Customer Reviews


279 Reviews
5 star:
 (174)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic from the Boss
Much has been made of the fact that the Boss' newest album is more a patchwork quilt compared to his classics because the songs and/or recordings are from a variety of sessions, or are covers, or are re-workings of previously released songs. Whilst it's been common for fans to have encyclopaedic knowledge of their favourite artists' works, right down to session dates and...
Published 10 months ago by Mohammad A. Rahman

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars High Hopes, Mixed Results
Comparing modern day Springsteen albums with pre "Tunnel of Love" Springsteen albums is an unfair and unjust task.

The best songs since the E Street Band Reunion in 1999 (such as The Rising, Long Walk Home, Land of Hope and Dreams), as good as they are, are never going to compare to the Born to Run's and Thunder Road's of the world.
However, Bruce is still...
Published 11 months ago by Brog


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic from the Boss, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Mohammad A. Rahman (Wolverhampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Much has been made of the fact that the Boss' newest album is more a patchwork quilt compared to his classics because the songs and/or recordings are from a variety of sessions, or are covers, or are re-workings of previously released songs. Whilst it's been common for fans to have encyclopaedic knowledge of their favourite artists' works, right down to session dates and origins of songs, I fear that such devoted attention to detail has somewhat prejudiced their initial attitude towards "High Hopes" as an album, perhaps believing it to be padded with filler. Whatever the Boss' motives, frankly I don't give a damn if he did pad out this album with filler because overall I think it's a sensational piece of work, beautifully sequenced and remarkably punchy. I just picked it up on impulse today and played it from start to finish on my pokey little Phillips stereo and I was hooked all the way through to the marvellously funereal cover of "Dream Baby Dream".

Of the covers and re-workings, "High Hopes" as it appears here packs more of a wallop than Springsteen's first bash at it, which ended up hidden away as a B-side or an extra track on a CD single. That particular version now strikes me as casually urgent. I didn't actually realise it was a cover and until recently assumed it was a Springsteen original. Lyrically, it suits the Boss' style perfectly and this new arrangement is brassier and more defiant. The electrified "Ghost Of Tom Joad" with Tom Morello has been a live favourite for some time and it's great to have this dynamic studio recording as part of this set. It's quite evident from this and several other songs on "High Hopes" that the seething anger of the "Wrecking Ball" album hasn't abated.

It's a testament to Springsteen's genius in arranging and his sureness in knowing exactly what sounds he wants to hear that results in Tom Morello's scorching guitar being so cohesively and brilliantly slotted into 7 of the songs. They've formed a wonderful bond over the years and this latest musical partnership has textured Springsteen's music so effectively I can't imagine another album or tour without his participation.

"Harry's Place" has a groove similar to Glenn Frey's "Smuggler's Blues". I like it a lot.

"American Skin" is as potent as ever, Springsteen's vocal sounding a little like it's coming from a radio news report.

"Just Like Fire Would" is another cover which Springsteen has effortlessly made his own. Again, this could have quite easily come from his back catalogue. A great song and a classic Springsteen performance.

I'm still absorbing the other tunes but I know that as soon as the CD finished playing I wanted to go back to the beginning and listen again. That can't be a bad thing. I was genuinely surprised at how good this album sounded as the other reviews had prepared me for disappointment. I'd rate this particular album higher than "Working On A Dream", another "hot off the tour" studio album. Although many of the songs on "Working On A Dream" are excellent and even though the album does successfully capture the rush of enthusiasm from the road, some of the songs felt rushed and under developed. On "High Hopes" the Boss has made a more judicious selection of songs and the arrangements are more considered. This is a confident sounding Springsteen and boldly experimental on his terms.

I hope people will give this album a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High Praise!, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Hopes (Audio CD)
There are a number of negative reviews on here which I find confusing. Springsteen is at the point of his career where he's not really picking up 'new' fans per se, so the majority of comments here are from his legion of dedicated fans. Why lambast him for releasing new material, irrespective of whether it's a concise new album or individual tracks written and recorded over the past 10 years or so which didn't make an album released during those years? If you like, this is a mini Tracks, a compilation of songs that don't have an over-arching narrative which the majority of his albums normally do (hence why these songs didn't fit onto past albums).

Instead, we should savour the fact that The Boss still prefers the old school method of releasing songs on a format most of his fans still adhere to. If this was a newer artist, these would be download only, or part of an extended package as an additional disc on a Wrecking Ball Special Edition which is a rip-off for those who already purchased the album.

As it is, this album is pretty good. Bruce is in good voice and the arrangements and performances from The E Street Band with the overly hyped addition of Tom Morello make this the best sounding full band album since The Rising.

Highlights include;
Harry's Place which is a seriously groovy funk track with added profanities and worth the price of the album alone! The Wall which reminded me of The Wrestler from Working On A Dream and Dream Baby Dream which is an amazing and uplifting end to the album.
Also of note are American Skin (41 Shots) which is very well known as a live track from his reunion tour with the E Street Band back in 1999 and a harder rocking version of The Ghost Of Tom Joad with added guitar histrionics from Morello.

Overall, a fine album which avoids the more political anthems from Wrecking Ball but delivers a varied range of styles utilised by Springsteen since the mid 90's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars High Hopes, Mixed Results, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Hopes (Audio CD)
Comparing modern day Springsteen albums with pre "Tunnel of Love" Springsteen albums is an unfair and unjust task.

The best songs since the E Street Band Reunion in 1999 (such as The Rising, Long Walk Home, Land of Hope and Dreams), as good as they are, are never going to compare to the Born to Run's and Thunder Road's of the world.
However, Bruce is still very capable of putting together a strong showing. 2002's "The Rising" proved that and 2007's fantastic "Magic" remains his strongest showing since the aforementioned "Tunnel". So with that said Springsteen fans would have had `high hopes' for this latest grab bag offering consisting of cover songs, reimagined older songs and songs that were originally cast aside from other albums. The results are somewhat mixed leaving the album floundering, being better than 2009's "Working on a Dream" but not quite as strong as 2012's critically acclaimed but in reality middle of the road "Wrecking Ball".

The three cover songs "High Hopes", "Just like Fire Would" and "Dream Baby Dream" are fine but hardly likely to leave any lasting impact on Springsteen gigs in the future. Springsteen original "The Wall" also has enough of Sting's "Fields of Gold" in it to add it to this category.

"Frankie Fell in Love" sounds like it belongs on Tracks CD2 with other River outtakes and is decent enough as a filler track while the dirty sounding "Harry's Place", despite the unnecessary F Bombs, is well worth a listen.

"American Skin (41 Shots)" and the electric Tom Morello inspired version of "The Ghost of Tom Joad" both already well familiar with live audiences also find a place on this album. The former - a controversial song when first debuted in 1999 - is long overdue a place on a studio album and sounds great. The latter is also well worth a listen (with a shared vocal with the younger artist as well as some terrific guitar work) but it has to be said that the definitive version of this great song has already appeared on the album of the same name in 1995.
This leaves the three album highlights. "Down in the Hole" has very much an "I'm on Fire" vibe to it and while not quite reaching the heights of that classic it still sounds superb. "Heaven's Wall" is another terrific effort, soaring high with an instantly catchy tune, while it's hard to imagine why the brilliant "Hunter of Invisible Game" was ever left of any album.

Perhaps the biggest strength of "High Hopes" is that Bruce has taken these older songs, cover songs and reimagined songs and threaded them together to make them sound like one album and while that album is not without fault, there is enough good on it to make it a worthy addition to any Springsteen fans collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bonus DVD, 13 May 2014
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really bought this version of High Hopes for the bonus DVD so I consider the CD as a bit of an extra! The music on the CD is not bad - nowhere near classic Bruce however - and I'll probably play it a few times before it gets filed away. However the DVD shows Bruce and the E Street Band can still put on a live show like very few other bands can manage!

I saw Bruce and the band on the original Born in the U.S.A. tour at Wembley in July 1985 and it may just be the best live gig I've ever seen; watching the DVD of the concert from the Olympic Park brought back many happy memories of that summers night. If you have been less than impressed by Bruce's recent work this DVD will show you why he is still the Boss live.

The DVD features all the tracks from the Born in the U.S.A. album in track running order and played by as many of the classic E Street Band as are still with us. The line up includes:

The E Street Band:

* Bruce Springsteen - lead vocals, lead guitar, rhythm guitar, acoustic guitar, harmonica
* Roy Bittan - piano, synthesizer
* Charles Giordano - organ, background vocals (replaces the late Danny Federici)
* Nils Lofgren - rhythm guitar, lead guitar, acoustic guitar, background vocals
* Garry Tallent - bass guitar, background vocals
* Soozie Tyrell - violin, acoustic guitar, percussion, background vocals
* Steven Van Zandt - rhythm guitar, lead guitar, mandolin, acoustic guitar, background vocals,
* Max Weinberg - drums

The E Street Horns:

* Jake Clemons - saxophone, percussion, background vocals (nephew of the late Clarence)
* Barry Danielian - trumpet, percussion
* Clark Gayton - trombone, tuba, percussion
* Eddie Manion - saxophone, percussion
* Curt Ramm - trumpet, percussion

The E Street Choir:

* Curtis King - background vocals, tambourine
* Cindy Mizelle - background vocals, tambourine
* Michelle Moore - background vocals, rapping on Rocky Ground
* Everett Bradley - percussion, background vocals

Special guests:

* Adele Springsteen (Bruce's mum comes on stage for "Dancing in the Dark")
* Pamela Springsteen (Bruce's sister sings on "Dancing in the Dark")

If you were at the 2013 concert you've probably bought this already - if you weren't there but like classic Bruce and the E Street Band then buy this limited edition version of High Hopes while it is still available. Five stars for the DVD alone - I'm just sorry I wasn't there myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 98 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, if not great, Springsteen album, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: High Hopes (Audio CD)
I suspect that most people looking at this page will be long-term Springsteen fans like me who will already have ordered this no matter what any reviews say, but for what it's worth I think this is a pretty good album: not a Springsteen classic but well worth having. I thought it might just be some previously rejected, sub-standard old stuff cobbled together but it's a lot better than that. I was very lucky to receive an advance copy of this album and I've listened to it a lot over the last couple of weeks. I'm glad I did because I was unimpressed on first hearing, but it's improved a lot with repeated playing.

It's hard for Bruce to follow the excellent Wrecking Ball because that was such a passionate, heartfelt album. Tracks like Death To My Hometown came from deep in his heart and it showed. Here, there's not so much of that and I think there are a couple of pretty weak tracks, but there are some fine songs and a few real belters - a fine out-and-out Springsteen rocker in Frankie Fell In Love and a terrific, driving, full-rock-band version of The Ghost Of Tom Joad, for example. American Skin has grown on me a lot and I think it may be among my list of Bruce classics in the end. He sounds rather like JJ Cale in Harry's Place and very like Dylan in Hunter Of Invisible Game, both of which are very good songs... I'd describe it as a varied and interesting set with some great highlights.

Springsteen's lyrics have always been a real strength. His fine, heartfelt stories in natural-sounding language have made songs like The River, Racing In The Street and dozens of others genuine classics, and he also regularly comes up with simple but brilliant couplets like,
"Somewhere along the line I stepped off track -
One step up and two steps back..."
This is not so much in evidence here. For example, there are no rhymes in either High Hopes or Just Like Fire Would (the weakest track on the album for me). This is hard to pull off in a rock song and doesn't really work here. There are some fine lyrical moments on the album - notably in The Wall and American Skin - but there's not that much in the way of real classic stuff.

I'm also slightly dubious about some of the production, which strays more toward pop than rock values at times. There's nothing wrong with that, but I don't think it sits all that well with Springsteen's style in a lot of songs. For example, in Down The Hole the vocals begin in a compressed down-a-phone-line effect and then suddenly (and quite randomly) become normal - it just seems like a pointless and gimmicky trick to me which diminishes a good song.

I don't want to carp too much - the good far outweighs the poor here and I doubt that any of Bruce's fans will be disappointed. He sings with real heart most of the way through and there's no doubt that the man has still got it. This isn't up there with his genuine classic albums and it's not as good as Wrecking Ball, but it certainly doesn't disgrace a truly great songwriter and performer and I'll still be playing a lot of it for years to come, I think. My advice is to buy it and play it a lot - I think you'll like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile for Existing Fans, 30 Aug 2014
By 
S. Wimble "Music Fanatic" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: High Hopes (Audio CD)
It is difficult to recommend this album as wholly essential - it has moments of greatness, and with American Skin the album contains one of my single favourite Springsteen tracks. However, the at-times forgettable quality of several of the tracks included prevent the album from being truly great.

The quality is varied enough that the weaker songs are bolstered by the stronger ones around them, and at no point should you really find yourself reaching for the off switch, though the skip button could be a different matter.

For every weaker track on the album, you will find a great moment which, if you are already a fan of Bruce, makes the album worth investing in. Perhaps best avoided if you are looking to hear Bruce for the first time - try 2012's Wrecking Ball instead.

Top Tracks - American Skin, The Hunter of Invisible Game, Ghost of Tom Joad, The Wall

Please do read my full review at http://puremediareviews.blogspot.com - All comments and views are welcome!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it's his best album since The Rising, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Hopes (Audio CD)
For a long time after I bought this, I'd want to get in my car and listen to it when I was doing other things. Sometimes I'd finding myself wanting to listen to it even when I was already listening to it. Whilst this is nominally a ragbag of re-recordings of old material, to my mind, it's his best album since The Rising. There are one or two misfires on this-a cover of The Saints' Just Like Fire Wood doesn't really work-but, in the main, it's a set of wonderful songs. The re-imagining of the Ghost of Tom Joad, in particular, is one of the most viscerally thrilling things I've ever heard, The Hunter Of Invisible Game is beautifully strange and, in Vietnam Memorial The Wall, Springsteen manages to do in four minutes something Oliver Stone didn't quite manage to pull off over the course of three films. This might be a collection of off-cuts, but it's better than a lot of his rival's proper albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
By no means his best album. It is pleasant enough but Bruce can do so much better. By contrast the DVD was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average album with 2 or 3 standout tracks., 19 Mar 2014
By 
P. Adams "pauladams5" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Hopes (Audio CD)
A reasonable album ... But not really new material ... The excellent quality control of late 70's and 80's releases appears to have been abandoned. Much better than the all time low of working on a dream and probably in best parts better than wrecking ball album. But bruce please realise that less really can be more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the best, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Gmt Barnes (Bracknell, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You see, the thing is, if music is worth anything you have to give it time. And if you play this album over a few times you start to realise its true value and that there is nothing really to match it nowadays. This is Bruce at his best. He is probably a genius in his field. He is still at the top of his game and there is no one who comes close. At last they seem to have given his music the production values it demands. And the introduction of Tom Morello is a stroke of er... genius. I saw Bruce twice last year at Wembley and in Cardiff and although the sound was a little ropey at times I think we have to have treasure the guy while he is around because once he's gone there will be no one to take his place in the same way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

High Hopes
High Hopes by Bruce Springsteen
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews