Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


88 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 150 years ago; slavery-
What surprised me most about this film is that it is almost a quiet story; nearly intimate.
When Solomon sees his wife after 12 years, he doesn't spout hatred at his misfortune, he apologizes. The film doesn't shout protestations or insults at white en-slavers, it is an endearing and harrowing tale of a dignified man.
This doesn't mean there aren't moments that...
Published 13 months ago by Samarees Sword

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Subtitle Disappoitment
Subtitle Disappointment

On the cover of the film it says "English Subtitle" but when I get the DVD unfortunatelly there was no subtitle available at all. As a person who needs hearing aid this was a complete diassappointment.
Published 9 months ago by Ismail Eren


‹ Previous | 1 2118 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 150 years ago; slavery-, 25 May 2014
This review is from: 12 Years a Slave [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
What surprised me most about this film is that it is almost a quiet story; nearly intimate.
When Solomon sees his wife after 12 years, he doesn't spout hatred at his misfortune, he apologizes. The film doesn't shout protestations or insults at white en-slavers, it is an endearing and harrowing tale of a dignified man.
This doesn't mean there aren't moments that make one flinch and feel the immense emotion for millions of people who were victims of a vile and horrific business, but it is whispered through the glimpses of the sun-drenched porches- it is sung with the voices of the surrendered and the strings of Solomons' violin.

The film is mostly told from Solomon Northups' perspective, though Steve McQueen often uses his camera eye as omniscient narrator as well.
The cinematography is poetic, sublime and at times magnificently beautiful, even through the terror. There is a scene when our protagonist is nearly hung by neighboring slavers, in a few takes which seemed like an eternity; we marvel and are disgusted by its base, lack of humanity, all the while fellow slaves go about their daily lives in a beautiful summer setting in the Deep South,the crickets humming to the heat,ignoring the injured- nearly hung body of Solomon. This scene struck a raw chord, as it truly encapsulated a perfect depiction of what slavery was; the life of a slave was worthless to most.

McQueen used music motifs effectively, employing sour tones during its darkest moments, which added to the well-crafted artistry of this film.
The characterizations of all the players were superb; Ejiofor, believable and heartfelt in every scene.
My only complaint would be the passing of 12 years.The audience couldn't grasp the passing of all that time; to me,it is vitally important to make the toll and weight of all those years as part of the narrative, as it shaped Solomons' experience.
However this is an historical tale,wonderfully told and not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last a film deserving of the Oscar for Best Film, 6 Jun. 2015
By 
B. D. Compton "Gettysburg" (Johannesburg,South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 12 Years a Slave [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
It was with great trepidation that i watched this film the other evening due to the fact that i am a an avid reader of the 'American Civil War' and have always been a Southern sympathizer, while fully understanding the impact of the abhorrent system of slavery.

Well, this film by Steve McQueen is quite outstanding and at last Hollywood have chosen a film that is worthy of being the winner of the Oscar together with the other Oscars it won. The film based on a true story has been well documented by other Amazon reviewers so will not elaborate but concentrate on the other aspects of this superb piece of film making.

Firstly, the cinematography was superb and the the music by Hans Zimmer was completely appropriate for the story and for once there were scenes in the film where there was no music at all, which added to the telling of this horrific story. Secondly the acting was of the highest caliber
hence the Oscar for Ejiofor, while the directing and production was flawless. I will agree with one reviewer who stated that one does not get the feeling of 12 years in the film, but this is a minor quibble. Thirdly, this tragic story could have been portrayed in an undignified manner and harped on about the depredations of some of the Southern whites. However, it avoids this trap which only serves to to make one feel more revulsion at the slave owners, slavery itself and bring more poignancy to what is a harrowing story. It is quite brilliantly executed and i am so glad that i watched it as it is a film not to be missed.

Has the film altered my feelings regarding the South in the American Civil War. I must be honest and say it has not. Yes, slavery was an abomination but having said this, it would have crumbled without a civil war due to sheer economics and pressure from a more humane world and scientific invention. The civil war's outcome was to perpetuate white domination when there were many enlightened slave owners, who were stating to grant freedom and making sure educating them was a priority for them. It is only recently that there is a more harmonious society in the South and this in many ways has been created by the Southerners themselves. Many people who fought for the South did not own slaves and were anti slavery but still fought for the cause due to perceived Northern aggression, rightly or wrongly.

DO NOT MISS THIS FILM THOUGH, WHILE HARROWING IT IS BRILLIANTLY EXECUTED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come and see, 14 Jan. 2014
This review is from: 12 Years a Slave [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I want to put into words how this film affected me, but, appropriately enough, there aren't the words there. Steve McQueen's adaptation of Solomon Northup's memoir is a film in which words are precious and very carefully chosen - whether shouted or sung or uttered in whispers out of earshot of the savage ruling class.

Northup (Chiwetel Ejiofor) is a free man tricked into slavery. The story charts his ordeal - and those of countless others - under the tortuous watchfulness of a series of plantation owners, cruellest of whom is Edwin Epps (McQueen regular Michael Fassbender). It is a film whose relentless scenes of abuse are punctuated by levity of only the most desperate and solemn kind, and which is determinedly unbothered by the comforts of sentimentality.

Ejiofor captures the agony at the heart of Northup, from the initial indignity of his situation, through physical torture endured, observed and committed, to the brutal annihilation of his character through supremacist re-education. In place of the stock conclusions drawn by Hollywood, John Ridley's script has other ideas: rather than rousing speeches there are bursts of quickly-suppressed anger; instead of soaring emotion, upon release Northup remains bound in the shackles of guilt left upon him by the guilty.

As with his previous films (Hunger and Shame), McQueen embeds meaning in the frame. These aren't pretty images for the sake of it. The burning of a letter represents the dwindling of hope - and yet how long it seems to take to dwindle, and we linger until every sliver of fire is spent, staring ever harder for the remaining light in the darkness. Northup is staring also, unblinking, into the abyss of humanity around him, holding out for some such glimmer.

In terms of characterisation (do we call them characters if these monsters truly existed?), Ridley and McQueen's greatest decision is to give as much depth to the masters as their slaves. Epps is a vile creature, but we are dared to empathise with him as he impotently hands the whip to Northup, under the emasculating gaze of his jealous wife (Sarah Paulson). The object of Epps' violently ambivalent affections is Patsey (Lupita Nyong'o) an angel in a world where the beautiful and the talented are particularly prized for self-sanctified hatred.

So it seems I have found the words to describe a little of my experience of watching this remarkable film. It's a reminder that cinema is not solely a reserve of entertainment, and that the atrocities of humankind sometimes need to be shown to us - nakedly, harrowingly, unforgettably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to see why this film won best picture, 12 April 2015
By 
Teresa Walker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Years a Slave [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Easy to see why this film won best picture. Both compelling and brutal to watch. Don't expect fast action, loud incidental music (thank goodness) and heroics in this one, but do expect first class acting, harrowing truths, atmosphere and lots of emotion, and have a box of tissues handy. I find it sad that some have given a poor review because they cannot face up to the shameful historic facts that slave owners could ever have stooped to such depravity and violence directed against another human being. Highly recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Powerful Stuff, 5 April 2015
By 
Richard Allen (Wellington, Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Years a Slave [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I'm old enough to remember the fuss over Roots when it was first broadcast. I sense this film was a similarly important experience for a later generation of Americans. Perhaps slightly ill-advisedly, we chose this for a Saturday evening's relaxed entertainment. It's very powerful stuff, and pretty unrelenting. The acting and filmmaking is exceptional and the brutality and lack of humanity is compellingly portrayed. As a film it's pretty much faultless, and necessary viewing, but don't expect an easy time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary., 12 Jan. 2014
No movie that I have ever watched has depicted slavery so unflinchingly and earnestly. The fact that this film was based on a true story also adds something to its gravitas. I felt exhausted by the end of my viewing and there has been talk of people walking out of cinemas due to the raw intensity and the unflinching way in which the subject matter is tackled. But I say endure and you will be rewarded with the extraordinary true story of an American hero and a story that is long overdue in American cinema. There was debate about whether or not this was an important movie in the that country's cinema canon but for my money, considering that there seems to have been something preventing Hollywood and equally the country it belongs to addressing honestly the darkest chapter of their history, make no mistake, this is as important as movies get.

Brave, bold, committed filmmaking of the highest order.

Steve McQueen...I salute you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'I don't want to survive. I want to live!', 29 May 2015
By 
M. Gates "Buddy Gorgeous" (Area 51) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 12 Years a Slave [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
If you watch this film and feel nothing what so ever then you must have the emotional range of a pebble.

134 minutes of horrific, despicable and shameful events filmed beautifully by Steve McQueen and the acting by all was truly fantastic throughout.

The story, without divulging any spoilers, is about a free black man from New York who is conned, drugged and sold into 12 years of slavery.

I recently read some background information on the actors experience during filming and many of them were deeply affected. I won't say what or why exactly as it would spoil the film. After watching it, it lead me to purchase the book about Solomon Northup.

I love a film that makes me feel and think about it long after viewing it and once 12 years a slave had finished it left me feeling angry at the injustice and cruelty but also admiration of people's inner strength. I have an icy, onyx cricket ball for a heart but the scene at the end choked me up.

Amazing film and one that I highly recommend you watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Subtitle Disappoitment, 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Subtitle Disappointment

On the cover of the film it says "English Subtitle" but when I get the DVD unfortunatelly there was no subtitle available at all. As a person who needs hearing aid this was a complete diassappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Superficial and gratuitously violent, 18 Jan. 2015
By 
Hugo Minney "hugie" (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I can see why some people love this film and some people hate it. I'm in two minds myself - I can see how the book might explain things better, and the book was published in 1853!
On one hand, it portrays slavery in USA Southern States quite dramatically. The destruction of families that the kidnaps cause (but why was Solomon Northup kidnapped? Was it simply because he looked like someone, even though his kidnappers clearly knew he wasn't the right person?). The gratuitous violence meted out to slaves and prospective slaves. The contrast between slave owners who felt it was their duty "for the good of America" to be as violent and repressive as possible, and people who understood that this could not be right.
On the other, it appeared to perpetuate a stereotype that (word not allowed on Amazon reviews) had no ambition and no aspiration and deserved to be slaves. I can just imagine the keyboards clicking as you read this, shouting back - think before you protest.
Solomon, and other Free Northerners kidnapped like him, railed against the system but found themselves powerless. We see him learn to not rock the boat too much, to put up with things, in effect, to give up his humanity. Yet we see people born into slavery mutely accepting what is meted out, rarely extending beyond their roles as 2 Dimensional extras.
There's far more emphasis on the effect of the slave system on the white people,
* people who realise they have been corrupted and try, half-heartedly, to make amends;
* people who genuinely stand up against the system, either as land owners treating the slaves with respect like servants;
* people who simply succumb and become miserable monsters, completely swallowed up with an image of themselves as broken gods.
So what about the slave who asked Solomon to kill her, to free her from this miserable existence? She appears briefly, beaten up one time, defiant the next (and whipped for it), silently but hopelessly pleading when Solomon is rescued. But her story is almost more worthy of full treatment than that of Solomon himself.
There's plenty of gratuitous violence. There are plenty of nasty people - with no redeeming features or personality traits. This is not a film with subtlety in it, no multi-dimensions. I say it's for sadists and masochists - sadists who want to see people crying out in pain, and masochists who want to watch it so they can feel good about how bad they feel about slavery. I wouldn't recommend it to any of my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the land of the free, 12 Jan. 2014
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 12 Years a Slave [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Solomon Northup, the son of a former slave, was a free man living in upstate New York when he was tricked, kidnapped and sold into slavery in 1841. He spent twelve years working for a series of masters in the sugar and cotton plantations of the swampy Louisiana bayou country until regaining his freedom against the odds. This film is based on the account of his experiences, written in conjunction with a white lawyer called David Wilson, and authenticated, including in part by the drunken and sadistic Mr Epps, his final master.

With his artist's eye , McQueen brings out the beauty of the natural landscape, red sunrise over the river, hanging branches draped in Spanish moss, or the rhythmic power of the paddle-steamer, carving furrows through the sparkling water as it transports the captives to their harsh destiny. This film renounces any sentimentality, ramming home the fact that slaves were regarded as property so could be treated without any consideration or mercy. The only reason for keeping them alive was because an owner had paid good money for them, and they could earn more for him through their labour. We see how Mr Epps could terrorise a female slave with whom he had become sexually obsessed, whilst his wife tormented the poor woman at the same time out of jealousy.

Everyone will learn something different from this drama. In my case, it was the extent to which slaves were punished for being literate, since this was seen as giving access to knowledge and revolt. Ironically, slaves were then despised for the ignorance in which they were held. Also, when their stories were written with the help of a white people, it was claimed that hardships had been exaggerated by abolitionists to strengthen their case.

The violent beatings are hard to witness. It's debatable whether these scenes are too long, the rationale being that this brings home the intolerable brutality endured. One striking moment is when the hero has to burn, out of fear of discovery, a letter which he has taken great pains to produce, in perhaps his last chance to get help. Another is when, having resolutely refused to sing the haunting spirituals, the only emotional outlet for slaves, Northup at last gives in, belting the song out lustily in his anger.

Chitwetel Ejiofor deserves all the praise that has been heaped on him, with his expressive face conveying in turn disbelief, fear, anger, despair, hope and even loss at the point of his release when he has to leave behind to suffer alone someone for whom he has come to care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2118 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

12 Years a Slave [DVD] [2013]
12 Years a Slave [DVD] [2013] by Steve McQueen (DVD - 2014)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews