Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars That difficult 2nd album ticked
Warpaint's debut LP "The Fool" was one of 2010's hidden gems, it deserved so much more praise that I felt it had at the time.

Or maybe it DID get noticed? The past few months have seen a build up to what is arguably the biggest LP release of 2014 so far, as radio play has stepped up a bit, advertising for it is all over the internet, so its been impossible to...
Published 15 months ago by N. Mcalister

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really not sure!
I'm still out on this one...It's still not hitting the spot, and I don't know why. The fool seemed to flow better than this. I'm going to play it again, in its entirety, and see if it's going to do the business. Was I expecting too much??
Published 10 months ago by Quincy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent second album, and even better live, 28 Jan. 2014
By 
Paul Allaer (Cincinnati) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
The all-female quartet seemingly has been around since forever (actually since 2007 or so), but they have released only one full-length album (2010's "The Fool") to date. After what seems to be an endless wait, now finally comes the band's second album. If you are not familiar with the band's sound, think (early) The Like-meets-(early) The Cure.

"Warpaint" (12 tracks; 51 min.) starts off with a delightful 2 min. "Intro", which is actually one of the best tracks on here, and which immediately showcases the band's evolved, fuller sound. This also comes across a bit later on "Love Is To Die" (1st single), about as accessible as the band has ever sounded, while maintaining its own unique style. The band slows things down considerably on "Teese", with great acoustic guitar upfront. THE track on this album is arguably "Disco//very", which does have a certain dance-driven beat to it but surely isn't 'disco' as such. The album starts to lag a bit towards the end, although I like the psychedelic-reminding "CC" quite a bit, but the album would've been stronger/more focused had one or two songs been let off (such as the closer "Son"). But in the end it's a minor quibble. The band's growth on this album as compared to "The Fool" is amazing, and one could honestly make the argument that "Warpaint" is the great leap forward for this band. Please note that the album was produced by none other than Flood and mixed by Flood and Nigel Godrich

I had the good fortune of seeing Warpaint in concert twice last Fall in a matter of 2 weeks, once at the Laneway Festival at the Meadowbrooks in Detroit, and then again at the MidPoint Music Festival here in Cincinnati. They played similar sets, and previewed a number of tracks from the then still unreleased album, including Intro, Keep It Healthy, Hi, and Love Is To Die (but unfortunately not Disco//very), and all of these tracks sounded much heavier in concert as compared to on the new album. If you have a chance to see these ladies live, do not miss them! Meanwhile, "Warpaint" is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really not sure!, 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warpaint (MP3 Download)
I'm still out on this one...It's still not hitting the spot, and I don't know why. The fool seemed to flow better than this. I'm going to play it again, in its entirety, and see if it's going to do the business. Was I expecting too much??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No sign of 2nd album jitters. Highly recommended, 4 Sept. 2014
By 
stephen camps (London, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
Excellent dreamy soundscape album from the girls. Beautifully produced. Play this on a decent deck loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars all good, and a great album as well, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
As advertised, all good, and a great album as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it some time..., 7 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
...because it definitely doesn't have the immediacy of Exquisite Corpse or The Fool. What it does do is slowly creep up on you without your knowledge, such that you end up walking round the supermarket humming 'Hi'....

A slow burner then, but none the worse for it - the melodies and hooks take a while to filter through, but the rhythmic drumming is excellent and very noticeable. And particularly good live, with an almost 'baggy' feel at times, rare to be a at a guitar band gig and see people dancing on the spot!

But enough of that, go buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Further proof that this girl group is in a league of their own, 4 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
Even though there's no testosterone in the band members of Warpaint, there's certainly no shortage of attitude, tension, edge and darkness in the Alternative/Indie girl group's music - a quality that largely sets them apart from most other contemporary female musicians whose vocals and songwriting are often too twee and cutesy. The album cover's gorgeous artwork - hazy, layered, mirage-like images - is a good indication of the atmosphere-heavy, often languid and hypnotic music that is influenced by related music genres such as `80s Ethereal Wave, early `90s Shoegaze, and contemporary Dream-Pop, all of which emphasize sonic textures as much as melody.

volt-and-volume.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Something you might hear at the unisex hairdressers or in a crap provincial winebar, 22 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Warpaint [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Yaaaaaawwwwnnn...
Something you might hear at the unisex hairdressers or in a crap provincial winebar.
Vocals that really grate, regardless of Big Country/ U2/ Cocteau instrumental stylings.
Vapid.
Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
The best band around, even better live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
lovely music,,,girls even more lovely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric but Forgettable, 20 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Warpaint [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Warpaint's The Fool and Exquisite Corpse are two of my favourite releases so I was looking forward to a new Warpaint release. My version on lovely 2x red vinyl arrived a couple of days early and comes with a download code. Note: the vinyl only fills 3 sides with most of the 12 tracks around 4 minutes in length.

What I've always loved about Warpaint are their rather obscure tracks combined with Emily Kokal's close to cracking up vocals. I started to have concerns with this new album when guitarist/vocalist Theresa Wayman stated that previous albums were "totally crammed" with "too much instrumentation" and "We leant towards things we thought were sexier". Whatever this means? There were rave reactions on YouTube to `love is to die' with its key change chorus but it left me rather unimpressed. The album has some nice vocal harmonies but most of the songs have stripped out guitars leaving the vocals, bass, and drums to carry the songs. Guitars lazily jiggle in then out but on many tracks they have largely been replaced with synthesizer. I'm sure this new direction will spilt fan opinion? Even on the track `Hi' - which other reviews are stating as the highpoint - drum kit is mostly replaced with drum machine and synth for guitar. Personally, I like 'Feeling Alright' where this new focus works extremely well with its subdued dubstep bass line leading into the tracks 'CC' and 'Drive'.

Unlike previous releases there is a lack of urgency and rawness. It's like the band have thought way too long over each track musing over every detail. The album is therefore a muted affair and with very few edgy vocals. The guitar work is so restrained that none of this atmospheric drifting transports you to a different place. Most of the time the music lacks anything that will remotely stir your senses. I'm very sorry to say less instrumentation has equalled rather boring songs. Nothing on this release comes close to matching the brilliance of 'Majesty', 'Beetles', 'Elephants' or 'Undertow' which is a major shame.

The album 'Warpaint' may have advanced the band technically in recording and production techniques but in the end we have an album that's rather too easy listening and completely forgettable. You could play this to your Granma, at a vicar's teas party, or even in a shopping centre and it would not offend anyone and would just drift into their subconscious as background music. I believe my score generally reflects what music critics have given and for once they maybe right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Warpaint
Warpaint by Warpaint
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews