Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, with gothic elements
Lacey Flint (fragile as lace, hard as flint) has left the detective team to join the river police on the Thames – but when she finds a dead young woman in the water, wrapped up in linen, she can’t help but get drawn in to another dark case.

I’m not sure how well this works as a stand-alone, but for anyone following the series, this is another...
Published 9 months ago by Roman Clodia

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost, but not quite, a really good thriller
For some reason, that I can't quite identify, I just didn't like this novel.

Constable Lacey Flint lives in a boat moored in a creek off the Thames, regularly swims in the river, and works on it as part of the Metropolitan Police Marine Unit. As the novel opens she is swimming early one morning, before her shift, and she finds a dead body. Closer inspection...
Published 3 months ago by James Brydon


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, with gothic elements, 8 May 2014
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Dark and Twisted Tide: Lacey Flint Series, Book 4 (Kindle Edition)
Lacey Flint (fragile as lace, hard as flint) has left the detective team to join the river police on the Thames – but when she finds a dead young woman in the water, wrapped up in linen, she can’t help but get drawn in to another dark case.

I’m not sure how well this works as a stand-alone, but for anyone following the series, this is another gripping instalment with a touch of the macabre. Bolton has learned to turn down the more outré elements which are in full display in her first books, and the more subtle sense of morbid, almost gothic elements, works far better for me now.

There are a few believability niggles (Lacey having a fake tan and successfully passing herself off as an Afghani woman... the can they/can’t they of her relationship with the delicious Mark Joesbury... the coincidence which links Lacey, Dana Tulloch, and the criminal case) but as long as you can willingly suspend your disbelief, this is another riveting read that kept me up far too late at night.

(This review is from an ARC courtesy of the publisher)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still going strong.., 8 May 2014
By 
Liz Wilkins "Lizzy11268" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Thank you to the publisher for the advanced reading copy.

Ex-Detective Lacey Flint has quit the police for a safer, quieter life. Or that’s what she thinks.
Living alone on a houseboat, she is trying and failing to get over the man she loves, undercover Detective Mark Joesbury. But Mark is missing in action and impossible to forget. And danger won’t leave Lacey alone…
When she finds a body floating in the river, wrapped in white burial cloths, she can’t resist asking questions. Who is this woman and why was she hidden in the fast-flowing depths?
And who has been delivering unwanted gifts to Lacey?

So here we are at Book 4 in the Lacey Flint series from Sharon Bolton (where does the time go? Hey not complaining, if I could have book 5 now I would..along with books 6 and 7…well you get the point) and after the events in Like This For Ever, Lacey has left the team and joined the River Police hoping for a quieter, less dramatic life. Yes well..it sounded like a good idea at the time. After she discovers a body on one of her morning swims, she again becomes caught up in an investigation that will put her once more into the danger zone.

There are a few reasons why I love this series. Lacey Flint is a tremendously well drawn character with huge depth to her – and the fact that we are on Book 4 and you feel like you have only just scratched the surface is one of the things that keeps you reading and always hanging on for more. Lacey is not even my favourite – you have the enigmatic Mark Joesbury always somewhere in her life, their ongoing and developing relationship is compelling. Then there is Dana, who is perhaps my most loved character – and again there is a lot more to learn about her.

The mystery elements of the stories are always top notch, wonderful twisty turny tales with a poetic, haunting feeling that stays with you long after the book is finished. A trademark of Ms Bolton for me is that I always kind of feel like I’m reading a ghost story…there is a dark and twisted side to these indeed.

In this particular instalment I was fascinated by the backdrop of the River Thames – and Lacey’s relationship with it – strange and unknown in a lot of ways, the descriptive and eerie prose that tells you that you are indeed reading a Sharon Bolton book is perfectly applied here. The river holds hidden secrets, uncharted territory and the events that take place within its confines are truly memorable.

So all in all another terrific read from this author. No doubt about it, some of the top crime fiction available right now – especially if you like a portentous twist.

Happy Reading Folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a joy to read, 8 May 2014
By 
Christine M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Dark and Twisted Tide: Lacey Flint Series, Book 4 (Kindle Edition)
It is that time of year, when you jump up and down with excitement at the thought of a brand new Sharon Bolton book to read. She is one of my favourite authors.

We find Lacey Flint, having moved to the river police and spending a great deal of time by and in the river Thames. Lacey even lives on a river boat. Suddenly she finds a body, wrapped in a burial cloth in the river. It is not exactly the peaceful, quiet life Lacey wanted. Her beloved, Joesbury is rather busy with his undercover work. Lacey finds herself at the centre of a murder investigation.

Bolton has done it again, creating an exceptional and chilling crime read, with the rather dirty, polluted setting of the Thames. I shuddered, as I read about people swimming in there and how much lurking nasty bacteria they must come into contact with. Yuck! The river Thames is a pretty great setting for murder, very appropriate and atmospheric. Chilling and spooky.

Lacey is such a great character, with a complex history that we find out more about, in each story. She is completely mad, swimming in the river and getting herself into danger. There is a great deal to admire about her. As a reader, you just cheer for her and roll your eyes at her antics.

It was good to see the lovely Joesbury, Dana and the mysterious prisoner again. They are all so central now to the series.

Totally recommended. It is one of those books you just want to savour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost, but not quite, a really good thriller, 23 Nov. 2014
This review is from: A Dark and Twisted Tide: Lacey Flint Series, Book 4 (Kindle Edition)
For some reason, that I can't quite identify, I just didn't like this novel.

Constable Lacey Flint lives in a boat moored in a creek off the Thames, regularly swims in the river, and works on it as part of the Metropolitan Police Marine Unit. As the novel opens she is swimming early one morning, before her shift, and she finds a dead body. Closer inspection shows that it had been wrapped in a shroud and tied to a pier joist. It is only later that Lacey realises that it wasn't there when she first set out on her swim, the inference being that the murderer had wanted her to discover it and had, in fact, been following Lacey's own movements.

I think that one of the reasons that I never properly came to terms with the book was that there just seemed to be too much going on. Sub-plots proliferate, but rather than adding depth and verisimilitude to the main story I found that they just clogged up proceedings. To be fair, the book seemed well-written, and gripped my attention. I just felt slightly disappointed that such a heady mix of plot ingredients and feisty characters never quite gelled into a cohesive book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Be prepared for a bit of a disappointment., 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dark and Twisted Tide: Lacey Flint Series, Book 4 (Kindle Edition)
Oh dear - what a let down. I've read all of this series and Lacey Flint is now getting tired and laborious. The thread running through the series of her relationship with both her boss and her love interest have started to grate on the nerves. Such a shame from an author I've previously enjoyed. I struggled to finish this. I understand about filling in the background of characters and building their profile, but this latest story is filled with large sections of barely believable coincidence and yawn inducing filler.
Please, please, please, return to your format of interesting and exciting page turners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Creative writing, a story that grips your attention and brings shivers in your imagination., 5 Feb. 2015
By 
Richard Latham (Burton on Trent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dark and Twisted Tide: Lacey Flint Series, Book 4 (Kindle Edition)
I have grown to respect and appreciate the writing of Sharon Bolton over the past 12 months, having this book a while waiting to enjoy. It is the 4th major outing for Lacey Flint; this series gets stronger, and has a plot worthy of Bolton's police team and the dark brooding character that is the River Thames.
Lacey has left CID, returned to uniform, and is working with the river police. She is looking for a easier time having endured 3 terrible cases, however, fate, or rather the author's terrific writing, brings new dangers and threats to the former detective.
Lacey is a flawed character in many regards but a honest police officer; her sense of values are brought into question when her on/off boyfriend goes rogue undercover. She seems short of friends and people to confide in and the book brilliantly brings aspects of her early life into tension. As readers we are worried that she will be unmasked and run away from herself, revert to a person we couldn't love and route for. The truth is Lacey Flint is a wonderfully drawn character and the reader can't help but warm to her. She makes the book and is fundamental to one's enjoyment of the novel. The writing is fleshed out by some clever character development within the supporting cast.
I love the role of the river; the ability to please, provide leisure opportunities. It is also a maze of unseen and forgotten locations with strong currents and the potential to take life.
Into this mix, add illegal people trafficing and a serial killer dumping bodies; Lucy is in the wrong place at the wrong time; or is someone trying to tell her something others can't see.
Living on a houseboat she has it all on her doorstep; but when others can move on the river by stealth maybe she is in danger again, someone is certainly watching and having an unhealthy interest in her.
Great plot; well constructed chronology in the telling of the story, with intriging flashbacks to how the crimes take focus.
Creative writing, a story that grips your attention and brings shivers in your imagination of these dark events. This is another of her books that will scare and unsettle you, while leaving you breathless as you race to its thrilling conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best Lacey Flint book to date, 15 Oct. 2014
I received a copy of this book from the publishers and this is my honest opinion of the book.

Having still to come to terms with what happened to her in the last year or so Lacey Flint has said goodbye to her beloved CID and taken a job back in uniform with the Marine Unit. Having moved out of her flat and into a houseboat she has bought from her next door neighbour, she has taken to life on and in the water. She regularly goes swimming in the Thames with her neighbour, Ray. But even this simpler life cannot hide Lacey from murder. On one morning, whilst swimming alone she comes across a body and is soon drawn into another dark murder hunt.

Having read the first three books in the Lacey Flint series back to back I had no choice but to dive right into this one, the latest instalment from Sharon Bolton. And dive straight in I did. Having picked up the book it seemed like no time had passed but I soon found myself half way through this gripping read.

Again this has all I have come to expect from a Sharon Bolton book. It is dark, with an underlying sense of foreboding that one wants with a gritty murder mystery. The characters I have come to love are all present and correct, with the story focussing more on Dana Tulloch in this novel, showing more of her personal side and developing her as a character. This is something I personally enjoy as a lead character can only be enhanced by a great surrounding cast.

Lacey has changed in some respects. She is not as gung-ho as she may have perhaps been before, but this would be an accurate representation of how she deals with the horrors of her past. She still goes off on her own investigations but also shows more reliance on others, her friend Ray for example. In fact she seems to be allowing some of the wall she has built around herself to crumble, making friends being one aspect of this. She has also come to accept her feelings for Mark Joesbury and be willing to give into to those feelings. Which would be wonderful except he has gone missing, and with a cloud over his head. Whilst dealing with this she also has to accept that someone is stalking her, wanting her find the bodies that are appearing from the river, and has to deal again with the fact that she is being drawn into danger.

In my opinion this is the best Lacey Flint book to date. It has it all, a great host of characters, a fascinating and enthralling storyline and enough red herrings and twists that are necessary to make a good thriller. I'm left feeling a little bereft that I now have to wait for the next in the series and can only hope that wait is short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wet an intriguing yarn!, 5 Aug. 2014
By 
WTF! Hard-as-nails Det Lacey Flint is turning into a wuss. Wetsuit and Dettol mouth-rinse to swim in the Thames? This reviewer grew up doing the doggy paddle in the filth-strewn river and rarely suffered more than a cut foot from the broken beer glasses and rusty hooks lobbed in by drunken fishing parties.

Mind you, corpses didn’t come bobbing up on the tide like they do for Lacey in this, her fourth outing. After the scary scrapes of earlier books she’s decided to ditch detective work, buy a houseboat and join the Met’s Marine Unit. Naturally, a bracing early-morning swim sees her bumping into the half-wrapped, half-eaten body of a young woman and before you know it she’s back to detecting again.

Needless to say, there’s a loon on the loose in London’s waterways with a spectacularly nasty way with young women and the way they’d rather they looked. Meanwhile, Lacey is attracting the close interest of someone unseen, whose soliloquies splashed through the book muddy waters for those itching to solve the puzzle.

Flowing through this excellent effort, which is up there with the author formerly known as S.J. Bolton’s best, are the tensions with her heart-throb Mark Joesbury, now a special ops tec, and her lesbian ex-boss Dana Tulloch, who are deftly brought into play with fine dialogue.

And all along we still can never quite get a handle on Lacey herself, meaning there’s plenty more to come for fans of this intriguing, and maybe just a bit unhinged, crime series character.

First rate. So why only 4 stars and not 5? Well, I’m sorry Shazza but anyone who sets a story in the ancient byways and waterways of London, its great Victorian works built with lasting precision at a time when such engineering ruled the planet, and then uses the mad revolutionary French system to measure them automatically loses a point. Deptford Creek was, and still is, about 20ft deep, not seven metres, should you want to swim in it...with or without a wetsuit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and twisted indeed!, 11 July 2014
By 
EssexReader (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Sharon Bolton is fast becoming one of my favourite crime writers. The Lacy Flint series goes from strength to strength with each story becoming darker and the tension sometimes unbearable. In particular, one of the things I love about this author is her ability to set the scene and describe it so perfectly that you can visualise yourself as a bystander. Part of this story involves the traversing of tunnels and drains and it feel so realistically claustrophobic.

Not for the first time in this series the River Thames features heavily and provides the perfect backdrop to the story. Not only has Lacey has moved onto a houseboat on the Thames but she has given up her previous role with the Met police and joined the Marine Unit intending to have a quieter life. However someone has other plans for Lacey and soon she finds herself in the middle of a murder investigation and yet again facing danger.

The first corpse surfaces whilst Lacey is wild swimming in the Thames - her new morning ritual and not to be recommended! It appears that someone knows her routine and she soon realises that the body was deliberately left for her to find. She finds herself caught up in a story involving missing women and people trafficking and when further bodies are found she is sure that the same killer is responsible, however she has a battle on her hands to persuade her superiors and once again Lacey, regarded as something of a loose cannon, has to prove her case.

Lacey Flint has to be one of the most complex fictional detectives I have come across. She still remains an enigma but in this outing, the layers are being very slowly peeled away and we learn just a little more about her past. Her on/off relationship with fellow detective Mark Joesbury is ongoing, however he is currently working undercover and having to face problems of his own.

In this story, Lacey joins forces with her former boss Dana Tulloch and the two women have to put aside their differences and pull together to find a killer. Dana's personal life with her partner Helen feature heavily in this story which for me made her seem a little more human.

There were parts of the book that made me squirm - particularly the Litten crabs - urrgh those crabs...and then the rats! There are some sinister but very interesting characters featured and at one stage I thought I had the killer sussed but yet again, I was wrong!

This is another brilliant dark and perfectly plotted twisty read from Sharon Bolton and definitely one I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crime novel perfection, 17 July 2014
By 
T. S. Waddington (Northampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dark and Twisted Tide: Lacey Flint Series, Book 4 (Kindle Edition)
Sharon Bolton has nailed the genre with the Lacey Flint books. I love the geographical details in all the stories particularly the descriptions of Deptford creek which made me want to sign up for a guided walk. Her characters are believable and engaging and so far she has been able to red herring me away from guessing whodunnit in each of the books. My only gripe is the rather hard to swallow unconsumated passion between Mark and Lacey. Lets hope she will allow them some time off together before the next spate of bizarre murders absorbs their attention. Top marks Sharon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews