Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


117 of 121 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value entry level DSLR a few things to consider though
The D3300 is a minor update to the D3200, it does offer most of what a new user might be looking for, or a decent choice for someone moving up from a bridge or compact camera, wanting to expand their photography knowledge
It's also easy to use and learn on.

There are a few limitations though compared to higher priced bodies, which I will go into later on...
Published 6 months ago by Mr Baz

versus
12 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The lens is poor quality and the flash not much use
Sold as new. Obviously a used or returned item - some of the bags opened and re-sealed clumsily, bits already assembled. No receipt and no possibility of claiming the advertised cashback. This is not an accident - it has happeened to other buyers, and I thought I had avoided that problem.

It would have been cheaper to buy this from a shop, and I bought if for...
Published 6 months ago by N. Tuson


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

117 of 121 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value entry level DSLR a few things to consider though, 10 Jun 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
The D3300 is a minor update to the D3200, it does offer most of what a new user might be looking for, or a decent choice for someone moving up from a bridge or compact camera, wanting to expand their photography knowledge
It's also easy to use and learn on.

There are a few limitations though compared to higher priced bodies, which I will go into later on. This won't matter to many users, but they are worth a mention

A quick summary of the notable strong and weaker points of the camera

Pros:
+ Excellent image quality from the 24mp sensor, good dynamic range too. Nikon removed the optical low pass filter this increases the resolution a bit, you can shoot RAW and JPEG
+ 11-point AF system with central cross sensor is quite good enough at this price point
+ Nicely made and a smaller more compact size for a DSLR, quite comfy in the hand
+ Fairly well featured for an entry DSLR, has most of what you might want to start off with (bear in mind cons section)
+ Has HD video 1920 x 1080 50p which is sharp and clean. You do have autofocus (contrast) with the AF-F mode
+ 3.5mm mic input
+ "Guide mode" can be useful for some people it can help with shooting situations, but it's not perfect
+ Range of creative effect/filters to play with
+ Metering and WB are improved over the previous model quite consistent in most situations
+ Built in white light AF assist (helps the camera focus in lower light) it works, though it can be distracting for people shots inside
+ Good battery life around 600 shots
+ 5fps continuous shooting is quite fast for an entry level camera, buffer is quite small though (about 6 frames raw)

Cons:
- No exposure bracketing (about time at least something was added here), no depth of field preview
- No Auto FP (High speed sync), this allows your external flash to sync at all shutter speeds with the camera, particularly useful for daylight fill in flash photography, where you will easily go over the normal 1/200 flash sync speed with faster lenses or on a bright day. Camera doesn't support it so you will have to use ND filters as a workaround (to reduce light to the camera)
- No built in AF motor in the body. This is less of an issue now that most recent Nikon lenses have motors built into them, but if you are digging around for second hand (or non AF-S)lenses it's something to consider. You can still use screw driven lenses but manual focus only
- Live view is fairly slow to focus, it's ok for non moving subjects though. Video AF-F can jump about a bit trying to focus
- No support for wireless (CLS) flash with the built in flash. You can use radio triggers though or optical slave flashes (Yongnuo etc)

Body controls wise, fairly straight forward. Menus are easy to use and navigate. There is a lack of some controls on the body, direct buttons for some important functions are not present such as ISO and WB settings. You can set the "Fn" button on the left hand side under the flash raise button can be set to (WB, ISO, image size and active D lighting) this helps quite a lot. As does using the "info" button which allows you to change settings on the rear LCD by moving around with the D pad.

Nikon probably could do with re-vamping the controls a bit on their entry models, ie more direct controls. But it's ok for this segment.

There is no vertical grip option from Nikon for the D3300. You can use the IR remote ML-L3 with the camera

Canon v Nikon:
I won't get into this major debate, both makers have large and extensive systems, in terms of lenses and bodies.
As a general guide Canon tend to be a bit more generous on entry bodies in terms of functionality (Auto FP, Wireless flash, DOF preview, bracketing) Nikon offer higher resolution sensors with better dynamic range, all their bodies have a built in AF assist light (none of Canon's do) If you are taking a photo course Canon might be a slightly better choice (those missing things might be useful for learning)

Try both (and other makers too) and see what you like best. You can't beat a real hands on with cameras some bodies might just feel right, some might not. There are no real right or wrong choices, everyone is different. But it's worth thinking about what friends/family are using you can borrow and use lenses and other items. Look at the practical elements of your choice too.

The removal of the optical low pass filter and slight increase in frames per second are the main improvements over the D3200, it is not a huge update over that model so if you have a D3200 you might want to look at the D5300 or even D7000/7100 to step up a bit to the next level.

Second body shooters:
The D3300 makes for a relatively inexpensive back up body, but the limitations on flash (esp Auto FP), less controls and no built in AF motor could be a factor. Look at what your needs are. This will do the job, but you might want to pick up something else if you need that.

Image quality is very good, but 24mp is stretching things a bit on some cheaper lenses, it's worth looking at lens choices to get the most out of the camera. 24mp is overkill for most users, including many serious photographers..though landscape shooters won't complain. Don't just buy the camera just for 24mp, it won't make you a better photographer, it can yield excellent prints if you have good optics and with good processing of images Low light is quite good but resolution drops off as it does on all 24mp APS-C cameras, you can reduce the jpeg image size if you wish.

So overall a pretty good entry level camera, it would be nice to see Nikon improve things a bit more esp in relation to the flash limitations and lack of bracketing (the last one has been a bit of a sore point for ages now) For the outlay it's capable of excellent results. It's also quite a bit cheaper than the D3200 was at launch.

Is there more to buy? Well that's down to you, one reason for DSLR's being a popular choice is you have the flexibility to get lenses you need or might want (macro, telephoto, ultra wide angle) You can spend a fortune on equipment, or just buy a few lenses that interest you. Building up a system takes time and can be very expensive. So take it easy for a while and learn the basics first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great camera....., 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm new to DSLR's and have wanted to give one a try for many years. I read through most of the reviews on the net and decided upon this based on it being a very impressive entry level camera. I have no desires to want to produce shots worthy or publishing, but just as a hobby. So I'm in no position to go in to the technicalities as yet, but this to be a great camera. Only disappointment was that Nikon don't include a memory card with the camera - at such a small cost to them, this would have allowed me to be up and running sooner than having to order one separately. Apart from that, a great camera that I'm looking forward to using and understanding !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beats the competition, 8 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D3300 Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm VR II Lens Kit - Black (24.2MP) 3.0 inch LCD (Electronics)
Having originally gone for a Canon 1000D four years ago, I grew increasingly frustrated with the very poor image quality, so I've sold all my Canon kit and have switched to Nikon's D3300. I am a beginner photographer/astro-photographer.

This is an entry level or upper entry level camera which outcompetes Canon's alternatives in the form of the 1200D and 100D. Although slightly bigger than the 100D which was marketed as the world's smallest DSLR, you wouldn't really think so if the cameras were put side by side. In terms of image quality, you get 24mp versus 18mp resolution in those two other models, but on top of this the sensor gives you 35% more image quality, 11% more colour depth, over DOUBLE the low light ISO sensitivity (half your exposure time), and 14% more dynamic range (an image shows a greater range of light levels rather than everything either dark or light). Check Dxomark scores, which are lab tests done on cameras in a controlled environment using high tech software and sensors if you want to verify these numbers.

The body feels solid yet light, grips in the hand very nicely and has intuitively placed buttons. The buttons have a nice clicky feel to them, and I particularly like the column of buttons on the left side of the screen. It has some nice features, the most notable of which is that you can apply many fun filters to your images on the camera. One of these is a 'miniature effect', where the top and bottom bands of the image are blurred as per your input to give a cool artistic effect, and in movie mode at 1080P HD resolution it compresses time by 15x so that a 45 minute movie turns into a 3m movie - making everything appear miniaturised and fast. On the auto modes any beginners will be able to use this camera, and the auto focus is top notch. If you know what you are doing with a camera, it has all the features that you would expect, including mirror lockup (it says for cleaning) if you want to be taking astrophotos. Video quality and sound is excellent. Make sure you have a high speed memory card otherwise it won't be able to record more than a small snippet of HD video. Either get a SHXC or SDHC (UHS-I) card of class 10 speed.

The kit lens provided is a new lens released with this camera. When not in use, it compacts down to just a few inches, which is really handy when walking around or storing the camera. You just pop it out via a release button and then start focusing. The quality really is superb, and this lens if not supplied with the camera costs £170. If you are looking for your first camera, I highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible bang for buck image quality.. brilliant for sports and action photography, 14 Feb 2014
By 
Sean Reilly (London, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I own a Nikon D5100 and my first impression of the D3300 was how compact and light the 3300 is in comparison! Nikon have really tried to reduce the bulk of this DSLR to make it more like a portable snapper that the beginner would likely be more used to. It is for a beginner, as is the entry level spec camera in their DSLR range. However, it is likely that I will never afford myself the luxury of spending the money that an enthusiast level camera provides so for me.. you've got to be here because of budget as all DSLRS are complicated compared to point and shoot compacts.

These are the things that i consider when looking for a good DSLR to start with.. I don't have a huge amount to spend, never have... so I have bought entry level and been there before; these are the things (just a couple of things) I found most important if your budget is tight and you need 'bang for buck!' I say:

1. Let the main thing be the main thing- Picture quality. Why buy a DSLR if you are not looking for improved image quality? The image quality for the 3300 is quite simply outstanding for the price- buy with confidence. Snapsort- which has been my 'go to' comparison site rates the image quality very highly; it has great colour range and a high resolution of pixels> 82/100

"With its huge 24 megapixel sensor, the entry-level D3300 continues to be one of the highest-resolution APS-C DX format Nikon DSLRs , and it still offers more pixels than any competing manufacturer too. The removal of the Optical Low Pass Filter has resulted in very slightly improved rendition of fine details without introducing unwanted moire effects, while the extended ISO range makes the camera a little more adaptable in low-light." -photographyblog.com

To be honest the improvement of the ISO range is, still, at such a compromise to the quality of the image that you would only use the upper reaches of low light sensitivity if you were desperate. The increased sensitivity seems irrelevant... to me anyway- I'm paying for a camera to take superb images and I don't want to compromise that.

With 24 mega pixels, you can print big images from this camera with very good detail as the image quality (if you can hold the camera steady and expose your image correctly e.t.c..) which is outstanding. To be honest if this camera is just to produce holiday snaps at a normal 6x4 then 12 mp is plenty but who doesn't want more?

2. Buy old glass.. the kit lens is only acceptable if you aren't looking for 'art' in your pics as opposed to a means of recording information. The kit lens on this camera is now more compact which will suit some but if you have an artistic ambition with this camera just buy the body and look for cheaper older glass that is far, far superior. The 3300 doesn't have a motor in the camera so older lens will not autofocus... this hasn't bothered me personally as the bokeh/blur and areas of focus in your images is something that I like more control of than automation provides.

If you are interested in sports/action photography- the improvement from 4 frames to 5 frames per second is a significant improvement and may well be worth spending the extra money on as opposed to buying the d3200 instead. 5ps or 5 frames per second is outstanding for an entry level DSLR> SO, if looking for a budget sports/action camera then this is a great choice HOWEVER>>>

If you are on a tight budget- go for the 3200 body only with old glass for arty work- if not so tight, I'd go D3300 with old glass.. if you are looking for a sports/action camera then the 5fps will be worth the extra money (go for better but older lens/glass if you can get it)

Enjoy! PS. I have always been reassured by the Nikon 2 year warranties. Certainly I haven't had any problems yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably good camera, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D3300 Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm VR II Lens Kit - Black (24.2MP) 3.0 inch LCD (Electronics)
Studied the competition for a long time and chose this as my first DSLR camera.

It has a larger sensor than others in its price range, many more megapixels and a great VR (Vibration Reduction) lens. Nikon lenses are also cheaper than Canon lenses (but are just as good) which was the final nail in the Canon coffin.

Unlike most, I bought this as a quality budget video camera and it's incredibly good. If you had a couple of these you could put together a very convincing advert or movie; but you'll definitely need a good tripod.

The quality of photos is impressive. It has a helpful manual for beginners but if you want to get to know it quickly and get maximum use out of it (as an ordinary camera, not a video camera) I highly recommend buying 'Nikon D330 From Snapshots to Great Shots' by Rob Sylvan (the floppy back not the kindle).

Having used this for a while I have no regrets; couldn't ask more of it... just waiting for the D800 to fall in price as a next step.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant nikon, 13 July 2014
By 
Mr. Ken Picton (wales, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stunning quality, I thought my d80 was good till I had this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding with one small niggle, 5 July 2014
By 
C. Cross - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D3300 Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm VR II Lens Kit - Black (24.2MP) 3.0 inch LCD (Electronics)
Build Quality
=======================

The camera feels very solid and well built even though it's all plastic. The grip in particular is excellent. Attaching and detaching the lens is easy and gives a satisfying click which removes all doubt of whether or not the lens is secured in place.

Still Images
=======================

The camera produces outstanding images in any situation you throw at it. The detail is good from the center all the way to the edges. The quality of image is good enough to do large prints. The built in flash is very good for darker or night shots.

Lens
=======================

The kit 18-55 VR lens is very good. There's not a massive zoom (approximately 3x in consumer terms), but with the huge image size, you can easily afford to crop in post, to achieve more of a zoom. The image stabilised lens is worth having, but it won't cure the most shaky of users.

Video
=======================

The actual video quality is excellent, but this is my niggle with the camera - the auto focus is very loud and is audible in the video footage and as such, is very distracting when playing the video. The sound is like tapping a metal folk on a tin can constantly and makes the camera feel cheap.

This isn't an issue if you plan to throw music over your footage, or want to use an external micropohone, but I can't see many amatuer photographers using an external mic, unless you're a professional on a tight budget.

Note that even if you're not recording video, the auto focus is still noisey, so beware if you're going somewhere that won't tolerate noise.

I also found it was quite slow to focus as you move the camera around. For example, I panned about 180 degrees indoors and each time the camera was almost in focus, it then started to refocus because of the panning. The result was the whole 180 degrees were out of focus. For this reason, I decided to return the camera but I appreciate that some won't care so much about the video on a DSLR.

Battery Life
=======================

Nikon quote over 700 shots, and they aren't wrong. It goes on forever, even when using live view. The battery charges in around two hours, which is very respectable.

Size and Portability
=======================

The camera is smaller than most DSLRs, and when the lens is folded away it's even smaller, which brings me to my next point. The collapsible lens in theory sounds good, but in practice I would prefer to have the lens ready to go for quick snaps. You're only saving a few cm when the lens is collapsed, and in that state, you can't even browse the menus or settings. I found it undesirable to have to extend the lens and then return to the zero zoom state before I could compose the shot.

If size is an issue then currently the smallest DSLR is the Canon 100D, although it's arguably not a great deal smaller than the Nikon D3300 because Canon only reduced the body size not the lens, and when you have the standard Canon lens (which isn't compact) the reduction isn't much. The difference in weight with the kit lens between the Nikon and Canon is about 54g, which is roughly the weight of a shot glass.

Features and Usage
========================

The camera has most of the features of pro DSLRs. The huge 24MP and large sensor dwafs its Canon rivals (although MPs alone aren't a direct indication of quality). It does have the "consumer" features such as effects that you'd probably try once then never use. There is a guide mode, aimed at beginners, but I'd suggest just getting stuck in and play with the settings. Also, YouTube is your fiend, where you can find many tutorials and general how-to's.

Nice To Have's
========================

At this price point, there's a few things you'd like to have, notably an articulating or touch screen but I suppose Nikon need to differentiate the entry level D3000 series.

Summary
========================

The value for money on this camera is arguably unbeatable, you get a huge range of features at this price point, compared to its rivals. If you can live with the focus noise then I'd recommend this camera to anyone from the absolute beginner, up to advanced enthusiasts that don't want to step up to the 5000 or 7000 series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant camera and NOT just for beginners!, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D3300 Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm VR II Lens Kit - Black (24.2MP) 3.0 inch LCD (Electronics)
I bought this to replace my old D5100. I did wonder whether I was doing the right thing as I kept reading reference to it being a camera for beginners (which I'm not) but as far as I could see it had all the features that I wanted as well as being considerably less expensive than the D5300. I'm very pleased with the camera and glad that I bought it rather than waste money on something dearer. Anyone wanting further recommendations for this DSLR could do worse than type Ken Rockwell D3300 into Google.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant bit of kit, 21 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant bit of kit, the last SLR I owned used 35mm film so this was my first SLR since the digital revolution, I wanted to get it right and this fitted the bill just right.

I had done a bit of homework and this model had some decent reviews and in the short time I have been using it I can see why.

Thoroughly recommend it.

There was a bit of a misunderstanding about the Nikon cashback but Amazon sorted it, thanks again guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommend buy., 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm new to photography but this camera is making it a pleasure, the photos I'm getting from it are amazing with brilliant detail, I'm over the moon with its performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews