Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book Twenty Four in the Templar Series
Michael Jecks gave up a career in the computer industry to concentrate on writing and the study of medieval history, especially that of Devon and Cornwall. He and his wife and daughter now live in northern Dartmoor. Virtually all of his books take place in or around where he lives. His Templar series featuring Sir Baldwin de Furnshill has been a tremendous success...
Published on 9 Dec 2007 by J. Chippindale

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not as good as his others
Published 18 days ago by Paul Dohertys / Dove Amongsthe...


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book Twenty Four in the Templar Series, 9 Dec 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Michael Jecks gave up a career in the computer industry to concentrate on writing and the study of medieval history, especially that of Devon and Cornwall. He and his wife and daughter now live in northern Dartmoor. Virtually all of his books take place in or around where he lives. His Templar series featuring Sir Baldwin de Furnshill has been a tremendous success.

I have always been a fan of the author's Templar series, even though one or two of the more recent ones have not captured my imagination as much as the earlier books. For me personally, this seems to revolve around books that take Sir Baldwin away from his home in the West Country. The Templar's Penance and the Outlaws of Ennor being to such books. Michael Jecks has written twenty four books in the series in little more than a decade and with a new one due in 2008 he is about to hit the quarter century. Most of these books have given me a great deal of reading pleasure and for that i am grateful.

One again the author has transported Sir Baldwin from his beloved West Country. This time to the Streets of Paris on a royal mission. A mission that suddenly goes horribly wrong. Isabella, Queen of England has travelled to France in a forlorn hope that her presence may bring peace between the two nations.

Baldwin has travelled with the Royal party, even though a return to Paris, the city from which many of his fellow Templar knights escaped, while others were captured and brutally persecuted and murdered by the French King leaves a raw wound in his heart. Hardly has he set foot on the streets of the city, before he is embroiled in a plot to discredit the Roual party. His own dagger is found lying by the body of a murdered servant and though he has acquired many skills regarding the law, while carrying out his duty as Keeper of the King's Peace, Baldwin is at a loss how to clear his own name and more importantly the slur on the Royal party.

Although Michael Jecks has taken Sir Baldwin out of the West Country again, I enjoyed this book very much and can't wait for the new one in 2008.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another historical masterpiece!, 26 May 2009
By 
Ms. E. J. White "Gisbournia" (England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As I flicked through the first few pages/chapters and speed-read a little (bad habit of mine!) I did wonder at first if I was going to like this as much as the others.

There seemed so many threads, so many extra characters, I was wondering (a) if we'd get to see much of Baldwin and Simon and (b) if I'd be interested in and be able to keep track of all the different alleyways and side-stories and back-stories of the book.

I needn't have worried, as they all converged nicely alongside and yes, our heroes were in a good prominence (although, I do have to say, maybe not *quite* as much as in the books set in Devon..)

A pacey tale, with all the glorious details of early 14thC life set out with such loving knowledge, it was a pleasure to read, as ever. Everything ties up well and credibly, and there's always room for a few surprises and twists at the end. Quality!

Paris in it's early years was interesting, although I shared our hero's desire to get back to good old Blighty as soon as possible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Baldwin having to go to Paris and all his past which revolves around the city. This is the start of Simons woes due to Baldwin and his past. Enjoyed this story immensely. Have read them all in order which helps all the stories as it is a prograssion of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read., 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book it was full of twists and turns right up until the end, Baldwin and Simon are sent to France with Queen Isabella to try to negotiate a settlement for the lands King Edward holds from King Charles.
But there are murders even before they leave England and Baldwin is called upon to solve them. They take all of his skill to solve and put both him and Simon in grave danger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the scene of the crime, 10 Feb 2013
Baldwin travels to Paris as part of the Royal party. His knife is found by the side of a dead body and he has to use all his wiles to uncover the real culprit. A side issue is his return to the city where his fellow Templars were persecuted and excecuted.... what will his history bring forth and will it help him clear his name....... pacy read which pulls the threads of other stories together and ties them nicely up. 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jecks is Always Worth Reading, 23 July 2009
By 
Bookaholic "prussblue" (St. Louis area, MO USA) - See all my reviews
Jecks is just a great historical researcher and writer of murder mystery whose characters are well fleshed out. Believe me, if you have not read any of this series you have missed great reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 4 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as good as his others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews