Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Therion Masterpiece!
Therion - my appreciation for this band grows by the day. Easily the strongest of all the Symphonic Metal bands & maybe the most talented modern metal band period!
This 1996 release (the 4th studio album) marked the start of what is generally recognised as a golden age. Its loaded with experimentation & some of Christofer Johnsson's finest compositions. A true...
Published on 10 May 2008 by Adam Jackson

versus
2 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Embryonic!
What a disappointment!
This is merely an embryonic take on what Therion are truly capable of. The production is flawed, the vocals laboured, and the production flaccid! The only track of any real worth is "To Mega Therion"!
For the real Therion buy "Lemuria/Sirius B"!
Published on 31 Aug 2004 by O. Thompson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Therion Masterpiece!, 10 May 2008
By 
Adam Jackson "Symphonic Metal Fan" (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Theli (Audio CD)
Therion - my appreciation for this band grows by the day. Easily the strongest of all the Symphonic Metal bands & maybe the most talented modern metal band period!
This 1996 release (the 4th studio album) marked the start of what is generally recognised as a golden age. Its loaded with experimentation & some of Christofer Johnsson's finest compositions. A true renaissance man!
Generally, symphonic metal works best when a real orchestra can be applied. Therion had yet to reach a financial level where they could afford this so they had to use the standard keyboards & synthesizers to create the orchestration and the results are stunning. Everything sounds authentic & i would believe it was all real instruments if i didn't know otherwise. Christofer J really knows how to compose & arrange and his keyboard skills match his guitar work. There is some magnificent Grand Piano work & i cant think of anyone else who matched this in 1996.
Lets not lose sight that this is a METAL album & the album is packed with powerful,sometimes brutal riffs, emotive solos, pounding drums and clear,technical bass guitar.
Lead vocals are by Johnsson with more melody & controlled aggression than before & he is backed by a fantastic choir, both male & female, marking the full emergence of the 'opera' style.
Lyrics are dark & occult based (what do you expect with the Egyptian god, Set on the cover) & compliment this powerful yet beautiful music.
Production is excellent (as usually the case for anything released on Nuclear Blast)and set the standard for the following releases.
Highlights:
PRELUDIUM - This is a short instrumental with a great sense of atmosphere and some VERY eerie keyboard effects. A brilliant composition & one of the best intros i've ever heard.
TO MEGA THERION - Really OTT choirs, great vocals from CJ & heavy riffs.
CULTS OF THE SHADOW - Fabulous arrangements, just a great track!
SIREN OF THE WOODS - The Epic track! Nearly 10 minutes of beautiful music, starting off with some haunting acoustic guitar & chilling female vocals, this just builds & builds to one of the greatest climaxes ive ever heard in music - the guitar melodies & leads almost had me in tears on first listen, and i really do mean that! Absoluteley gorgeous!
GRAND FINALE/POSTLUDIUM - Instrumental that Metallica would love to have written, really classical feel to this, really catchy too!
These are only the highlights, every song is almost of equal standard.
I despair when i know that there are Metal fans who have never heard of Therion. My first taste of the symphonic genre was Metallica's S&M - As great as that album is, Therion take the concept MUCH further.
This album cannot dissapoint any genuine Metal lover & i reckon even purely classical people could get into this band...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the other review., 5 Oct 2004
This review is from: Theli (Audio CD)
This album is a masterpiece and a landmark in therion's career, the first time they fully realised the symphonic that would later make their own. This album stands as possibly hte most complete of their releases, all the tracks fit together really well and it feels a lot like it could be a concept album, though that is not the case. It is the Therion experince on one cd and should not be overlooked by any fan of therion and/or symphonc metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christofer should re-record this, 20 Jun 2009
By 
Big Red - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Theli (Audio CD)
I'd love to give this five stars because Theli should be in every Therion fan's collection. It has the best selection of music of any Therion album to date. The songs are mostly awesome.

But I usually prefer the live versions on Midgard, Mexico and Live Gothic, as the recording and production quality is slightly dodgy here and there are no real strings (apart from the guitars). The drums sound like they were recorded in a bathroom and some of the choral parts have a strange echo, and they get off to a bad start at the beginning of To Mega Therion.

This would sell thousands again I'm sure if Christofer re-recorded it with a full symphonic line-up, but the best time to do it would probably have been when he had the Niemanns in the band.

It is a landmark CD though, an embryonic Therion, and I often listen to it. Any rock fan should appreciate this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT ALBUM FROM A GREAT METAL BAND., 8 Mar 2012
By 
K. Lavin "OLD MOVIE BUFF" (ST.HELENS,U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Theli (Audio CD)
I hadn't heard much of this bands' music till very recently, I bought their Lemuria/Sirius B double album set on a whim having read some very good reviews. I believe the band started out as a fairly run of the mill death metal band but they've obviously come a hell of a way since then. Both the heavy elements of the music and the symphonic elements and choirs do blend very well. I remember watching the video to the song "TO MEGA THERION" on a metal compilation video years ago and being very impressed by it. Most of their songs revolve around ancient religions, mystiscism and mythology which makes them a very interesting band in my opinion. I don't think this kind of music will ever gain much popularity here in the UK, people being too obsessed with x factor type rubbish but I know it has very good standing in Europe and this band have had a lot of influence on other symphonic metal bands. Some of the song lyrics are quite dark and you may find the titles a little strange such as "Cults of the Shadow" and "In the desert of Set" but I think you need to have a fairly open mind to appreciate this music, so if pop or rap music is more your thing I wouldn't bother with this. I do intend to buy more albums by this band, having been a fan of rock and metal music for the last decade. Even if you're not a fan of metal music, you could try out one of the bands' more recent albums such as "Sitra Ahtra" you may find yourself liking it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great cd! Superb order
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Embryonic!, 31 Aug 2004
By 
This review is from: Theli (Audio CD)
What a disappointment!
This is merely an embryonic take on what Therion are truly capable of. The production is flawed, the vocals laboured, and the production flaccid! The only track of any real worth is "To Mega Therion"!
For the real Therion buy "Lemuria/Sirius B"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Theli - (Ultimate Edition) (Bonus One DVD)
Theli - (Ultimate Edition) (Bonus One DVD) by Therion (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews