Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


254 of 258 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TZ series gets a viewfinder, good travel camera
I've used quite a few of the TZ models and other maker's compact zooms over the years. So was quite keen to try this new TZ mostly because it adds something all the others lacked, a viewfinder (electronic)

Now it's here it is welcomed, there were times just using a rear LCD in harsh light wasn't ideal.
My quick fire pros and cons list

Pros:...
Published 4 months ago by Mr Baz

versus
25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars great dissapointment
Unfortunately, after about 7 years of using the Panasonic Lumix TZ series cameras (and upgrading almost every year), It is for the first time I am very disappointed with the latest model, the TZ-60.
Besides the known issues, I discovered several critical quality issues that mark a significant worsening from the previous models.
Hidden problems:
1. very poor...
Published 2 months ago by M. G. Mioc


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

254 of 258 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TZ series gets a viewfinder, good travel camera, 10 Mar 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ60EB-K Compact Digital Camera - Black (18.1MP, 30x Optical Zoom, High Sensitivity MOS Sensor) 3 inch LCD (New for 2014) (Camera)
I've used quite a few of the TZ models and other maker's compact zooms over the years. So was quite keen to try this new TZ mostly because it adds something all the others lacked, a viewfinder (electronic)

Now it's here it is welcomed, there were times just using a rear LCD in harsh light wasn't ideal.
My quick fire pros and cons list

Pros:
+ First TZ with a viewfinder built in, it's a 0.20" 200,000 dot EVF. Nothing amazing either size or resolution wise, but useful to have in tricky lighting
+ Decent quality 30x 24-720mm (equivalent 35mm) zoom lens. Lens speed is f3.3- f6.4 which is ok for normal use, take note for low light shooting though
+ Build quality is respectable feels solid enough (though previous TZ's were a bit better here)
+ Good image quality from the camera which uses a 1/2.3 sensor. Also you can shoot raw too (don't expect big sensor IQ though)
+ Built-in Wi-Fi & GPS, GPS locking was quite quick and I had no problems in actual field use
+ Does a fairly decent macro/close up min focus of 3cm
+ Manual controls including Program, Aperture/Shutter priority and lots of scene modes as well as custom settings that can be stored on the main control dial
+ Good performance from the AF which has an assist light which comes on in low light, AF is generally quite fast and locks on reliably, video AF holds focus well even when zooming in and out which is nice to see, video quality is pretty good too
+ OIS lens stabilisation works well around 3 stops or so maybe a touch more
+ Metering performed well in a variety of situations from low light to harsh contrasty lighting, quite consistent and predictable
+ Long exposures possible up to 15 or 30 seconds (with the Starry Sky mode) handy for night scene tripod shooters
+ Has a focus peaking mode (for manual focus) and focus magnify using the ring at the base of the lens, but this is quite slow responding to turns (focus by wire) Focus ring can also be customised for other functions
+ Easy to use, logical control layout, and menu system
+ Has some faster burst modes for action shooting, I don't really use these much on cameras like the TZ60 up to 10fps you can get maybe useful for catching kids playing. Raw does slow the camera and burst rate down though (worth picking up a decent speed card)
+ LCD is sharp and clear even in most lighting conditions, nice 920K dot resolution

Cons:
- Live view finder (EVF) has no sensor so you have to switch between the LCD and EVF with a button (bit of a shame)
- Lens is quite good across the range but drops off a touch at the top telephoto level (still quite usable though) Corners are ok but could be a bit sharper at full wide angle
- Battery life is around 250 shots real world sometimes a tad more, GPS will drain the battery more, worth getting a spare for holiday/travelling
- Low light performance is average for a compact with a non fast lens and this sensor size, above ISO 1600 too much quality is lost, pretty much in line with offerings from various makers here. You can get ok smaller prints at ISO 1600 but stick to 800 or below, ideally ISO 400 max
- Small built in memory (12MB), not really a big deal as cards are so cheap now, but as memory is so inexpensive you wonder why makers don't put a bit more in camera (say 256MB) to get you out of trouble in a pinch
- No touch-screen controls, doesn't bother me much but there are times "touch to focus" or quick settings via the LCD could be useful. With no sensor for the EVF I suspect that's one reason
- I felt the grip was ok but the TZ 40 had a larger one (personal taste on this)
- Dynamic range pretty good for a compact, but not up to the Fuji models I've tried
- Not the best place for a built in flash, you have to be careful you don't cover it with your fingers
- You have to charge the battery in camera via USB, not a huge deal if you travel but would be nice to have a wall charger AND the choice to charge in camera

As per usual with Panasonic you get a ton of scene modes and filters to play with, quite a bit of customisation of the camera too.
Compared to the TZ40 you lose the touch screen controls, but gain a 30x zoom v a 20x zoom on that model. You also get raw and the built in EVF on the TZ60. It's a shame the EVF isn't a bit better usable but could be bigger and higher resolution.

It's a toss up what you prefer, I'm glad Panasonic added the EVF it's a step in the right direction, even though you have to use the button to switch between the screen, it's not that big or high res it's usable with decent refresh rates.
The TZ range has been around for a while and I've used most of the models over the years, this is a decent step up in some respects, but as with all smaller sensor cameras there is no comparison between a small sensor with 18mp and a much bigger sensor, as long as you trim your expectations you'll be happy enough with the camera.

Hard to say if TZ40 users should update (in some ways this is an update, in others a step back ie non touch), if you're happy enough with the 20x zoom (which is probably good enough for most) then stick with that model, if you're looking for a new super-zoom to take on holiday the Panasonic will serve you well as a travel camera.

Image quality is quite good, but not outstanding. Smearing is evident once you hit ISO 400, not enough to ruin your prints but with the mottled watercolour effect quite obvious (raw can help here). Some CA is present in harsh contrast at the edges, not unusual by any means. Sharpness falls off a bit at the longer end of the zoom. As long as you don't pixel peep and keep the ISO levels down where possible (OIS works very well) you should be happy with this.

Overall 4 stars from me, 5 indicates near perfection and few cameras are worthy of that. The TZ-60 packs quite a lot into a compact package, with some compromises, but the majority of users will be quite happy with the camera. A nice camera and worth checking out, but do look around at alternatives esp if you don't need such a big zoom range, some of the premium compacts with faster lenses and larger sensors ultimately do have better image quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great camera, 23 May 2014
By 
This review is from: Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ60EB-K Compact Digital Camera - Black (18.1MP, 30x Optical Zoom, High Sensitivity MOS Sensor) 3 inch LCD (New for 2014) (Camera)
I'm.just an ordinary lady who wanted a point and shoot camera that has a good zoom facility and one where I can see what I am shooting at even in strong sunlight and for me, this ticks all the boxes. I bought it just before a trip to Majorca, and even though I selected this camera partly because it has a viewfinder, I only used that once as the screen display is visible even in strong sunlight. It is small enough to slip into my handbag and carry all day without feeling the weight, unlike various SLR cameras, and produces very good results.

I particularly like the ability to take video without having to faff about with the settings (it has a dedicated button next to the ordinary shutter release, but not so near that the two can get confused), and the panorama setting is a great feature.

The zoom is excellent, and although it doesn't shout about anti shake, I was able to walk and talk whilst taking videos without any loss of picture quality even on moderate zoom.

The controls are very iintuitive and I was able to use it very effectively without having to wade through the manual first, a great bonus for impatient or busy people.

All things considered, I find it to be a great little camera and although I thought twice about spending that amount of money on a camera, I am very pleased that I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First impressions are good, 7 Jun 2014
By 
L. R. Findlay (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ60EB-K Compact Digital Camera - Black (18.1MP, 30x Optical Zoom, High Sensitivity MOS Sensor) 3 inch LCD (New for 2014) (Camera)
This feels like a solid well made camera. The menus are easy to navigate and largely produce the results you would expect. I have tried shooting in all modes and although I have only checked the results on screen they appear very good and I have no reason to believe that printed pictures would not be up to the standard claimed. I like being able to shoot in RAW format if required although the codec for the Panasonic format seems to be hard to come by as far as the popular image editing tools is concerned. The electronic viewfinder is very useful for framing some shots even at the low resolution available. The wifi set up to link to my phone was easy and works well.

Why not 5 stars then? I don't like having to charge the battery in camera, The location of the flash means that stray fat fingers can sometimes obscure it and the location of the video button beside the on/off switch means that I have recorded a few unintended movie files. These are minor irritations however on what so far looks like a very worthwhile camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourable first impression!, 14 Mar 2014
By 
Paul Madge (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ60EB-K Compact Digital Camera - Black (18.1MP, 30x Optical Zoom, High Sensitivity MOS Sensor) 3 inch LCD (New for 2014) (Camera)
I have just got my TZ60 having had both a TZ40 and TZ30 before that. These are my first impressions of this new camera and I will add to this review as I get to know it better but for those who might be considering one now here are my early thoughts -

Pros

- Picture quality is good in the context of a pocket travel camera in reasonable light conditions and at lower ISOs (eg. below 800).
- Auto focus seems quick especially in better light and at lower zoom lengths.
- The TZ60 shoots in RAW (the TZ40 didn't) as well as JPEG.
- Video quality is good plus you can zoom during shooting - video can be shot in HD 1080 P or I.
- The TZ60 looks and feels like an enthusiast camera with its lens control ring and an electronic viewfinder featuring dioptre adjustment.
- Effective ergonomics - it's easy to hold, operate and the menu system and controls are well designed.
- Good quality LCD display which is readable even in quite sunny light.
- Lots of manual options as well as an effective auto mode with many pre-programmed scene modes and filters plus HDR etc.
- The 30X zoom brings things closer, although, it doesn't seem 1/3 more powerful than the TZ40, but image stabilisation is good even at 30x zoom and I understand the system has been developed further since the TZ40.
- The GPS seems quicker to find a fix plus WiFi and NFC work well and have been refined a bit since the TZ40.
- Burst mode seems fast.
- Battery life is good at around 250-300 shots. (See the "con" below about charging though).

Cons

- Because of the small sensor, in reduced light and at higher ISO settings pictures can get noisy, but show me a comparable camera where this isn't true. The sensor is, I believe, the same as in the TZ40.
- The TZ60 has no touch screen facility like the TZ40 - this is something you might miss if you're used to it.
- You have to manually switch between the LCD display and electronic viewfinder - there's no automatic sensor.
- The electronic viewfinder is very usable and nice to have, but resolution could be higher. The practical implication of this is that a picture might appear in focus through the viewfinder but put it on your computer and you could be disappointed. However, bear in mind most cameras of this type don't have a viewfinder facility at all.
- The TZ60 is slightly bulkier than the TZ40 but not significantly so.
- Battery charging can only take place in camera as there's no external charger - the camera can't be used during charging.

Finally, although, it's not strictly about the camera itself ....

- Panasonic and other camera makers should learn to get a matching case out at the same time as a new camera is launched - I have a friend who won't buy a new camera unless a case is available.

In summary, this is a well designed and equipped travel camera. The TZ60 will deliver very reasonable results under a wide range of conditions and satisfy most people. Because it is effectively a "Jack of Many Trades" there are some compromises, primarily, in the area of low light performance and related picture noise levels, but, as I've said, this issue only becomes intrusive in fairly low light and at higher ISO settings. Overall, this camera is a crowd pleaser, well made, straightforward to use with many options available and capable of delivering some nice results - I like it a lot. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Many Reasons to switch from a Smartphone, 24 Jun 2014
By 
Jack Percival (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ60EB-K Compact Digital Camera - Black (18.1MP, 30x Optical Zoom, High Sensitivity MOS Sensor) 3 inch LCD (New for 2014) (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having not updated my point and shoot camera for more than 5 years, I was excited to get my hands on this Panasonic and see how'd the genre had moved on. So, camera in hand (or should I say pocket) I headed out catch some action and hopefully some great shots.

First impressions of the camera were that it had a good look and solid build - it didn't feel like it was going to fall apart anytime soon but that also made it a little bulky and heavy - certainly if you're comparing it to one of the camera phones that now seem to dominate basic photography. The bulk however is required to enclose the cameras party trick - a 30x zoom lens that comes shooting out the front.

This zoom lens is a real treat - especially for those used to only the digital zoom available on more basic cameras. When coupled with the image stabilisation and high resolution capture this leads to good pictures of things you wouldn't usually be able to capture. The actual taking of photos is also aided by a viewfinder, useful when you can see the screen and well placed buttons including a ring on the front which, depending on the mode, can control a number of different aspects of shooting.

As expected, where the camera has really developed since the last I owned is with the non core features - the extras that are nice to have but by no means necessary. This particular version brings WiFi, that not only allows you to upload you photos directly to a personal device but also to control the camera remotely from your smartphone for those trickier shots.

But what about the all important image quality? I can't complain generally and that's what you'd expect from sensor and lens combination as good as this one. As with many of this type of camera however it suffers in low light conditions, especially in auto mode where the wrong combination of settings chosen by the camera often resulted in some dark or underexposed shots. In good light however colours are well produced as is both light and shade.

Overall, this is an excellent portable camera with the ability to capture great shots as well as some good extra features. While there are a few niggles around the edges this should distract from what is a complete package and comes highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb enhancement to the range, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ60EB-K Compact Digital Camera - Black (18.1MP, 30x Optical Zoom, High Sensitivity MOS Sensor) 3 inch LCD (New for 2014) (Camera)
I have the TZ30, which I thought was good. But this is an excellent step up. The viewfinder gives you that extra option in bright sunlight (we took the camera to Dubai as a test) and the extra zoom is well worth it.

Of course it has all the normal TZ features - so you won't go wrong with whatever you decide.

Alan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent zoom in a small camera plus excellent movie spec, 12 April 2014
By 
R. F. Jukes (Sutton, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ60EB-K Compact Digital Camera - Black (18.1MP, 30x Optical Zoom, High Sensitivity MOS Sensor) 3 inch LCD (New for 2014) (Camera)
I'll start by saying a little about the LF1 (the sister camera to the TZ60) that I bought last July. The 2 cameras have very similar design parameters but with one major difference i.e. the decision to give the TZ60 a large optical zoom (30x compared to the 7X for the LF1). That decision accounts for almost all the differences between the 2 cameras.

I bought the LF1 "off-plan" because it had a bigger sensor, a wide F2 lens and above all a viewfinder all in a body that was almost too small - fitting easily into a shirt pocket but a bit fiddly to use (and I have small hands). The viewfinder is also rather fiddly but if you accept that its' only purpose is to allow you to take a sensible picture when the LCD screen is swamped by light then quite invaluable. I have used the LF1 extensively and have been very pleased with it. It has only 2 weaknesses. The first is a tendency to burn out highlights in really extreme conditions (largely cured by using an EV of -1/3 with the P mode as standard). The second is the movie spec which is only 1080i. I have taken to using the MP4 option which gives full HD at 25p. The results are more than good enough for my purposes.

The laws of physics seem to mean that the 30x zoom of the TZ60 enforces the following differences to the LF1:-

- The camera is bulkier say around 1 cm bigger in each dimension. This is less fiddly and an Improvement.
- The sensor has to be smaller but the results are still excellent.
- The lens has a maximum aperture of F3.3. A pity.

Both cameras share the same viewfinder (good) and the same tendency to burn out highlights in extreme conditions (not so good but you can live with it by adjusting the EV. The TZ60 is actually a bit worse and I have decided to move the standard EV change to -2/3). Both cameras provide a raw option and I did experiment with the TZ60 to see if things were any better with that. No change with the burn out but the raw is noticeably sharper. Presumably the jpeg algorithm is smearing things a bit too much.

Both cameras have various communication options like NFC that don't interest me so I can't comment on them. The TZ60 adds GPS but I'm not interested in that either so again can't comment.

One major advance in the TZ60 is that the movie spec has gone up to 1080p with AVCHD. Not yet used it and I doubt whether the results will be noticeably better than the MP4 results which have been excellent when viewed off a blu-ray on a 40 inch TV. But maybe people with more demanding requirements will like this higher spec.

In the end you pays your money and ... The LF1 is more of an enthusiast's camera and nearly 100 cheaper. But that 30X zoom and the better movie spec are very attractive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little camera, 18 Jun 2014
This review is from: Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ60EB-K Compact Digital Camera - Black (18.1MP, 30x Optical Zoom, High Sensitivity MOS Sensor) 3 inch LCD (New for 2014) (Camera)
Have found this camera to be easy to use even though it has lots of different applications you can select. Not yet had it long enough to explore everything on it, but I really enjoy using it, and have found that you can look through the viewfinder when you cannot see the screen which is useful in full sunlight..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic TZ60 simply a brilliant little camera, 1 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ60EB-K Compact Digital Camera - Black (18.1MP, 30x Optical Zoom, High Sensitivity MOS Sensor) 3 inch LCD (New for 2014) (Camera)
I have been using cameras since we used 35mm film, then came the Digital revolution. I have used loads of digital cameras and still do as a hobby. My latest acquisition is the fabulous Panasonic TZ60 pocket rocket. I have only had mine for a couple of days and so I have limited use of it, but what I would say is the control ring is a fabulous peace of engineering in that you can swap its functions around to your choice, I keep mine set to Exposure setting and I have never used a change of exposure so much. the other plus is the introduction of a electric view finder, that is also a fantastic addition and should be included on ALL compact digital cameras, I have seen it said that the view finder is no good for people that wear spectacles, I wear spectacles and get on with it quite well, if I could make a comment about it at all it would be that it does need to be a bit bigger. All in all a well done to Mr Panasonic and keep up the good work..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great camera, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ60EB-K Compact Digital Camera - Black (18.1MP, 30x Optical Zoom, High Sensitivity MOS Sensor) 3 inch LCD (New for 2014) (Camera)
Bought just two weeks ago and the photos taken have been amazing. Sadly wanting to replace my Canon 50D plus lenses which means carrying so much weight around. Promised the management I'd sell it in exchange!

Rather more sadly had the new camera knocked out out my hand in a Souk in Morocco and it fell to pieces hitting the cobbles. Now sending for repair. (Thank God for SD cards so images still in tact.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews