Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars56
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2008
First of all, I really can't compete with the first review on here, as it's fantastic, but I really want to praise Betty as well!

Although season 2 doesn't have such a strong storyline as season 1, hey, it's still Betty! It's still as funny as ever, Marc and Amanda are still brilliant, whether they're together or off scheming by themselves. There are also some very good and unexpected twists in the story, so stay on your toes or you'll get confused! Although the season finale (what I mean by that is the last few episodes) is a bit disappointing, it's almost virtually impossible to go wrong with a bit of Betty.

Overall, it's a great TV show that has given so many people all over the world the confidence to believe in themselves, and it's thoroughly enjoyable. I highly recommend it!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2011
Oh Betty :) This series has all the bitchiness, backstabbing and bizzareness of the first series, but unlike the first series, all but abandons any lingering believability. If you're a cynical, grounded sort, maybe this isn't for you: the plot twists and turns and jumps about like nobody's business. If you're a fan of escapism, laughs and loveable characters on the other hand, then this is for you.
I must admit, there were a couple of points in the series where I became frustrated with the story, as it seemed to stall. The plot stutters at times, and characters end up playing out the same scenes and conversations all over the place. Then again, [SPOILER ALERT] this reflected the element of Henry and Betty's relationship that was "stuck in a moment", just waiting for the baby to come. That said, where I used to watch episode after episode after episode in one sitting, simply because I couldn't leave it like that, I would find myself leaving days between episodes, something I never did with series 1.
Likewise, a couple of characters seemed to be being really grown and developed early on in the series, but are sidelined once again later on. That said, all the characters are as lovable, funny and well-written as ever.
If you loved the first series, then the second series will only grow this love. I would 100% recommend this series, as long as you're ready to not take it too seriously. It's thoroughly unbelievable, but then again, isn't that why we watch these things: to escape?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 August 2011
Season Two of the excellent television series "Ugly Betty" is a marked improvement on the already brilliant season one- with stronger and better character development and more interesting and twisted storylines.

The show has an great mix of comedy moments and a good dose of drama chucked into the mix- there's also a mingling of touching, emotional moments and some heart-racingly great plotlines- it makes for excellent viewing.

Following on from Season One, "Ugly Betty" continues the story of New York underdog Betty who dreams of being an editor for a magazine. The show centres around her adventures as the "ugly" and "fat" girl at America's top fashion magazine 'Mode', working with shallow, stick-thin, martini sipping socialites and arrogant, womanizing men. The characterisation remains to be great, and there is some great character developments during this season- especially Mark, Amanda and Justin who are audience favourites.

The special effects with this season greatly improve from Season One, the writing standard and development of characters is far greater, and the plot lines are far more unique and exciting than those seen in the previous year's programmes.

With better comedy, improved writing and great storylines, fans of the show are sure to adore this season- and for those who are tempted to mingle with the show, this certainly satisfy those appetites. A great season; a great show; and I highly recommend this boxset.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2009
Watched Season 2 while recuperating from spinal surgery. For the Ugly Betty fan this is fun, colourful, ridiculous but leaves you wanting more. Can't wait for the next series.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2010
When the show first hit our television screens in 2006, I loved it, and still do as a matter of fact.
ABC, the television network in the US, has axed the show due to low ratings, this could be due to the fact that they kept on changing the timeslot of the show, so no-one could really find out which day or time, it was on.
The writing is fantastic, the characters also. Season 4 (the final season) is ending tonight as i write this I look back on all the amazing moments ugly betty has given us, it was the greatest show on TV, and still is in millions of ugly betty fans today (including myself). But fear not, as a brand new show called 'Glee' you might of heard of it seeing as the show has become an international phinominon XD. But this is'nt about glee (which is my favirote show at the moment, apart from doctor who, desperate housewives, gossip girl, murder she wrote, 3rd rock from the sun, the simpsons etc... lol), this is about the fantastic show ugly betty, which I and many other will miss dearly.

We love you betty.
Goodbye :).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2010
I managed to get through this box set in only three days. In this series we see the vulnerable side of Daniel Meade as he falls in love with a super crazy pyromaniac who also happens to be Wilhemina's sister (played with gusto by the wonderful Gabrielle Union). We also see the return of Henry Grubstick (the handsome Christopher Gorham) and an introduction to Betty's new love interest Gio (played by Six Feet Under's Freddy Rodriguez). Wilhemina continues to go to great lengths to get her hands on the ownership of Mode magazine(let's just say it involves an a corpse, some sperm and a hostile womb).Amanda attempts to find her biological father, and Marc finds a man with a lot of love to give. Betty struggles with her loyalties and her ideas of what her future may be. Don't really want to spoil the first episode so i won't tell you about Justin, Hilda and Santos. Betty's father manages to make it back to America with the unexpected help of Wilhemina Slater's father. Great show I truly recommend buying this box set!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
you are either a full-on fan of Ugly Betty; or you just don't get it. Basically each episode on the surface is crazy American people in the fashion mag business, who wear loud clothes and bitch a lot; but look deeper and we find a morality theme. Good, honest people eventually win over against the bitchy, sneaky ones. Betty looks weird, dresses over-the-top, tries too hard to please everyone; but you cannot help loving her...she's so nice, honest and kind. Everyone should have a "Betty" friend!
All the other characters are very strong; even the nasty ones sometimes show their vulnerable side. It's almost like a panto...you hiss at the villains, and cheer on the losers. Give it a try.....you will get hooked!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2009
I was thrilled to receive my copy of Ugly Betty Season Two and I have not been disappointed. The writing is as sharp, witty and ironic as ever with the strong feel good thread of family binding it all together.

I love everything about the series, from the often over-the-top characters to the fantastic attention to detail of the set design. The plot line is unpredictable, holding attention without fail and yet we always know that good will come in the end and family will pull through. And what an ending to the last episode!

It just goes to prove that great entertainment need not always be about doom, gloom and violence. I'm looking forward to season three already!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2009
This is one of my all time favourite TV shows. With moments of high comedy as well of those of sentiment and tenderness this programme makes you laugh and makes you cry. With Wilhemina's one liners and Betty trying to help the well meaning Daniel there are the characters that you love for their goodness and those you appreciate for their deviousness. Yet you are often reminded that all of them have some goodness deep in side them, no matter how well they hide it. Great comedy without being smutty and even better for managing to remain original.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
I am hooked on Ugly Betty so am not going to give a bad review. All the DVDs are great value because there is at least 20 episodes in each series, so plenty of watching. Amazed how many times this hilariously funny series made me cry though, quite shockingly honest in parts, and then totally whacky in others. love the Mexican soap opera running in the background. America Ferrera et al are brilliant in it. love every character.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)