Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I take my hat off to Ben Watt - so human, so talented and so courageous
I was kindly lent this book by a friend. It’s a harrowing but riveting read about one man’s experience of a very rare autoimmune condition, often deadly to those who contract it. Ben Watt (of “Everything But The Girl”) is very lucky to be alive after such a catastrophic and life threatening illness, involving loads of suffering, and he is a very...
Published 1 month ago by Susan Glazier

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
Inputdownable read, but found the character dislikable- I didn't feel that sorry for him.
Published 6 months ago by Beccy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I take my hat off to Ben Watt - so human, so talented and so courageous, 29 Jan. 2015
By 
Susan Glazier (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was kindly lent this book by a friend. It’s a harrowing but riveting read about one man’s experience of a very rare autoimmune condition, often deadly to those who contract it. Ben Watt (of “Everything But The Girl”) is very lucky to be alive after such a catastrophic and life threatening illness, involving loads of suffering, and he is a very brave man. His treatment involved the cutting edge of heroic medicine and surgery and dangerously powerful drugs, precisely adminstered to prevent further harm to him. The NHS seems to be very good at that. Nevertheless, as a reader (and not spelt out in any way in the book) I perceived that the psychological care and aftercare for a sufferer of such a rare syndrome was somewhat lacking.
Ben’s account of his illness is accomplished – his awareness of his internal states and his external world and his ability to convey his experiences in such detail and with occasional humour is remarkable. Ben eventually made a recovery which involves ongoing life adaptations. These include continual self-monitoring, a new and very limited diet and an acceptance of a new self image. To some extent, his illness still lurks somewhere in the shadows, threatening relapse, but that does not stop Ben pursuing a successful family life and musical career. Ben is a wonderfully descriptive writer, capturing his experiences lyrically and graphically, and the book is a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patient: The True Story of a Rare Illness (Kindle Edition)
A superbly written book. I read it in one sitting. It brings home how life can jump up and bite you on the bum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Patient, 15 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patient: The True Story of a Rare Illness (Kindle Edition)
A page turning true story of the author's illness,described in realistic detail and including a lot of humour too. I read this book for personal reasons also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding writing, 22 April 2014
By 
J. Hobart "Mum22Monkeys" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Patient: The True Story of a Rare Illness (Kindle Edition)
I read this with an interest in how a young person's life can be changed by the sudden onset of illness. Watt writes beautifully about the transition from "normal" to something completely different. I first read it when it came out in the US and then promptly re-read it. I've come back to it again, fifteen or so years later and still find it very moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book..., 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patient: The True Story of a Rare Illness (Kindle Edition)
Compelling, funny and not at all self pitying, I would highly recommend this book. It makes you realise how precious your health is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having just read this book in two days, I was drawn in by it and loved it from start to finish! Ben Watt has a great descriptive way with words, whilst not at any point playing the poor me card. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beutifully written., 24 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Essentially just a book about a nasty rare illness and Ben's three months in hospital. But......it's so much more than that. It's life affirming, it's poetic, it's the extreme of those experiences we've all had when you are wretchedly ill and forced to lie in bed in that dreamlike state, contemplating your complicated life, only to conclude it's the simple, mostly forgotten parts of living that make it so wonderful. Top man Ben, so glad you're still with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars honest and inspiring, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patient: The True Story of a Rare Illness (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book which I picked as I have also had major bowel surgery. I found the author's honesty and bravery shone through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story of an ordinary man in an extra ordinary situation., 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patient: The True Story of a Rare Illness (Kindle Edition)
Ben Watt engages the reader and allows you to empathise with him; a story of an ordinary man in an extra ordinary situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An insight into a rare illness and a long hospital stay, 6 May 2014
By 
Without a hint of self pity , Ben Watt tells of his illness , rare and at first a mystery to doctors . Going from a suspected heart attack to a bowel condition that leaves him in hospital for months on end , operation after operation. Ben tells it how it is , open and honest with his feelings but also with that touch of humour and irony seen in his song writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews