Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bob's 30th or Nearly.
Firstly this is a brilliant concert that has a tangible commitment from every artist.
There are many, many exceptional performances. The viewer senses that everyone was doing their utmost to do their best for Bob.
I have the VHS of this and have watched it many times. To experience it in high definition will be a real pleasure.

So, why not 5 stars...
Published 16 months ago by Mr. J. A. Bogie

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Medicine as before, almost
The main advantage of this reissued concert is that the Behind the Scenes Bonus Feature contains more footage than hitherto, but the main concert is deprived of three performances that are now transferred to Bonus Live Performances; but, pray tell me, how is that a "BONUS" when they are not new, merely placed elsewhere?

Perhaps the modest booklet, with...
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bob's 30th or Nearly., 22 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. J. A. Bogie (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bob Dylan: 30th Anniversary Concert [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Firstly this is a brilliant concert that has a tangible commitment from every artist.
There are many, many exceptional performances. The viewer senses that everyone was doing their utmost to do their best for Bob.
I have the VHS of this and have watched it many times. To experience it in high definition will be a real pleasure.

So, why not 5 stars? Simply it is that there are omissions. George Harrison performed 'If Not For You'; this is not included.(Nor was it on the VHS)
Neither is Sophie B. Hawkins's rendition of 'I Want You' and crucially, Bob Dylan himself performing 'A Song for Woody.' All of these were on the TV transmission.

Possibly there are legal wranglings over the Harrison but surely they could have been resolved? However why not the other two? I have seen all of them and they are all excellent performances.
There are also several other artists who played at the beginning of the concert before transmission began officially with John Mellencamp. Again, why not these on an extras disc?

Beware the CD as it features even fewer performances than the Blu Ray/DVD. Booker T's excellent
'Gotta Serve Somebody, for example.(Which is on the video release.) I really wish these corporates would realise that consumers want the complete article. It exists out there if you look hard enough.

In summary, this will be great to watch in a quality release. It is a wonderful concert by any standards if you are a Dylan fan or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Medicine as before, almost, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The main advantage of this reissued concert is that the Behind the Scenes Bonus Feature contains more footage than hitherto, but the main concert is deprived of three performances that are now transferred to Bonus Live Performances; but, pray tell me, how is that a "BONUS" when they are not new, merely placed elsewhere?

Perhaps the modest booklet, with text by Bill Flanagan and photographs from the concert is the most attractive feature of this re-issue, but I must confess to being somewhat underwhelmed by the new product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A Fantastic Concert Tribute for Bob', 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this DVD because I have never had the opportunity to see Bob Dylan in concert and having been a fan since I was 17 I thought the added bonus of additional artists would make an entertaining few hours.
I enjoyed the majority of the concert, the sound was good, we have wired up our DVD recorder to our speakers which made it feel like you were there with them all. The picture quality after the enhancement from the VHS version, was also first class. However it takes quite some time to get through the big names before we see Bob or Zimmy as he is known to his friends, appear on stage. When he did turn up his actual performance time was quite limited which I felt was not enough; apparently when concert was broadcast it went on for 4 hours.
Nevertheless, seeing old favourites like the Cash family & George Harrison, who for me stole the stage,you can see he was clearly enjoying playing with old friends performing wonderfully written and meaningful songs.
Lou Reed's musical rendition was more in Lou Reed style than Bob Dylan, plus he was the only artist who failed to memorise the lyrics and had to read from a music stand!
Eric Clapton showed them all how to play guitar in his usual relaxed style while a surprise appearance from Roger McQuinn from the Byrds performed a brilliant version of Mr Tambourine Man. I particularly enjoyed Neil Young's performance of 'All along the Watchtower'too.
Sinead O'Conner's slot was spoiled by the audience booing her when she walked on stage. Instead of just ignoring them she decided not to sing her allocated song, but in response gave an incantation of Bob Marley's 'War'. Other than that slightly uncomfortable moment the evening passed with flying colours, smacking of a concert well put together resulting in an enjoyable night for all concerned. Sad though to see so many time-served musicians no longer with us, we will not see their like again.
Would recommend to others for a good Saturday night in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary show done justice!, 5 Mar. 2014
By 
Carlo Wijnen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bob Dylan: 30th Anniversary Concert [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
22(!) years after the event concert we finally get a superb transfer of this iconic concert!

This blu-ray doesn't look and sound anyway near the old VHS that we had to do with all these years. Sony managed to obtain the rights to the HD-footage that was broadcast at Japanese national TV at the time. It was sourced from different cameras so it's basically a different representation of the same show. The image looks surprisingly sharp and clear and comes in gorgeous 16:9 ratio.

The sound comes in lossless 2.0 PCM and is also a major improvement over the VHS/laserdisc. Sound is very punchy and powerful, I'm hearing Neil Young's Les Paul growling and Jim Keltner's drums kicking as never before .A 5.1 mix would have been a nice bonus but this PCM track does an excellent job. It's the same mix as the original, which means that Dylan's vocals on 'My Back Pages' are still the re-recorded ones

The bonus features are a bit on the light side: 3 standard-definition bonus tracks and a (interesting) behind-the-scenes featurette (that was already available on the Web) but I guess that's all that we could hope for. It's been commented that it's not the whole show but there must be good reasons for that (licensing? technical issues?).

In short, with this blu-ray the concert probably looks as good as it will ever do, and can sit nicely next to 'The Last Waltz' on my shelf :-)

Recommended!

P.S. the In Memoriam on the back of the booklet is a sad reminder of who's left us since the event: Mr and Mrs Cash, Rick Danko, Donald "Duck" Dunn, George Harrison, Richie Havens, Levon Helm, Lou Reed and others ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Treat!, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At last! A DVD of this amazing concert! I have been waiting for years for them to release this on DVD format. This is a wonderful collection of Dylan songs performed by some of the world's greatest singers and bands in their own unique style. One of the first tribute concerts of its type and so much better on DVD than my old VHS video tape copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and ......, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bob Dylan: 30th Anniversary Concert [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Some really excellent performances (Lou Read stands out for me). Also a piece of social history: the snubbing of Sinead O'Connor by the audience is disgraceful and no performer or celebrity who were making the most of the time addressed the audience in support of her. If she was invited to perform then she deserved to be backed up. I loved the music and was shocked and outraged by this aspect of the concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "As a song and dance man", 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another of those everybody 'should buy one', "just a guitar player" DVDs, so what do you think of them, as that matters more than the introduction man, or instead the critics who know nothing, or are paid to know nothing in case it is libel? Otherwise they would have visited Rouen France and Austria, Wimbledon, Albert Hall. The Band did this, Knopfler used Randy Quaid, Eastwood used John Quade, "I'm a'hardenin' ... so am I ! If you watch this you will see Neil Young enjoying himself playing, Clapton enjoying himself singing and some super brilliant, they have after all being doing this a long time like Pink Jimmy Nail and Alison Goldfrapp or even Richard Starkey but now we begin to notice them. Ewan McGregor went to Africa, Band Aid raised children to success, buy it or miss it. Forgive us for not listening when at work, wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Parade, 17 Mar. 2010
By 
Matti (Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
This is a real celebration with enormous mount of famous artists performing Dylan's songs. So the arrangements and styles are a plentitude. This VHS is the most perfect documentation of this concert including a little more than the record which was originally released in three vinyl case. BEWARE OF THE DVD-VERSION. IT IS TOTALLY SPOILING THE EXPERIENCE BECAUSE THEY HAVE (I CAN'T UNDERSTAND WHY) EDITED OVER ONE HOUR OF THE MATERIAL THUS LEAVING OUT MANY EXCELLENT PERFORMANCES AND SCREWING UP THE WHOLE THING IN WHICH THE ARTIST INTRODUCES THE NEXT ONE. NOW IT BECOMES A TOTAL MESS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent rarity, 14 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. J. A. Bogie (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This particular VHS has been deleted and no official DVD has ever been released.
It is the closest available, officially, to the full concert, although even this omits songs (Notably by George Harrison and Eric Clapton.
Some artists are left out entirely. I knew all of this before purchasing it and was more than pleased to receive this item, which is in excellent condition and very fairly priced.

A DVD and Blu ray have now been issued (March 2014). Amazing quality as this concert was actually filmed in HD all that time ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Reminder Of A Great Night, 21 Sept. 2014
First time I've seen this since the very initial broadcast - remembered mostly these days for Sinead O Connor's ripping up a piccie of the pontiff - what a girl - which got far more coverage than any of the music. It's a great show however and well worth getting on DVD after so many rather dubious versions appearing over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bob Dylan: 30th Anniversary Concert [Blu-ray] [2014]
£17.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews