Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can you say?
One of the best rock concerts ever. A fitting tribute by such a collection of respected artists to Bob D. I had the concert on tape some years ago, this made my day.
Published 11 months ago by Mike T Lee

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deluxe Edition Con
The deluxe edition comes with an extra song on each side and was released on the same day as it was put on Spotify. Not really worth it.
Published 12 months ago by PhradDad


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can you say?, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30th Anniversary Concert Celebration (Audio CD)
One of the best rock concerts ever. A fitting tribute by such a collection of respected artists to Bob D. I had the concert on tape some years ago, this made my day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite Brilliant, 4 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30th Anniversary Concert Celebration (Audio CD)
In 1992 Bob Dylan was in a creative impasse, not a rut I hasten to add. His last album of written material, Under The Red Sky, was unjustly maligned and slated by critics who really didn't understand it. Song & Dance Man by Michael Gray highlights quite why this album was a hidden gem.

Bob, himself, had just come out of recording some electric folk music, some of which later appeared on Bootleg Series Vol 8, with David Bromberg. He had also recorded his first album of traditional material since circa 1970, and had written some songs that turned up on Michael Bolton, Danny O'Keefe, Gerry Goffin, and Willie Nelson albums. Bob's live gigs, at the time, could be notoriously hit-or-miss: a live concert from Stuttgart from 1991 was circulating amongst bootleggers as 'Name That Tune", amidst allegations that Bob was imbibing too much booze, and that his backing band wasn't up to much. Certainly, while Tony Garnier is still a mainstay of his backing band, the 1991/92 band never had the same impact as GE Smith, or much later, Larry Campbell, or Charlie Sexton.

So, what are we to make, after the renaissance of Time Out of Mind, Love & Theft, Modern Times, Tempest, Tell Tale Signs, an amazing memoir, Theme Time Radio Hour, and some ongoing great gigs, of this reissue ? With the exception of Sinead O'Connor's rehearsal of I Believe In You, Willie Nelson's What Was It You Wanted, Tom Petty's License to Kill, and, though not on this compilation, Booker T & The MG's Gotta Serve Somebody - it crops up on the Time is Tight 3cd box set - there's hardly anything post 1979.

Some of the covers are quite uninventive, i.e Johnny & June Carter-Cash hoe-downing through It Ain't Me Babe as if it were 1964 all over again. Bearing in mind Cash's Rick Rubin renaissance was 2 years' down the line, maybe Cash would have been better on his own, growling through Every Grain of Sand, or Saved's Are You Ready. Kris Kristofferson also falls into uninventive with I'll Be Your Baby, Tonight. However, what redeems this album is Willie Nelson on What Was It You Wanted. Willie later covered Gotta Serve Somebody on Moment of Forever, and Senor with Calexico on I'm Not There, and has revealed himself to be a great interpreter of Dylan.

Lou Reed's cover of Foot of Pride shows one great songwriter covering another: Lou was, apparently, overjoyed that Dylan wrote Brownsville Girl as a result of hearing Lou's Doin' The Things That We Want To. A debt repaid, and almost similar to Lou's great protest album, New York. George Harrison also surprises by covering Absolutely Sweet Marie, whereas you would expect him to take the easy option and return to If Not For You.

However, in a foreshadowing of the Transatlantic Sessions, Mary Chapin-Carpenter, Roseanne Cash, and Shawn Colvin return to that Basement Tapes era folk/country sound with You Aint Going Nowhere, giving it also a delicious Byrds Sweetheart of the Rodeo flavouring too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complete record of a great concert, 5 Sept. 2014
By 
Kirk McElhearn (Near Stratford-upon-Avon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30th Anniversary Concert Celebration (Audio CD)
Sure, this was released before, and this version only contains a couple of new songs. But this may be one of the best rock concerts of the past several decades. There is a stream of great musicians for more than three hours, with a few great songs by Dylan himself. This, and the Blu-Ray, remind us how important Dylan is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30th Anniversary Concert Celebration (Audio CD)
Good to have this available to relive a fantastic concert & event
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gift, 9 May 2014
By 
Mrs. Lynne Bramley (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30th Anniversary Concert Celebration (Audio CD)
I purchased this cd as a gift and as far as i know the person it was bought for loved it as they are a big fan of this artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Show, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30th Anniversary Concert Celebration (Audio CD)
Good show as was expected, Bob Dylan appeared at the end of the show doing a reasonable impersonation of Donald Duck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30th Anniversary Concert Celebration (Audio CD)
VERY GOOD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deluxe Edition Con, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30th Anniversary Concert Celebration (Audio CD)
The deluxe edition comes with an extra song on each side and was released on the same day as it was put on Spotify. Not really worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

30th Anniversary Concert Celebration
30th Anniversary Concert Celebration by Bob Dylan (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews