Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stellar gentle immaculate terrific soundscapes
A grinding twisted compelling intro and we are off on the Warpaint path of atmospheric mesmerizing indie. 'Keep It Healthy' is more of the same with their trademark guitar intertwining riffs "i could not believe what I was seeing". Suppose the review should stop here. Song descriptions are not really that important as each number sounds fairly similar to the others but...
Published 23 days ago by R.Cooper

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really not sure!
I'm still out on this one...It's still not hitting the spot, and I don't know why. The fool seemed to flow better than this. I'm going to play it again, in its entirety, and see if it's going to do the business. Was I expecting too much??
Published 1 month ago by Quincy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stellar gentle immaculate terrific soundscapes, 8 July 2014
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
A grinding twisted compelling intro and we are off on the Warpaint path of atmospheric mesmerizing indie. 'Keep It Healthy' is more of the same with their trademark guitar intertwining riffs "i could not believe what I was seeing". Suppose the review should stop here. Song descriptions are not really that important as each number sounds fairly similar to the others but this is not a problem because it is such a good formula that you want to re-listen & re-listen without boredom ever creeping in. Weakest track is probably 'Disco//Very' but even this is fine. Star tracks are the already mentioned 'Keep It Healthy, 'Biggy' with its deep resonant synth motif & melancholic vocals "made of a lover", 'Teese' floats in its dream like qualities "i mean more now i want more now i'm in heaven", 'Feeling Alright' wonderful compelling atmosphere and final track 'Son' is beautifully sung over plaintive piano chords....and difficult me thinks (to sing like this)...yep talented "standing in the garden got my number from the one who says go on". Warpaint are Stella, Jenny, Emily & Theresa and these are stellar gentle immaculate terrific soundscapes. [the 2x12" 33⅓rpm vinyl with 4th side etching plus gatefold sleeve with 4 brilliant inner individual pic sleeves is simply sublime]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YES!!, 16 Jun 2014
By 
J. Shenton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
I feel that Warpaint have really grown into their sound. This is their best album yet. Buy this album now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
This popped up as an Amazon recommendation - one of their best ever. This just grips you and whisks you away. Atmospheric, visceral and standing up to intense listening as well as brilliant mood music, this is well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars That difficult 2nd album ticked, 25 Jan 2014
By 
N. Mcalister - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warpaint [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Warpaint's debut LP "The Fool" was one of 2010's hidden gems, it deserved so much more praise that I felt it had at the time.

Or maybe it DID get noticed? The past few months have seen a build up to what is arguably the biggest LP release of 2014 so far, as radio play has stepped up a bit, advertising for it is all over the internet, so its been impossible to miss that "its coming"!

Along with a checklist of cool, Flood producing, Radiohead's producer mixing a couple of tracks, and the mighty Chris Cunnigham (doing not only the photos and artwork, but also their videos and filming them docu-style in the making of the album), all the pieces are there, so now its just down to the power of the music.

And this is where Warpaint will catch you out, they are not the band you want them to be, or think they will be. I call them a very "stick-to-their-guns" girl group who don't much care for the now, or be bended by conventions you might hold on progressing from their debut album.

From the opening minute of their debut album, Warpaint where sticks in the mud. As an opening song "Set your arms down" on "The Fool" came across the speakers, it spoke volumes as a "here we are, we don't care, we are doing things our way" kind-of attitude to it. It was a slow, deliberate, atmospheric opening gambit that still rings true on this sequel.

Hence then the review scores around maybe don't really reflect what is going on here. Personal prefferences aside (I prefer the other album as it had better songs) it is very much a screw-you part 2 of slow, atmospheric songs, with no sign of a number 1 sell-out single on it (although "Love is to die" has done well on alternative radio)

So then, no sell-out for Warpaint this time around. Will it come? Only they hold the power to choose!

Vinyl edition is very nice, good sound and a quality pressing.

If you have ever liked The Cure, Nick Cave or anything remotely regarded as brooding and atmospheric, Warpaint could be your new favourite band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Interesting Contribution, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
Warpaint is undoubtedly one of my all time favourite bands, and therefore I had to listen to this album a few times before finally coming to any sort of conclusion. Especially given that Warpaint don't have the most accessible sound.

This album certainly isn't The Fool v2. There aren't nearly as many jangly guitar lines weaving together nor as many vocal harmonies, for instance. Rather, they've very much taken an electronic direction. I wouldn't go so far as to say electronic sounds have replaced the guitar lines. Rather, I think the biggest shortcoming of this album is that, in a lot of the songs, nothing seems to have replaced the guitars. The stronger tracks have managed to replace the guitars with new electronic sounds. Biggy, for instance, has a that nice chunky synth riff.

The first five tracks are no doubt the strongest. Unfortunately, tracks 6-10 seem to disrupt the overall flow of the album. Disco//very is very grinding, Go In is very forgettable, and the same could be said of Feeling Alright and CC. However, they do all have that eerie, sweet, mysterious, ethereal, dark and brooding Warpaint flavour that I've have become so fond of. They just lack substance. The last two tracks sound more like the Warpaint I know and love. They seem to be less boneless than the 5 preceding tracks. They are more structured and have more of Warpaint's gorgeous vocal harmonies. Drive is, in fact, for me one of the high points of the album. Son, as well, manages to combine a guitar sound reminiscent of Radiohead's the bends and Lana Del Rey type vocals, and created something that is so utterly Warpaint.

Although I am slightly disappointed, I think this album will only improve with further listening. Just as The Fool did a few years back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like to think I have a really open mind to ..., 21 July 2014
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
I like to think I have a really open mind to musical styles. I love dub, drum and bass, electronica, plus artists like Bjork, Agnes Obel, Kate Bush, Bat for Lashes, Juana Molina. Plus my early musical heroes were Bauhaus, Bowie, Joy division and the Banshees. Warpaint somehow combine all of these diverse favourites into something really cool, original, poppy and edgy! with great basslines and strange rhythms. Seeing them at Glastonbury 2014 really sealed my love of the band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
Warpaint by Warpaint essential tracks: Disco//Very / Feeling Alright / Drive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mellow, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warpaint (MP3 Download)
A colleague at work had this album and after listening I decided to buy a copy myself. Chilled, mellow, very good sound. If I'm honest, I prefer the Haim album (maybe a little more up tempo and poppy than Warpaint), but this is a very good listen. Worth 4 star +.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars birthday present, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
Came very quickly and undamaged, and my brother loves the music, which is great since it was a surprise present for him before he went to see the band live in concert for his birthday. Only downside is it is one of those annoying cardboard cd cases rather than the far more substantial plastic cases. Luckily it wasn't bent on delivery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great rhythm section and vocal harmonies, 23 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warpaint [VINYL] (Vinyl)
The good tracks, there are six in my view, are excellent. The other songs are fillers and so a bit inconsistent overall. And not enough material to fill 4 sides of vinyl so you get the band's logo etched on the 4th side! Unlike many reviewers, I prefer this to the Fool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Warpaint
Warpaint by Warpaint
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews