to not bother with this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everything and nothing, 3 Nov 2014
This review is from: American Hustle (DVD)
I find it interesting that this film averages 3 stars as for once I would agree with the consensus. The film has plenty going for it - you can't fault the acting, direction or the soundtrack and the script fleshes the characters out sufficiently for you to have some interest in them. But there's the rub:the characters and plot are interesting to a point, but they don't grab you and the storyline/plot is too basic to hold ones interest for over 2 hours. Ultimately it's all style and little substance - it's an empty almost pointless film and the story covers stuff thats been better done elsewhere - do we need another grifters movie? I think not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WHO'S THE MASTER? THE PAINTER OR THE FORGER?, 16 Jan 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: American Hustle [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Irving (Christian Bale)is a con artist. His wife (Jennifer Lawrence) is flaky so he has a mistress Edith (Amy Adams) who helps him in his cons. When she gets pinched by an eager FBI agent (Bradley Cooper as Richie) they are asked to assist the FBI with four arrests and then they would be let go. Irving reluctantly agrees and Edith helps against her better judgement. The plot leads us to Irving being involved in a bust of organized crime figures (Robert De Niro), something that would lead to his demise and that of everyone he loves. He is in over his head. During the film you know everyone is scheming, but who is going to come out on top?

This is another classic con artist tale. It is a crime/thriller/drama/comedy. The acting was superb which made the script look substandard. Amy Irving is perhaps the sexist we have seen her to date. I never miss a film with Jennifer Lawrence who proclaims "Thank God for me." Her role starts out minor but then grows. The ladies room kiss with Amy Adams is something I predict will be on loop.

Seems like a good old fashion con artist film with some fine acting.

Parental Guide: F-bombs. Brief sex. No nudity. Stripper with pasties, most likely Amy Adams body double as face is not shown with nearly bare torso.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Scorsese would have done it better. Slow, No Quotable scenes or cool dialogue., 18 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. B. R. Good (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: American Hustle [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Scorsese would have done it better. With him, every scene matters. This was full of throwaway scenes.
Stylish, well'ish acted, but dull as hell. None of the quotable scenes that you get with Scorsese or even Tarantino. In the end it was a "who cares" story.

Amy Adams was very good, Jennifer Lawrence looked 50 and DeNiro wasted his time getting involved (and was not even credited)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars American Hustle, 20 Oct 2014
By 
Tried and Tested (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I’d been looking forward to watching this for some months following the numerous nominations and awards that it received earlier this year. Wow, I really wasn’t missing out on anything! I know this is based on a true story and I’m not entirely sure whether it’s supposed to be a drama or a comedy, I didn’t find it to be either. I managed to stick it out for 30 minutes before deciding I had better things to do with my night than force myself through a film that I really wasn’t enjoying, I was quite willing to grab a book and leave my hubby watching it, on the assumption that he was enjoying it, but he declared it a relief that I’d had enough as he couldn’t stand it either.

I have seen a couple of reviews which have said it takes a while to get going and it could be that the second half of the film is better than the start and that I’ve missed a treat by giving up to early but I’d never have made it to the second half of the film, if I’d kept it on I’d have been asleep in no time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I lean't it to several friends who all loved it too, 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Hustle [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Fabulous!! But then films are a very personally thing. I lean't it to several friends who all loved it too. It's long and slow in pace so be prepared for that. Best film of the year in my book (bar the Grande Hotel Budapest!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

American Hustle [DVD] [2013]
American Hustle [DVD] [2013] by David O. Russell (DVD - 2014)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews