Customer Reviews


259 Reviews
5 star:
 (163)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic from the Boss
Much has been made of the fact that the Boss' newest album is more a patchwork quilt compared to his classics because the songs and/or recordings are from a variety of sessions, or are covers, or are re-workings of previously released songs. Whilst it's been common for fans to have encyclopaedic knowledge of their favourite artists' works, right down to session dates and...
Published 9 months ago by Mohammad A. Rahman

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars High Hopes, Mixed Results
Comparing modern day Springsteen albums with pre "Tunnel of Love" Springsteen albums is an unfair and unjust task.

The best songs since the E Street Band Reunion in 1999 (such as The Rising, Long Walk Home, Land of Hope and Dreams), as good as they are, are never going to compare to the Born to Run's and Thunder Road's of the world.
However, Bruce is still...
Published 9 months ago by Brog


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Hopes (Audio CD)
Its Bruce!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug 2014
This review is from: High Hopes (Audio CD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best value album since I don't know when!, 25 Jan 2014
I won't write an essay here, I'll just say that I like almost everything Bruce puts out and this is no exception.

Down in The Hole seems to be my new favourite song, as it gets replayed the most. It was left off The Rising Album. His voice sounds younger and it's good to hear Patti's backing vocals; and his kids add a nice touch to the mix too.

The DVD really is a bonus! Best value album since I don't know when!

Only complaint is once again the album's packaging. The discs will need to be kept safely in a proper jewel case so you don't damage the sleeve. Perhaps this keeps the cost down, I don't know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn near Perfect!, 19 Jan 2014
By 
John W. Edelman - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just don't get it: Almost 30 years since I first woke up to Bruce he's still releasing albums with songs that give me more than anyone else. This, IMHO, is one of his best; the only track I would leave off, if I had to, is Frankie Fell In Love and even that's pretty good (sounds like an outtake from the Born In The USA sessions).
To be honest I was a bit worried when I first read about High Hopes as it sounded like it might be a rag bag of old songs that had been re-vamped with the, almost, ever present Tom Morello contributing. WRONG! This whole album is cohesive with some massively awseome standouts. The Ghost Of Tom Joad is given a fantastic rock treatment, with blistering guitar solos. Harry's Place has a fabulous pumping groove and The Wall is Bruce at his most affecting. American Skin (already a classic, but only heard previously as a live track) is just about as good as Bruce gets.
Wonderful!
Really, really wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars high hopes, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent album and the live dvd from London is essential viewing though i expect a fuller version will be released anon.Nice mixture of music with splendid soulful sound on dream baby dream. This release reflects the sound of Springsteen on his last tour and all the better for it. This is no thrown together rehash of demos and outakes its a great set of songs on its own. High hopes is a delightful passionate opener and a statement of intent about whats coming.
Tom Morello aka The Nightwatchen features on seven tracks and adds fire to the well arranged album produced by Brenden OBrien of Neil Young and Pearl Jam fame. Especially enjoyed the re working of the ghost of Tom Joad ,though heavens wall and American Skin are memorable. Truth be told its a fine collection of songs played by musicians at the top of their game and the collection has a joyful rock and soul feel to it. Hunter of Invisable game is another splendid track. Overall then a worthy addition to the treasure trove that is Springsteens recorded legacy and a souvenir of a great tour which i saw in Glasgow, no regrets about this purchase but would love to see Springsteen with Tom Morello in the band.Reckon this must have been a treat for the musicians to play and that comes across in the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for two tracks, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Andrew Halket "buchanan17" (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Hopes (Audio CD)
Predictable - two absolutely outstanding tracks and no prizes for guessing which; American Skin and Tom Joad. 7+ minute epcis. Tom Morello's guitar solos seem to be a love or hate thing - I think they are brilliant, even the weird histrionics on Tom Joad.

The rest of the tracks are a mixed bunch, and none are as memorable as those two; I know - £9.99 for two tracks? Yes, definitely.

Wish I had bought the limited edition with BITUSA played at Olympic Park, though in my opinion Darkness at Wembley was superior - a better album, and better sound (at the venue)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hail bruce!!, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Hopes (Audio CD)
Downloaded this today. Have listened to this on a pre release stream before buying. The river it aint but it is good. Worth buying just for song titled the wall it is really beautiful - in my opinion anyway!! I am a big fan so I have to have every album he does but I think as always you are safe with Bruce - he never disappoints!!!! A mixed and interesting bag here - enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

High Hopes
High Hopes by Bruce Springsteen
Buy MP3 Album£4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews