Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well-written book from a new author
Spree is a single-volume totally consolidated edition, and consequently quite bulky, of the five individual but almost simultaneously published episodes of the series of that name and written by Michael Morley, a former TV executive and producer for Endemol who mostly provide game shows and documentaries. His own involvement was with some of their crime and medical...
Published 2 months ago by Andy_atGC

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Suspect Suspense
Possibly because of its extremely short chapters (179 in total!) and ‘Spree’ having been previously published as a 5-part serial there are just too many assumptions and jarring episodes that change direction with loose ends left hanging. The novel makes a roller-coaster of a read but the plot is implausible with over-creative psychological profiling and a...
Published 1 month ago by D. Elliott


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well-written book from a new author, 6 July 2014
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Spree (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Spree is a single-volume totally consolidated edition, and consequently quite bulky, of the five individual but almost simultaneously published episodes of the series of that name and written by Michael Morley, a former TV executive and producer for Endemol who mostly provide game shows and documentaries. His own involvement was with some of their crime and medical series. No is longer associated with that company and is currently living in the Peak District with his family. He has no known association with the USA and is a recent first-time author.

The story is set in Los Angeles and concerns the hunt for a spree killer, hence the title. It involves a joint operation between the head of the FBI's newly-formed Spree Killer Unit and a psychological profiler who are together attempting to understand the killer and hopefully to reduce the gap between them and his activities and, ultimately and hopefully, to capture him. It also so happens that Jake Mottram, the FBI lead, and the profiler are not only working together but also sexually involved and in the midst of a steamy relationship. Their close working relationship and its many tensions may rebound upon their intimate relationship and this heightens their joint situation.

Not knowing the original episodic releases or how they had been organised, the chapters in this are continuously and sequentially numbered and there is no indication as to the locations of the joins. The only evidence that there is something slightly strange and different is that the chapter numbering reaches 179!

The story is well written and the author may have called upon his TV experience in series production, with script meetings, story outlines and possibly discussions with the series' writers in order to fine tune his work. As a previously unpublished author, he has done very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non-stop action, 15 July 2014
By 
Darren Simons (Middlesex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spree (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
According to Wikipedia, a spree killer is someone who kills two or more victims in a short time in multiple locations. This compares to a serial killer who will often have "downtime" between kills. FBI Special Agent Jake Mottram is the head of the FBI Spree Killer Unit, responsible for finding sprees and stopping the death toll increasing. He is suddenly faced with a spree unlike any other, and if he fails to work it out quickly, there will be more deaths.

To make it a bit more interesting, his girlfriend Angie Holmes is a psychological profiler and has her own view of what is going on. Add some tension of a domestic nature and there's lots going on, all along a fairly easy single track narrative.

This book is end-to-end action with very short chapters forcing the reader to reject any notion of putting the book down. One more chapter of 4 pages suddenly becomes another 100 pages read! I enjoyed the book immensely although I didn't see the twist in the middle coming at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow. Absolutely Gripping, 15 July 2014
By 
Wendy Jones "wjones7423" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spree (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was busy so held of reading this book for a few weeks. That turned out to be a mistake. This is honestly one of the best Thriller/Mysteries I have read. I love the characters of Jake Motram and Angie Holmes, who are a formidable combination. They are portrayed almost as real people with the insecurities that come along with merely being human. In this book they are having some problems in their relationship. This plays a part in the book but is very firmly linked to the plot.

There is a madman on the loose who is randomly killing people in large massacres. hence the title Spree. There is a lot of controversy over whether this is a spree or a serial killer and this adds to the tension, not only of the plot, but in the aforementioned relationship. There are so many twists and turns in this book you wonder how you will ever find your way back, or even to the end. The book i alike negotiating Hampton Court Maze wearing a blindfold. The action is non stop and this keeps you reading long after you should have put the book down for the night. There are several shocks which keep you wondering until the ned of the book. The plot is tied up expertly at the end and the tension is kept up right to the last page.This book gives added edge to the phrase page turner.

This is a book which I would recommend everyone to read if you like mysteries with non stop action and plenty of surprises. The book is worth every penny you will pay for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Serial Killer Novel - But It's VERY Good!, 18 Aug 2014
By 
G. J. Oxley "Gaz" (Tyne & Wear, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spree (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is being marketed as appealing to fans of James Patterson, Chris Carter, Richard Montanari and Karen Rose. Well, I can't speak with authority about Karen Rose as I've never read her, James Patterson (or should I say, whoever happens to be writing a particular book under his name) is rubbish, but it's definitely up there with Chris Carter and Richard Montanari - both fine, gripping writers.

The plot: The FBI has created a new Spree Unit to deal with serial killers operating in the USA, and Jake Mottram heads it. One particularly killer is at large, terrorising the inhabitants of the City of Angels, LA.

Pressure is brough to bear on the unit from the highest authority - the White House - to solve this case.

This is brilliantly written and if ever a book deserved the phrase 'unputdownable' it's this one. Brilliantly plotted with several heart-stopping moments, this is one novel no fan of crime fiction should miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heart stopping read!, 2 April 2014
By 
BookAddictShaun (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spree (Kindle Edition)
I am a very happy reader right now. I have read some fantastic books over the past few weeks and the latest is this one, SPREE. When I read about this book on bookbridgr, I immediately requested it and crossed everything in the hope of being approved. Well, I was approved. This book was delivered today at lunchtime, and I have just finished reading it now, at 3.00am. The reason being something huge happened in the book around 300 pages in and I just had to keep reading until the end (who needs sleep when there are books like this to be read?!)

I was excited to read this book and went into it with high expectations. Those expectations were absolutely met. I read a recommendation that said this book would be suitable for fans of Chris Carter, now Chris Carter is one of the best in the business, his crime fiction books are in a league of their own but this book by Michael Morley is definitely worth the comparison.

Spree refers to a serial killer with a difference. Whereas serials can often go days, weeks, months or years between kills, a 'spree' killer is defined as 'someone who commits two or more homicides without a cooling off period between killings'. This book was first published as a five-part ebook serialisation and I have to say if I'd've read it like that it would have been both infuriating and amazing.

Our two main characters are Jake Mottram, the head of the FBI's Spree Killer Unit and his lover Angie Holmes. We learn that they both come from troubled pasts. Jake, an orphan and Angie, an abusive past. We learn early on that Angie is pregnant with Jake's child and both are conflicted as to how they feel about the pregnancy, and their doubts at whether they can be good parents given their history. I immediately liked both characters. Angie's recklessness and determination put me in mind of Cindy, the journalist from James Patterson's Women's Murder Club books.

Angie is on the hunt for a serial rapist who is targeting women over 65 who are attacked in or near their homes. She was definitely one of my favourite characters throughout the book, she was fearless and put her job on the line more than once in her attempts to prove her theories to her superiors. Chips was another great character who at first seemed to just be a bit of a comedy character but he really became an important character as the book progressed. Jake has not long finished capturing one spree killer before another one strikes, this time it's a shooter shooting at a group of 10 year old kids and their teachers. Following on from that a killer strikes at a mall opticians killing twelve people. The police think the cases are unrelated, Angie thinks otherwise. And the reader knows otherwise when we are then introduced to the spree killer.

We are introduced to the spree killer who for their chapters is just called 'Shooter'. The chapters in crime fiction books which focus on the killers are always my most favourite. It's fascinating to get inside their head, find out what makes them tick and it's a heart stopping moment reading the bits where they carry out their murders, especially in this book. I am a fan of crime fiction where the author doesn't hold back, the bigger the body count, the higher the blood quantity and the more brutal the murders the better as far as I'm concerned. A word of warning this book is definitely not for the faint hearted or squeamish. I also liked where Shooter 'lived' or devised his plans, it was a nice change from the norm.

The book is an incredibly fast paced read, my heart was in mouth for most of it. Short chapters keep you turning the pages so fast I nearly gave myself a paper cut. Also at 533 pages it's a really long book (almost as long as this review, sorry!) but it didn't feel like a long book and that's because the quality of the writing and the storytelling was just so good that it never felt like a chore to read it. In fact I could've read on for another hundred pages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roller coaster, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spree (Kindle Edition)
Oh my goodness, what a read! I've waited a long time for this, the third book from Michael Morley & I have to say its the best yet. If you like your thrillers fast paced then this is for you. I was blown away by a brave decision, at the end of the book I realised it was the right one! Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Mar 2014
This review is from: Spree (Kindle Edition)
I read this book when it was available in 5 parts - 3 of which I read in one sitting!! From the beginning there are funny, sad and some very clever moments, You have to keep reading, you cannot put it down. There seems to be so many twists and turns, that you are kept guseeing right to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ALL SYSTEMS GO WITH MENACE SO GREAT, 25 July 2014
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spree (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Los Angeles reels. A killer creates havoc, carnage his aim as he pursues his brilliantly organized but highly twisted agenda. What picture can be compiled about him? Two esteemed profilers differ. He a "spree" or a "serial", perhaps a "hybrid"? Each species of killer has different characteristics, they important to identify if to bring him down. Faulty analysis can have disastrous consequences.

Welcome here a gripping murder mystery, a moving love story too. Ex-Marine, now FBI Agent, Jake Mottram proves an ultra-rugged hero, the very man to nail this monster. Outwardly at least, nothing seems to unsettle him - except news his lover, profiler Angie Holmes, is pregnant. He to become a father? Mission Impossible! Or is it...?

The novel is long, but brief chapters help it move at a pace, especially as the battle of wits between killer and police intensifies. Blood-drenched sequences make very grim reading. Happily there is humour to lighten the mood - much of it supplied by Angie's research assistant Chips, his T-shirt slogans far from politically correct. Also there are asides to provoke a chuckle - someone described as "a suicide blonde - hair dyed by her own hand".

Characters are not one-dimensional, especially the two leads - they often to bicker, but at heart intensely passionate. Elsewhere people initially off-putting become shown in a more sympathetic light. There are also noteworthy wry observations - like the claim that, for some, prison is "their only anchor in a life full of storms".

It is all deftly done. Everything depicted is American through and through, it thus a great surprise to learn Michael Morley hails from Manchester. Here is a writer who knows well how to engineer twists and turns - and how to deliver a shock that really packs a punch. Yes, prepare for excitement as forces combine to confront a villain completely over the top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant thrilling ride!, 30 July 2014
By 
Claire, Lulu "Lulu" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Spree (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Brilliant, thrilling, very fast paced. There are a lot of twists and turns in this story and keeps you guessing throughout. Tge characters are funny - in a dark humoured way, definitely one for the more open minded reader. Characterisation is brilliant and it's written in such a way that you cannot put the book down! Definitely a page turner. However, 4/5 because: too much American gung ho, the book didn't need it. Other than that, fab book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pacy, dark and intriguing crime thriller with a romantic twist!., 24 May 2014
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spree (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you want a fast. action packed, violent crime thriller with something of a heart - look no further. Michael Morley has produced a catchy, dark thriller that packs a punch and has enough cat and mouse to keep anyone happy.

Spree isn't the most original of plots. We're reverting again to formula; macho FBI agent who acts on gut instinct + younger, more naive female profiler who's analytical and thorough = go on the hunt for a serial/spree killer.

The orders to hunt down the bad guy have come directly from the White House because too many people are being targeted on the streets of LA. Panic ensues. The cat and mouse chase begins and the dynamic duo are faced with danger and intrigue as they close in around the killer (or is it killers!). So far so good and the plot delivers some decent action sequences and plenty of violence to keep the reader hooked.

What helps the novel in terms of plot texture is the relationship between the two key characters. Again; it's not something blindingly original but; they're in love and something else in revealed that makes her even more vulnerable and him absolutely determined to protect her. Nicely worked romantic themes fit well within the plot and there's no 'slush' to jar against the central core of murder and mayhem but; their relationship joins the threads together and draws the reader in.

Written in a series of extremely short, sharp paragraphs to keep the pace up and told from the perspective of investigating officers and the murderer (or is it murderers!) to build the intrigue.

Yes; it's formulaic crime fiction but it's got more about it than the average novel in this genre and is actually quite clever and certainly worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spree
Spree by Michael Morley
4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews