Customer Reviews


179 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAVE YOU HUGGED YOUR ZOMBIE TODAY?
This is perhaps the oddest adaptation of Romeo and Juliet to date. The names "R" (Nicholas Hoult) and Julie (Teresa Palmer) should clue you in. The film starts out with first person narration from "R", a zombie. He let's us know he can not connect with people, the theme of the film that zombies are simply people who have lost their connection to other people. If they can...
Published 15 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "the unspeakable in full pursuit of the uneatable." - Oscar Wilde
Ah a love story that proves you "R" what you eat. Taken f from the original story of Capulet and Montague - revised as "R" and Julie.

Before you get the feeling that this is just another cross-species love story you find it also an action movie with a fast car and guns. There is some nice music; too bad that they did not play "Muskrat Love." We even have a...
Published 10 months ago by bernie


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAVE YOU HUGGED YOUR ZOMBIE TODAY?, 4 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Warm Bodies [DVD] (DVD)
This is perhaps the oddest adaptation of Romeo and Juliet to date. The names "R" (Nicholas Hoult) and Julie (Teresa Palmer) should clue you in. The film starts out with first person narration from "R", a zombie. He let's us know he can not connect with people, the theme of the film that zombies are simply people who have lost their connection to other people. If they can regain that connection, they can be cured or at any rate, not smell as bad.

In this tale "R" consumes the brains of Julie's boyfriend and gains his memory. This starts a platonic relationship where they protect each other from each other's world. "R" is a horder who lives in a plane. Julie's dad (John Malkovich) is the leader of zombie killers. The introduction of young kids with pseudo patriotic themes is a satire of the "Red Dawn" movies.

There are some questions that arise.
1) How do the skeletons, i.e. "bonies" stay together without falling apart?
2) How does a record player operate after 8 years into a zombie apocalypse with no electricity?
3) How does a person see their own face in their own memory?

This is a fun film, that drags at times. Will be a welcomed addition to my zombie film collection when it comes out. Almost a prequel to "Fido."

PARENTAL GUIDE: No sex or nudity. Zombie Rob Corddry whispers the F-bomb near the end of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warm Bodies, 1 Aug 2013
This review is from: Warm Bodies [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this!!!
It's not the greatest film ever, but it is funny, heart warming and that little bit "different".
There are scenes that will remain with me and still make me smile when I think of them.
Would definitely recommend it!
... perhaps not to my older friends :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maybe not for zombie fans, 7 Jun 2013
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Warm Bodies [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've read the book so I was prepared for the storyline but fans of the usual sort of zombie movies will be disappointed by this. It is definitely aimed at the younger generation, even the trailers give that impression, Twilight, Hunger Games and The Perks of being a Wallflower. What all these films have in common; like them or not, is production quality and this film is no exception.
By now you will probably know that it is about a zombie who recovers his humanity after saving a human girl (who just happens to be gorgeous) because he has eaten the brains of her boyfriend and acquired his memories. R the zombie must be a recent revenant as he still looks pretty fresh and appears to retain a lot of human traits. He takes her back to the airport where he lives with all his zombie friends and so their relationship takes place.
Now of course if the zombies are going to become rehabilitated then what are we going to do for baddies. Enter the 'bonies' who are zombies in their final stage of metamorphosis, nasty animated skeletons with a hunger to match their attitude problem who get more than a little peeved when the lesser zombies begin to change.
And that is the theme of this story really, through love you can regain your humanity and maybe your life. Its a nice idea and its very well done, in fact I thought the ending of the film flowed better than the ending of the book.
Overall the film is quite true to the book so if you're a fan of the latter you won't be disappointed. If you watch the deleted scenes in the extras you'll see that the director considered following the book even more closely than he did.
This is a good quality blu ray with an excellent full screen presentation and a 7.1 soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection!, 8 Feb 2013
This review is from: Warm Bodies [DVD] (DVD)
Nicholas Hoult stars as R, the zombie with a voice. I am a massive fan of Hoult, ever since his days in Skins and I have watched him in everything he has been in since. While I was a little unsure about him being cast as R to begin with, I ended up being really happy with the choice. Hoult narrates for the most part of the film, talking over what is actually happening. This, obviously, is because he is a zombie. Although he can talk, to begin with R can only grunt a few words and it isn't until later in the film that he gets a wider vocabulary. I liked the narrative style though, as it gave R a very distinct voice, even if he could not use it himself. It must be hard to interact with other actors without actually talking for the most part. I think Hoult did a fantastic job as R, especially as he spends a lot of the time walking leaning to one side, looking extremely gross and grunting at everyone around him.

Teresa Palmer plays love interest Julie. The only thing I had seen her in previous to this was I am Number Four but she did impress me in that. I also think that when regarding the character from the book, she was a great choice for the role. Julie is a likeable character and in a world where everyone is out to just kill both the corpse zombies as well as the scary bones zombies, she is a bit different. Julie seems to understand that everything is not black and white and she is optimistic that things can change. This kind of attitude is also strengthened when Julie meets R. Although she is scared of him to begin with, it doesn't take her long to see that he is unlike any of the other zombies.

Something that might not be apparent unless you know, is that Warm Bodies is a sort of retelling of Romeo and Juliet. Not only does R represent Romeo and Julie as Juliet but other characters have their parts as well. Julie's best friend Nora represents the Nurse, zombie M represents Mercutio and Perry, Julie's boyfriend represents Paris. I thought that this way of retelling such a classic and famous love story was incredibly clever. As I said, you might not pick up on these things unless you already know. The themes of forbidden love are extremely strong in Warm Bodies, with R, a zombie, falling in love with a human girl who is very much alive. However, the retelling is not overdone and this doesn't take on every aspect of Romeo and Juliet, which was nice.

As well as having great characters, Warm Bodies is also really well paced. The plot is extremely interesting, with us getting to know R and his way of life to begin with. It doesn't take much time for him to run into Julie though and from there, the film only gets better. As the two characters get to know each other, their characters really come to life... literally in R's case. It was lovely to see the character development here through two people getting to know each other and what they enjoy. However, among R and the normal zombies are the scary bones zombies. These are very skeletal are no longer resemble humans. Due to R taking Julie back to the airport, the bones get a whiff of her and want to eat her. The bones provide the excitement in Warm Bodies, with them chasing R and Julie in order to get what they want.

Overall, Warm Bodies is a fantastic movie adaptation of one of my favourite young adult books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "the unspeakable in full pursuit of the uneatable." - Oscar Wilde, 2 Oct 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Ah a love story that proves you "R" what you eat. Taken f from the original story of Capulet and Montague - revised as "R" and Julie.

Before you get the feeling that this is just another cross-species love story you find it also an action movie with a fast car and guns. There is some nice music; too bad that they did not play "Muskrat Love." We even have a swimming pool scene in which they are not wearing swimsuits. The balcony scene is a tad too familiar. It is the East and Julie is the sun!

Actually this presentation is cut above a lot of the later zombie movies. It is a story about love and redemption. It may even have a redeeming value for us as we learn all zombies are not the same.

For DVD viewers there are the standard extras that do not ass much to the experience with the exception of the voice over that tells what you are supposed to be seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really surprised by this excellent movie, 9 Jun 2014
This review is from: Warm Bodies [DVD] (DVD)
We watched this as we had a spare evening (and it was free on Prime). It's funny and well acted. The storyline does not really have an original basis but it is written and directed in a way that keeps you interested throughout. There were some characters which could have descended into stereotype (particularly John Malkovich's) but the script and plot stop that happening.

Really surprised by this film and really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 3 April 2014
This review is from: Warm Bodies (Amazon Instant Video)
WOW What a film!!! A mixture between romance and zombie. Brilliant film, I would definitely recommend everyone watching this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its not too bad, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warm Bodies [DVD] (DVD)
a different spin to other zombie films but takes quite a while to get into, im not a fan but other half likes it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARM & FUZZY & WHATS NOT TO LIKE?, 27 Feb 2014
By 
J. R. Taylor "Flossytreadwell" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Warm Bodies (Amazon Instant Video)
Feel good movie with some action thrown in for those who like to see battle.
Twilight fans should love it & I mean that in a positive way, I happen to think the type of people who like Twilight are usually good people. It carries the same warm fuzzy feeling with a great looking leading couple.
The acting is spot on with the right amount of sugar in the romantic moments.
If you don't like this movie & see it for what it is 'feel good entertainment' then it must be cold around you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "About a boy" actor shines in this zombie love story, 24 Nov 2013
By 
BobM (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warm Bodies [DVD] (DVD)
"R" is a zombie played by Nicholas Hoult, who has thoughts that zombies just shouldn't have. "What am I doing here?". "My life is boring".
He and his fellow dead launch an attack on some twenty something americans scavenging for supplies to take back to their fortress city. The outcome?
R takes Julie (Played by the pretty actress Teresa Palmer) back to his abode.....a disused airliner at the zombie infested airport.
What develops is a return to humanity for not just R but all the other zombies.... with the exception of the bonies. They are too far gone and spend their time skulking around looking for easy meat.
Comparisons with Romeo and Juliette are readily made.
It is very touching in places, funny, and has a good finale.
Some great extras on the DVD make this well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Warm Bodies
Warm Bodies by Jonathan Levine
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews