Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars51
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 4 June 2008
This pocket-sized book is perfect for those travelling to Portugal. It's really aimed at holiday-makers (with sections on travel, accommodation, eating out, sightseeing, shopping and health) but it's so comprehensive it would probably be useful to business travellers too. Virtually every word or phrase has a pronunciation guide, which is very helpful. At the back is a guide to basic grammar and a useful 65-page dictionary section (English-Portuguese and Portuguese-English). And the Amazon price is incredibly low. What more could you want?
0Comment|66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2010
This was my first taste of Portuguese. It's a good size for your pocket or handbag, but it's just what it is, a phrase book and vocabulary (I wouldn't call it a dictionary). The printing quality could be better, in particular for the Portuguese words. This said, it served me well until I decided to actually learn the language and moved up to Manuela Cook's course.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2011
If you only need to know a few words to get you through your holiday this book is for you.
I used it on a recent trip to Madeira and found it very useful for understanding restaurant Menu's and ordering food and drink.
Also became useful on a unplanned visit to A&E!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2010
It fits in your pocket and is worth buying for emergency communication if you don't have any Portuguese at all but it doesn't always help. The pronunciation guide and the short dictionary at the back are useful but you can rely on them only up to a point. Better than nothing.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2011
Easy, compact, well done and efficient. You wont be fluent in Portuguese but confident enough to find your way through many different situations. A precious help and a very good help for beginners.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2011
This is an ideal phrase book for someone wishing to gain knowledge of Portuguese.
Small but packed with useful information in a simple effective style.
Good dictionary.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2012
A very useful little book which is easy to carry around. Sadly, we do not speak the language at all so the quick reference, even of just individual words, was useful and helped us to communicate. Very good value.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
I bought this book for a trip to Madeira. I was more interested in the dictionary rather than the phrase book as I'd heard most of the locals could speak reasonably good English. I expected to use the dictionary quite extensively when shopping or looking at restaurant menus. Unfortunately, it proved to be almost useless when visiting supermarkets and not much better when trying to read promotional signage or work out what was listed on menus that didn't have an English translation. In summary, the pronunciation tips were quite useful but the dictionary doesn't contain nearly enough relevant words for normal day to day use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2011
A very handy size, so I could easily carry it in handbag or rucksack, it covered all the elements I needed with an extensive vocabulary and pronunciation guide; I used it all the time!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2011
This book is small, but packed with the useful phrases you are bound to need when on holiday in portuguese speaking countries (although I think it is based around european portuguese). A good range of subject are covered, and easy to navigate with colour coded pages. there are vocabulary lists, and even some basic grammar references. I found it a handy companion whilst travelling around portugal for 3 weeks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)