Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this!
I cannot praise this document too highly. At last a Papal document that reads as if it has been written by a human being and one with a sense of humour at that. But do not buy this; go to the Vatican website, choose your preferred language and download the pdf. All you then need to do to read it on a Kindle is email it to your Kindle's email address with the word...
Published 9 months ago by Forlornehope

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Presentation of Evangelii Gaudium
The printing of the document in the booklet was far too small to make for comfortable reading. but it is important for me to own
this copy.
Published 4 months ago by Elizabeth Young


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this!, 22 Dec 2013
I cannot praise this document too highly. At last a Papal document that reads as if it has been written by a human being and one with a sense of humour at that. But do not buy this; go to the Vatican website, choose your preferred language and download the pdf. All you then need to do to read it on a Kindle is email it to your Kindle's email address with the word "convert" in the title line. It will make a pretty decent, but not perfect, job of fitting it to you Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST I HEARD FROM POPE FRANCIS SO FAR !, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Indeed a very good book written at "the appropriate time" for believers. The language used is simple. Therefore it makes very easy reading & comprehension of Pope Francis' message. Don't just read it once, do at least a second and a third reading.

This book also makes an easy-to-use Reference book for the people in the pews.

If you are thinking of getting a personal copy, get one more for a Best Friend or a Neighbour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have NEVER read an encyclical written by a Pope previously because they are not typically written for the person in the pew. This one is very readable and easy to understand. More importantly it addresses issues that I believe most Christians are very interested in.Even my 25 year old goddaughter is reading it without any prodding.This is a Pope who truly knows how to engage a mass audience of non theologians. Bravo Papa Francesco.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Presentation of Evangelii Gaudium, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The printing of the document in the booklet was far too small to make for comfortable reading. but it is important for me to own
this copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A call to Christians to get our act together, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of the Gospel: Evangelii Gaudium (Kindle Edition)
This is what Catholicism is about. It is a call to put all our petty differences aside and to follow Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evangeli Gaudium, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of the Gospel: Evangelii Gaudium (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant and inspiring. We have waited a long time for a work such as this. Written in an easy and approachable manner. It is also very non-denominational so that it can appeal across the board to seekers of the truth whatever their denomination or even if they have none at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where is Francis leading us?, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of the Gospel: Evangelii Gaudium (Kindle Edition)
To a Christian brought up on the Hell Fire and Damnation approach, this is a breath of fresh air. It feeds my hope for renewal within the Roman Catholic world. There are plenty of words directed at the clergy, but it is also a call for every member to become fully active and responsible and to experience the joy and let go unnecessary burdens. It is sympathetic to difference. I am reading it quite slowly, because there is a lot to think about, even if the language is relatively simple, but sometimes though I understand the words I am not completely clear about the intended meaning. I bought the kindle version; in hindsight I would have preferred the paper back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apostolic Exhortation, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is inspired writing that is written in an accessible way - this should be on the reading list of all Catholics and many other believers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Down to earth, challenging and inspiring, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of the Gospel: Evangelii Gaudium (Kindle Edition)
Plenty of tough medicine that will shake many clerics - and 'practising' christians and lay folk. This is truly inspirational, and pretty shaming too.The messages hit so many nails on the head and cast rays of light onto the sorry state of mankind and the global culture. To anyone who considers the vatican to be self centred and self serving, this uncompromising foray will give great hope that there's going to be one huge shake-up. I hope Pope Francis lives to see significant progress towards his inspirational vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pope Francis and His Hopes for the Church, 23 April 2014
By 
Ann Gleeson "Musicus" (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of the Gospel: Evangelii Gaudium (Kindle Edition)
This is the American edition of this Apostolic Exhortation of Pope Francis. It says nothing new but the style is a revolution. It is personal to Pope Francis and filled with joyous optimism expressed in an accessible style and language; for that reason it will be read by many inside the Church and outside it.
it.
Some sections of the Catholic press have hailed it as a 'return' to the spirit of Vatican II which may be overstating it somewhat. The Church is always in need of reform but that does not mean that its past is done away with, the Gospel is as always interpreted for the present time. Evangelii Gaudium is filled with faith, optimism and encouragement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews