Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read
I've just finished Annie's latest novel, Meet Me Under the Clock. Annie has done her usual impeccable research. The book set in Birmingham, during WW 2. It follows the lives of an ordinary working class family, and their next door neighbour. The story tells of the jobs the women had to take during this period, such as working on the railways while the men folk were abroad...
Published 3 months ago by Carol Arnall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read
Really enjoyed this book. It gave an insight into certain aspects of life in that era that I have not seen covered before.
Published 1 month ago by Liz Lynch


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've just finished Annie's latest novel, Meet Me Under the Clock. Annie has done her usual impeccable research. The book set in Birmingham, during WW 2. It follows the lives of an ordinary working class family, and their next door neighbour. The story tells of the jobs the women had to take during this period, such as working on the railways while the men folk were abroad fighting the war. It tells of the joys and heartaches experienced by the women waiting anxiously to hear news of their husbands, boyfriends. All in all, a thorughly enjoyable read.
I found myself thinking of the characters in the book during the daytime, (I read late at night) to me this is always a sign of a first class read.
I've written about it on my blog!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meet Me Under the Clock (Kindle Edition)
Having read several of Annie's books couldn't wait to read this one.Brilliant from start to finish didn't want it to end.Will be looking forward to reading more of Annie's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Meet me under the clock, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Latest release from this fantastic author have been looking forward to this book for months. I know that Annie Murray has put extensive research into this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meet me under the clock, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meet Me Under the Clock (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book - lovely story but somewhat sad at times but hey that's life. It shows what both exciting times this era was but also very hard on families. Book beautifully written and it is great to see families stick together through hard times. Cried a few times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meet me under the clock, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meet Me Under the Clock (Kindle Edition)
I have just finished reading this brilliant book. Wow please write more like this. I had a job to put this down even to sleep. Thank you so much for writing this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great story, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meet Me Under the Clock (Kindle Edition)
I have read almost all the books by Annie Murray and so far I haven't been disappointed. Meet me under the clock was no exception. A truly great story which meant that I couldn't put the book down. There's a few surprises along the way too to keep you hooked - and a nice end too. A great book well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meet me under the clock, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meet Me Under the Clock (Kindle Edition)
good story enjoyed It very much hard to put down after reading wanted to read on and on didn't want to
end got in the book with them all dramatic
good story enjoyed through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 23 July 2014
By 
Janet Davies (Falmouth Cornwall) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meet Me Under the Clock (Kindle Edition)
Great story, life isn't easy for any of the characters in this book, one has problems read, but does learn how to live with it. Then Audrey finds herself realising that she likes women rather than men, when Dorrie comes in to her life, but she fights it, and ends up in disgrace.
I'm sure others will enjoy the book as much as I did.
Janet Davies Falmouth Cornwall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this as I do with all Annie Murray's books, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this as I do with all Annie Murray's books. If you like books about WW2 this is for you, with romance and real life thrown in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good value price,a very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Meet Me Under the Clock
Meet Me Under the Clock by Annie Murray
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews