Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last , after 20 years - the complete concert!
This concert was recorded in Memphis on 20 march 1974. Elvis was on good form and put on a good show. The concert was originally released by RCA the same year, edited to fit on one LP.
It is great to see this concert finally released complete and unedited. The sound has been re-mastered and the quality is very good. The packaging is unusual both in size ( approx 18cm...
Published on 2 May 2004 by R. E. Beaumont

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Each to their own
As an admirer of Elvis I was disappointed with this album.

Sitting down listening to this concert, Elvis, I sensed was more interested in fooling around than performing is songs.
I assume if you were one of the privileged to be in the audience at that time it was absolutely magical, but for me now I just want to sit down and listen to a great man singing...
Published 3 months ago by Roy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last , after 20 years - the complete concert!, 2 May 2004
By 
R. E. Beaumont (DONCASTER, SOUTH YORKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This concert was recorded in Memphis on 20 march 1974. Elvis was on good form and put on a good show. The concert was originally released by RCA the same year, edited to fit on one LP.
It is great to see this concert finally released complete and unedited. The sound has been re-mastered and the quality is very good. The packaging is unusual both in size ( approx 18cm sq ) and format, having a gatefold sleeve the front of which is designed to replicate the original LP sleeve. When opened the centre of the cover is designed to look like the original LP, the CD is mounted in the middle and has a design that replicates the centre of the original LP. The back flap incorporates a colour booklet which has some nice concert photos and information.
This is a must for any fan and superior in quality to any of the other FTD concert releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A strong voiced Elvis concert from 1974, 17 July 2001
This concert is Elvis singing in his own home town; never an easy task for an artist and the fact is acknowledged by him towards the end of the show. Perhaps because it is 'back down south' there is an air of 'country' to the songs, with the backings being more in the rhythm and blues style which his home town audience would have been been familiar with. His voice is very good and very strong and his version of 'How Great Thou Art' on this album is probably one of his finest performances of this song. The Medley tracks are more impressive than the listings suggest and with each song being in the same key Elvis keeps moving effortlessly and smoothly along. The audience is very responsive and seems to bring out the best side of the King; his sense of humour and his genuine appreciation of their applause comes across right through the show. Although the show is one of the shorter ones, at about 45 minutes, any edits do not show and the concert seems complete. Also the variety of the songs and Elvis' effortless stage presence makes the experience seem much longer. This is the soundtrack to a very pleasant and enjoyable show and it makes you wish that you had been present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HELLO MEMPHIS !, 2 Mar 2012
The one time RCA should've featured an exciting live on stage shot of Elvis on the cover of an Elvis Presley live album, they put a picture of his Graceland mansion instead! Just the front of his home with no Elvis in sight. That's typical lopsided marketing and decision-making by his management in the 70s. The Graceland picture would've nicely adorned the cover of his later 1976 album 'From Elvis Presley Boulevard' instead.

Anyway, that's my one and only gripe with this superb album. The concert itself is legendary. Elvis had not performed in Memphis since 1961 and this was his first concert in his hometown since then. Expectations were high and it is such a blessing that this concert was recorded, because it tops all concerts. Elvis was keen to be there for his people and they were just ecstatic to see him. Together with the audience, Elvis and his slick TCB band almost blew the roof off the Mid South Coliseum. They really never sounded better.

Elvis' regular bassist Jerry Scheff had been replaced by newcomer Duke Bardwell and a new backing vocals group recently discovered by Elvis himself also join the band on stage, in addition to the existing vocals. He proudly named them 'Voice'.

Elvis rocked like never before, and every song performed was done as only Elvis could - more especially the rock'n'roll and gospel numbers. They were beyond fantastic. Just listen and you'll see what I mean.

In 1974 Elvis was 39 years old, divorced, and wealthy. And though no one knew it, he had just three years to live. He would spend those final years playing live to screaming audiences all over America, as if trying to perform in every city of every state. He would play Memphis again in '75 and '76, but this concert has to rank as one of the best he ever performed. Elvis delivers rock'n'roll, gospel, blues, and country with hits mainly from his catalogue.

The album featured here is restored and enhanced version of that concert first released in '74 with additional songs previously absent and with the distracting audience screams and noise dramatically reduced and cleaned up. Elvis wore his Ace of Spades jumpsuit for this show, better known now as the Memphis 74 suit.

This is an historic performance and deserves to be an essential part of your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOMETOWN SPLENDOUR, 7 May 2004
By 
Wallace Holmes (BEDFORDVIEW, GAUTENG South Africa) - See all my reviews
The original BMG release of this great concert ranked as one of the best Elvis ever did. Now this brilliant FTD release of the entire concert surpasses the original ! Superbly remastered, this great show reveals an artist clearly delighted to be with his hometown fans and he does not disappoint in delivering an outstanding performance.
The "additions" to the show include a blistering "Steamroller Blues", as well as energitic renditions of "Polk Salad Annie" and "Suspicious Minds". Also, a very good "Fever" is added. Standout performances remain the Grammy award-winning "How Great Thou Art", "Help Me", and an excellent "Let Me Be There", together with the always stirring "American Trilogy".
The "older" Presley hits usually act as quick fillers, but pleasingly this concert includes an excellent medley starting with "Long Tall Sally" through to "Hound Dog". Favourite Elvis classic "Lawdy Miss Clawdy" is given a particularly lively performance.
Overall, a fantastic FTD release which even the sceptics must concede reflects the brilliance of Presley loving it live !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mid 70s live show, 24 Mar 2005
By 
Mr. J. Hadwin "John Hadwin" (England, Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Elvis tour of March of '74 took him to his home town, and a record was madeas testimony, and it stands as the only real proof of why people think that '74 was a golden year for Elvis, as it was a golden year for touring only. Elvis was evidently in great voice, so it's a crime that he didn't feel the need to enter a recording a studio and try out some new material. Never mind.
This is, in my view, the best Elvis live album available. On release, large chunks of the show were removed, intelligently mostly material that had been available 18 months previously on Aloha From Hawaii, but on rerelease the concert is released in its entiery, which makes it great value for money.
As usual Elvis finds it hard to let "I've Got A Woman" end, but unlike other Elvis concerts I've heard (and I've heard a few by now) he's a real passion for his older material, "Love Me" has fire, the rock'n'roll medly has Elvis' full comitment, "Lawdy Miss Clawdy" and "My Baby left Me" sounds great while "Trying To Get To You" is just amazing! Even the usualy shabby "All Shook Up" and "Teddy Bear" come across as more 'musical' than usual.
This concert wasn't about Elvis' newer material, but nevertheless "Let Me Be There" and "Streamroller Blues" are fine records.
But the hights appear in the middle of record. "Why Me Lord" is a truly great record, sung here by J.D. Sumner and Elvis, and just listen to the fire and passion in that chorus. Wow. Following this Elvis cuts into "How Great Thou Art". If you listen to Elvis sing this song in '77, it sounds like an impersionist. Here the emotion and passion of the gospel classic totally overwhelsm Elvis and his voice seems to encopase the room. In '77 he just shouts. It's a fine line, but here Elvis is very much on the right side and turns in a sublime performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible FTD release buy it now!, 19 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Finally the complete concert as recorded live on stage in Memphis, I wont go into detail of the songs in the show as previous reviewers have done that but suffice to say Elvis was on top of his game here and in superb voice. I dont think he ever sounded better "Live" than he does here, The power of his voice is incredible.

This is the version to own, get it whilst you can, as with all of the follow that dream original LP re-issues this one comes with beautiful packaging and colour booklet, but it is the complete show not the short version originally issued on LP and CD.

Buy buy buy, its amazing

Paul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis - Live in Memphis - Complete at last!, 3 April 2004
At last 30 years after the original release thanks to FTD we have the show released in its entirety. The show is the last of a 15 city March 1974 tour and was recorded on Wednesday the 20th of March at the Mid-South Coliseum, Memphis, Tennessee at 2130. If you own the original version, which is an edited version of the show, then you will be pleased to learn that the obtrusive audience overdubs during songs have been removed which improves the sound. The show starts as most 70's Elvis shows did with Richard Strauss' Also Sprach Zarathrustra, See See Rider and the I Got A Woman/Amen medley which includes J.D. Sumner showing off his mega bass voice at Elvis' bequest. Love Me is given a standard performance as Elvis is still warming up. Trying To Get To You is excellent and shows that the King is in good voice but All Shook Up is too short and seems rushed. Steamroller Blues however is quite different, this version already released on Elvis Platinum is given a bluesy performance and put into the context of a whole show is better than the Aloha version. Teddy Bear/Don't be Cruel are well sung but again more rushed than in the 50's. Love Me Tender is fine and gives Elvis a chance to smooch with the ladies in the audience. The Rock 'n' Roll medley is next and songs that would normally be given a throwaway performance are moulded together to make an excelent 3 and a half minute medley. This leads into an unusual but marvellous version of Fever which shows Elvis having fun and giving some wonderful Ad-Libs. Polk Salad Annie follows and is given a wonderful bluesy performance. The tempo of the show then drops with the gospel song Why Me Lord with the verses sung by J.D. Sumner and leads into one of the gems of the show How Great Thou Art. Elvis won a best sacred performance grammy for this song in 1967 and this performance won him another for best inspirational performance in 1974. Suspicious Minds is faster than usual but engaging, Blueberry Hill/I Can't Stop Loving You is well performed with Elvis singing just one verse of of Blueberry Hill and giving a powerful version of I Can't Stop Loving You. Help Me a song just recorded by Elvis is well sung and given a serious performance. An American Trilogy is given a performance which makes the patriotism of the artist obvious even to the casual listener. Along next is a standard version of Olivia Newton Johns' Let Me Be There. Lawdy Miss Clawdy and My Baby Left Me are given nostalgic performances by the man who epitimised rock 'n' roll. Funny How Time Slips Away and Can't Help Falling In Love are what See See Rider and I Got A Woman are to the start of the show and the songs are both well enough sung. After the closing riff there is an unusual announcement. Instead of the usual "Elvis has left the building" we hear instead "Elvis has left for Graceland". Altogether this is an excellent show with Elvis in superb voice and in a good playful mood, some of his interaction with the audience is quite funny indeed. The CD comes with a booklet with photos from the show including facts and about the tour and the recording of the show itself. After 30 years we have the complete show released officially at last - well worth the wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best mix yet, 19 April 2014
By 
J. Moore ""Boro"" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Recorded Live on Stage in Memphis (Legacy Edition) (Audio CD)
The main concert is represented here in it's entirety for the first time. Many people in the media seem to think there is no Elvis after Aloha concert in 73. Whilst it's clear after 72 Elvis standards were slipping rapidly due to his well documented personal problems the March 74 tour was a very good one. This show being in Memphis was likely the best of that tour and is a far better concert than Aloha showing that when motivated Elvis could still cut it. He is in fine voice here with some stand out performances including Trying to Get To You, Steamroller Blues, How Great Thou Art (which won Elvis his final Grammy), the new Help Me and My Baby Left Me which gets a rare outing and is treated with respect. That's not always true of Elvis older songs like All Shook Up as an example. The other noticeable thing about this gig is how much Elvis himself is enjoying it. He is clearly in good spirits and his crowd interaction is fun to listen to whilst never interfering with the actual performances.

The quality of a mix is subjective but this does offer the best yet in terms of hearing more of the instrumentation more clearly e.g. James Burton is more up front now which is always a good thing. I'd have liked a bit of reverb on Elvis vocals to give them a lift as they are very dry here, But the FTD version of this disk is in my collection anyway and that has plenty of reverb and probably captures the ambiance of the recording better. Whilst this mix is more studio like in its delivery. Disk two is interesting as it is basically a live rehersal for the Memphis show taken two nights earlier. Sony have not found the master tapes so this is a mono downmix that was found after nearly 40 years - I wonder what else might turn up? This gig is drenched in reverb and so is closer to a live ambiance but the quality is a step down from disk 1. Elvis though puts on another solid proffessional performance. But apart from Steamroller which is arguably better I doubt many folk will play this over disk one. All in all this is a lovely package and represents a good concert in the best studio quality currently available. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You cant change history but you can see it in a different light., 20 Mar 2014
By 
Charroman (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elvis Recorded Live on Stage in Memphis (Legacy Edition) (Audio CD)
Other reviewers have mentioned this but if you were around as I was when this was first released it was another in a long line of live albums from our man. The Aloha soundtrack was a massive smash album worldwide in 1973 but apart from a few standout tracks was slightly marred probably by the nerves of appearing via satellite to billions of people. At times in 73 Elvis also had a thin sound to his vocal that seemed to resolve itself by the classic December Stax sessions recently compiled on the equally merit worthy Elvis at Stax. By early summer 74 Elvis really was in fine voice and his weight was down and he was looking and feeling good. This is abudantly evident on Recorded Live On Stage in Memphis but on its original release it was lost in a sea of his other live albums. This is a shame as I believe in terms of perfomance and range I believe it is a better record than Aloha or Madison Garden albums that tend to get more attention. Had Memphis been a truly standalone issue without the two aforementioned releases it would have undoubtedly done bigger business at the time and could have secured Elvis a high chart placing. It is also surprising that a single was'nt released from it at the time with a good few contenders and some "new" tracks that had only recently been added to his reportoire. "Let Me Be There" would have made a good choice and did turn up again as a track used to flesh out would be his last album (Moody Blue in 1977) But its the free vocal acrobatics that impress and even on oldies like "Love Me"; a concert staple already for a few years he injects something new. The rock n roll medley is well put together (and he even says " we got lucky" and ended it all together!) but true highlights centre around the gospel performances of Why Me Lord and How Great Thou Art. The transition of How Great from the good but restrained studio recording in 1966 to the live versions is truly astounding and the one he performs here is vocally superb. He continued building in this track and it remained key to his set to the end. ( I dont agree with other reviews
that by 77 he shouted and take a listen to the CBS Elvis In Concert version where he pours emotion and true vocal power to sustain the line ".....oh my GOD-------How Great Thou Art". I'm a singer myself and notes like that dont come easy!) Back to 74 in Memphis Elvis dipped back to Stax sessions for a good verison of Help Me and further into his own canon for stand outs like Trying to Get To You. The real crime is that this event and return to his home town was not filmed professionally and like others have mentioned the cover art leaves a lot to be desired and probably added to confusion at the time. Can you imagine any other artist then or now that would have a picture of their home only as a front cover for a live album! With hindsight there are many twists and turns to Elvis's recorded legacy that were criminal and the desire to push too much product on the market each year and 5 live albums in 5 years meant that Elvis Recorded In Memphis was simply overlooked. So it is fantastic now that the Legacy series is squarely resetting history with this album a more than worthy entry showing that a lot of what has been written about Elvis in the mid seventies is simply wrong. He continued with many artistic triumphs after 1972 and this album is one of them and knocks spots off a good many live albums that came out in 74.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Concert, But Incomplete, 8 Feb 2002
By 
J. Kerr "Perry" (NH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This excellent concert was recorded in Memphis during Elvis march tour of 1974.
On this tour Elvis played in Memphis for the first time since 1961, giving a tremendous show from start to finish.
The problem here is that many of the songs from the concert were edited out and still have never put put in place.
Songs like suspicious minds and a tremendous steamroller blues that is funky and better than the Aloha version should be released.
But what we do have is excellent, Elvis really exciting the crowd with home-town favourites and all-time classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews