Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!
I thought it was going to be one of those books giving tips on how to convey your message successfully with some sort of tricks but it was more than I had anticipated. Well structured text, highlighting key points of popular TEDx presentations, emphasising other points that you often disregard in a presentation as not important, in other words it is a good read. It helps...
Published 15 months ago by lena

versus
30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars overpadded, but some useful tips
Public speaking coach reveals nine secrets of successful presentations. Overpriced and overly padded, but some useful tips here for anyone who has to speak in public. There's a type of non-fiction book from the US that uses an endless stream of conversational, easy-to-read, easy-to-skim, easy-to-yawn-over, repetitious words and anecdotes to impart some quite useful...
Published 11 months ago by Bobbie


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought it was going to be one of those books giving tips on how to convey your message successfully with some sort of tricks but it was more than I had anticipated. Well structured text, highlighting key points of popular TEDx presentations, emphasising other points that you often disregard in a presentation as not important, in other words it is a good read. It helps to watch the video presentations while you read the book; they have an immediate impact. Often when you prepare for presentations you are convinced that it is what you say that matters, not how you say it and here the book proves you wrong. Some simplifications in interpretations wouldn't undermine the overall good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death to bullet points, 2 Jan. 2015
By 
J. Baldwin "Reader" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd seen this book a few times in shops and had a quick leaf through. It seemed on the face of it to be a set of tips on presenting grafted on to examples from TED talks but it's actually a bit more than that.

I (I'm told) present well, so for me reading this was an affirmation that I'm doing the right thing. But I bought it to help me structure advice I give to others as part of my job and this is going to be very useful.
In fact, I'd lobby to make this required reading for anyone presenting at a conference from now on. Academics in particular should take note.

Weirdly, although all the talks referenced are available online, there's nowhere to find them curated together for convenience, so I may just have to do that myself...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk Like TED: The 9 Public Speaking Secrets of the World's Top Minds (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the best books I have read on presenting. The style of writing,stories and analysis meant that it was far more valuable than your average book. A must for your reading list if you want to be a more effective presenter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars overpadded, but some useful tips, 10 Aug. 2014
Public speaking coach reveals nine secrets of successful presentations. Overpriced and overly padded, but some useful tips here for anyone who has to speak in public. There's a type of non-fiction book from the US that uses an endless stream of conversational, easy-to-read, easy-to-skim, easy-to-yawn-over, repetitious words and anecdotes to impart some quite useful messages. Ironic that one message of this book is that brevity gets your message across far more effectively and memorably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lots of useful tips and reminders, 21 Dec. 2014
By 
markr - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading this book enormously. Whilst there is little here that will revolutionary to people who have read business 'how to' books, there are several useful reminders and tips contained in the 9 secrets.

The links to actual TED talks are particularly interesting, giving easily understood examples of each of the secrets. The key message is that anyone can develop the skill to present very effectively - and this book is full of ideas about what to aim as you learn to do so
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Behind the scenes, 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk Like TED: The 9 Public Speaking Secrets of the World's Top Minds (Kindle Edition)
I love dipping into TED talks and am constantly surprised by how the passion of speakers opens up subjects that I didnt think I would have any interest in. This book is a fabulous insight into what goes on behind the scenes of a successful TED talk - and when I say successful that is a talk that educates, informs and more than anything inspires the receiver to see the bigger more beautiful life that is there for them. Fundamentally the message of this book is that we all have the potential to be TED speakers - preparation and technique counts for alot but bringing our unique and individual contribution to life is really what it is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, so if you want to learn about ..., 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book, so if you want to learn about good presenting, read this book. However, it some more tips/feedback on how to present masses of boring data (which so many of us have to do at work) and make them 'exciting' woul dhav ebeen good. It's one thing doing a Talk on TED, which is a bit of a star spot/Oscar speech podium for experts in their field and another presenting to your staff or board who actually - no matter what the book says - expects a certain kind of talk. Who will actually have the courage to break the mould and Talk like TED to your boss when he wants financial forecasts and projections for the coming year?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How and why a TED presentation resembles "a Cirque Du Soleil for the mind", 14 Mar. 2014
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
As Carmine Gallo explains, Richard Saul Wurman created the TED conference in 1984 as a onetime event. (TED refers to Technology, Education, and Design.) It became a four-day conference six years later. Chris Anderson purchased TED in 2001. Until 2005, it remained a once-a-year conference: four days of programs, 50 speakers, and 18-minute presentations. Anderson added TEDGlobal to reach an international audience. TED.com was launched in 2006. Thus far, the website has attracted more than one [begin] billion [end] views, averaging about two million day.

The video programs have been translated into more than 90 languages. There are no charges to access any of the TED programs. After attending the 2006 conference, documentary filmmaker Daphne Zuniga described it as "Cirque Du Soleil for the mind." Oprah Winfrey later observed, "TED is where brilliant people go to hear other brilliant people."

Those who have already read Carmine Gallo's previously published works, notably The Presentation Secrets of Steve Jobs: How to Be Insanely Great in Front of Any Audience, will be especially interested in what he shares in his latest book because the "secrets" to which its subtitle refers are provided by a remarkably diverse group of thought leaders. They include Chimimanda Ngozi Adiche, Brené Brown, David Christian, Amy Cuddy, David Gallo, Bjarke Ingels, Sarah Kay, Johnny Lee, Sir Ken Robinson, Hans Rosling, and Bryan Stevenson. All of them have made one or more presentations under the TED auspices.

Those invited to make a TED presentation receive a copy of a Guide and of these "Commandments":

1. Thou Shalt Not Simply Trot Out thy Usual Shtick.
2. Thou Shalt Dream a Great Dream, or Show Forth a Wondrous New Thing, Or Share Something Thou Hast Never Shared Before.
3. Thou Shalt Reveal thy Curiosity and thy Passion.
4. Thou Shalt Tell a Story.
5. Thou Shalt Freely Comment on the Utterances of Other Speakers for the Sake of Blessed Connection and Exquisite Controversy.
6. Thou Shalt Not Flaunt Thine Ego. Be Thou Vulnerable. Speak of thy Failure as well as thy Success.
7. Thou Shalt Not Sell from the Stage: Neither thy Company, thy Goods, thy Writings, nor thy Desperate need for Funding; Lest Thou be Cast Aside into Outer Darkness.
8. Thou Shalt Remember all the while: Laughter is Good.
9. Thou Shalt Not Read thy Speech.
10. Thou Shalt Not Steal the Time of Them.

The dozens of videos available at no cost bring the stated and implied advice on this list to life and can also be of substantial value to anyone else who is preparing a presentation, whatever its nature and extent may be. Gallo is thoroughly qualified to explain HOW to do it, based on vast experience that includes but is by no means limited to State Jobs and others who have made TED presentations.

In fact, one of his book's greatest strengths is that it creates a context, a frame of reference, for each of the nine "secrets" that are actually guidelines. My strong recommendation is to proceed from one chapter to the next, pausing to visit the TED website and check out the speakers to whom Gallo refers, then re-read the relevant portion in the book's narrative. With rare exception, body language and tone of voice have much greater impact than what is actually said. It is therefore important to experience first-hand what Gallo explains so adroitly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk Like TED: The 9 Public Speaking Secrets of the World's Top Minds (Kindle Edition)
This may need to be toned down in substance for a more restrained UK audience. However, the form and structure of the ideas are very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... United Kingdom and I have just finished reading this wonderful book. It's not the first book that I ..., 8 Oct. 2014
I lead a Church in the United Kingdom and I have just finished reading this wonderful book. It's not the first book that I have read on public speaking over this last year. I have read books such as A preaching workbook, Public Speaking, Reading for preaching, Fumble-rules and The last art of the great speech (And I do recommend them all). However this is the by far the most effective book to date. It has been helpful and useful and I recommend it to all. It has some useful practical advice and will improve anyone public speaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews