Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The transitional album
The album sits, somewhat uncomfortably, between the last Tyrannosaurus Rex album, 'Beard of Stars' and the T.Rex rocker 'Electric Warrior'. As such, it is difficult to describe. Certainly the production is far more polished than 'Beard' but, at the same time, many of the tracks are rather sparse and intimate. However, taken on its own merits, rather than in comparison to,...
Published on 6 Sep 2005 by Mr. Peter E. Bauckham

versus
31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shoddy Remaster of Wonderful Album
This is one of my favorite albums of all time. I am Horrified that a key track on this 2004 remaster, Childe (track 4), has several seconds chopped off the beginning of the track. I have the LP and prior CD issues of this album and this CD is the only one that has the truncated intro. This album deserves better treatment than this. Universal should be ashamed.
Published on 18 Nov 2004 by pretty_boy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another must have., 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: T. Rex (Audio CD)
Yet another must have is there no end to the talent. The greatness starts with this album just buy it you know you want too. Ok so I'm a die hard fan...after all it is Bolan!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bolan's creative peak., 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T. Rex [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
On Beard of Stars, Marc Bolan was hitting his creative peak. By the time the self-titled T. Rex album was released, Marc and Tony Visconti had fine-tuned their trademark sound. This album is the perfect combination of pop sensibilities combined with Bolan's unique way of combining bizarre lyrics with wonderful winding melodies. The songs have a somewhat sparse sound that doesn't sound so much like a real band playing. It comes across much more like two or three folks in the studio letting their imaginations run wild. The vocals come from a completely different galaxy...a galaxy in which there were and are no comparisons. Electric Warrior, The Slider, and Tanx are all superb albums. They fared much better in terms of hit songs, sales, and radio airplay. But Beard of Stars and T. Rex are where Bolan's greatest creative talents sprung forth. There has never been another album like T. Rex...and there probably never will be. A perfectly refined collection of audio art. Classic and timeless.

Because I already have several different versions of this album on CD, the real reason I bought the Deluxe Edition was to get the second disc. And that is, of course, the real treat. I've heard the original album thousands of times. But I had not heard many of these home demos, alternate takes, electric dåemos, and previously unreleased tracks. WOW. For me, these are more than worth the price of this double disc set. In addition to the "Children of Rarn Suite" (a brilliant unfinished recording which many have probably never heard), there are seventeen cool tracks. While they are of varying quality, they are nonetheless fascinating and shed new light on Marc when he was truly at his creative peak.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T. Rex [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
Rediscovering a whole, with lots of extras. A great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars T.Rex (Brown Album) 2014 Deluxe version, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T. Rex [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
A nice warm clear version of this great album on CD.
The bonus CD has a clean copy of Marc's Rarn Suite as He recorded as a demo without overdubs.
Some Alt versions from the album and some demos are also included.
Nice liner notes and photos round out this package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars even if like me you purchased the last extended version in 2004, 5 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T. Rex [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
Worth the money, even if like me you purchased the last extended version in 2004, for the additional content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dinosaur trips up, 1 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: T. Rex (Audio CD)
Unfortunately the repackaging of T. Rex now includes these seemingly endless 'alternate versions' which add nothing to the quality of the albums and at best have a curiosity value only - they are, after all, inferior takes of the final cut. What's criminally missing from this package is the fabulous Deep Summer, an instrumental outtake from the 'T. Rex' sessions. If you already own a copy of this album (without the extras), I suggest you forget the `bonus' nonsense and spend your money on obtaining this one song as the T. Rex album is not complete without it (though Bolan obviously thought differently). As to the album itself the production is rather flat compared to the gorgeous tones if its predecessor 'A Beard Of Stars', having neither the classic Tyrannosaurus Rex sound nor the classic T. Rex sound... I don't know what to make of it. It has all the hallmarks of a monstrous carnivore in its death-throes soon to be reborn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T. Rex (Audio CD)
got all t rex albums this is very goo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars T-Rex., 12 May 2009
By 
Mr. G. P. Barnett (Cambs UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: T. Rex (Audio CD)
As a T-rex fan of the 70's, it is interesting to hear some of this more obscure stuff. But still some hidden gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. R. A. Shenton "Ron Shenton" (HERTFORD, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T. Rex [VINYL] (Vinyl)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how great is this, 28 July 2014
By 
Mr. James S. Edmondson (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: T. Rex [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
what a record, what a sound, how great is this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

T. Rex [Deluxe]
T. Rex [Deluxe] by Marc Bolan & T Rex (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews