Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is NOT the edited DVD with talking and cuts
This is NOT the shortened DVD release with talking and editing - This is the full and complete show (91 minutes) in pristine quality. We have been waiting for this now for quite a long time. Now I can finally throw away my old VHS. Thanks - and of course 5 stars +

The Beacon 1992 show just our on CD is as good as you can ever imagine.
Published 10 months ago by Mogens Helweg

versus
10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is it the full show?
Years ago I saw the "Live at Great Woods" show on a "converted to UK" copy of the original US release. It was all music with no "talking heads". When I saw "Live at Great Woods" for sale on dvd a few years ago, I thought that I had struck lucky. I bought it, took it home, and popped it into the dvd player, forwarding it to "In Memory of...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. Stephen Pickles


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is NOT the edited DVD with talking and cuts, 27 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Allman Brothers Band: Live At Great Woods [DVD] (DVD)
This is NOT the shortened DVD release with talking and editing - This is the full and complete show (91 minutes) in pristine quality. We have been waiting for this now for quite a long time. Now I can finally throw away my old VHS. Thanks - and of course 5 stars +

The Beacon 1992 show just our on CD is as good as you can ever imagine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Long-Awaited Version, 15 May 2014
By 
Phil B (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Allman Brothers Band: Live At Great Woods [DVD] (DVD)
Previously-issued versions of this DVD were shortened and the music was interrupted by interviews. Finally they have released the original longform video version of the concert, which was previously only available on VHS and Laserdisc. I watched it for the first time last night, and it is great.

There still seems to be a lot of confusion about the length of this DVD. Amazon says it is 55 minutes; the cover notes say 80 minutes (approx.); amazingly, both are incorrect. I checked the length when I watched it last night, and can confirm that the concert footage runs for exactly 90 minutes (Perfect!). I can also confirm that there are no interruptions whatsoever to the concert footage.

This is a great concert. Filmed in Massachusetts in 1991 in front of 20,000 fans (who seem to be nearly all men for some reason!), this concert was originally recorded for Japanese TV. It features one of the great line-ups of the Allman Brothers Band, with both Dickie Betts and Warren Haynes on lead guitars. Warren is also a great asset because of his vocals, particularly when he teams up with Greg, as their voices blend together so well. The line-up also includes Marc Quinones on percussion, and he was a tremendous addition to the band. One of the great things about this video is that it is nice to watch the Allmans playing so many of Dickie Betts' songs.

This is turning out to be a good year for Allmans fans, with this release as well as the '40th Anniversary Concert', which I haven't seen yet. Finally, I would just stress the caveat that others have made. Be sure you order the 2014 issue (with the blue and white date sticker on the front), because older versions of this DVD are inferior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 2 April 2014
This review is from: The Allman Brothers Band: Live At Great Woods [DVD] (DVD)
The full version on DVD at last! I've had this concert for years on Laser Disc but that machine can't last forever and the DVD is superior anyway so was an essential purchase. The picture, although dark at times (as it always has been) is easily better than on LD and the sound is also excellent. There are some fabulous guitar pieces from Warren Haynes (Govt Mule and Warren Haynes Band) as well as good old Dickey Betts plus one of the most entertaining drum solos - it's actually a drum trio some of the time with two sets of drums from Butch Trucks and Jaimoe plus Marc Quinoñes on the congas etc. The late Allen Woody, who looks a complete heap but who cares, plays a spirited bass and Greg Allman is his usual under-stated laid-back self on keyboards and vocals. If you like southern guitar-based rock then buy this now. Be careful not to order the older DVD version as that is severely mutilated and what's left is wrecked even more by interviews, sometimes mid song. Watch with the lights down to minimise the sometimes dark picture and crank up the volume! Oh, and buy the Beacon Theater concert from 2003 as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 2/3 of Gov't Mule + Dickey Betts, 4 Jun 2014
By 
Isy Haiat "Isy" (Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Allman Brothers Band: Live At Great Woods [DVD] (DVD)
Great show
Warren Haynes + Alan Woody at their pre Gov't mule era
Great tracks, mainly the acoustic set
Warren played more strats than LP :)
good stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Allman Brothers Band - Live At Great Woods (2014 DVD), 17 May 2014
This review is from: The Allman Brothers Band: Live At Great Woods [DVD] (DVD)
This is a spectaclar concert with the band in fine form. I had this on VHS years ago. I had hoped the audio would have been better and include a 5.1 mix however it does not, in fact it is only 48 kHz.
The picture is greatly improved compared to the VHS version with the stage view far superior and a lot sharper.
What impresses me with this concert is how well Dicky Betts plays, the guys loving being there and is on the top of his game. This is at a time when the band had re-emerged in the late 1980s with a lot of enthusiasm and a lot of new songs.
The song selection is also well thought out with old and new songs all played brilliantly.
Its just a real shame they didn't improve the audio on this, another reviewer commented the lack of bass, I must agree the bass is not blasting through my JBL speaker system as I was hoping.

Great concert, a good document of the band in peak form in 1991.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is it the full show?, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Pickles (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Allman Brothers Band: Live At Great Woods [DVD] (DVD)
Years ago I saw the "Live at Great Woods" show on a "converted to UK" copy of the original US release. It was all music with no "talking heads". When I saw "Live at Great Woods" for sale on dvd a few years ago, I thought that I had struck lucky. I bought it, took it home, and popped it into the dvd player, forwarding it to "In Memory of Elizabeth Reed". Shock horror, it was edited and, at one point, cut to Dickey Betts talking about the song. This sort of thing happened time and again. And certain tracks from the original video just weren't there. I checked the running times and discovered that the 55 minutes running time was considerably shorter than that of the original video. So a rock/jazz band renowned for lengthy improvisation had been trimmed and edited to fit into a sub 1 hour format, and some interviews had been shuffled in amongst what was left. Why the interviews could not have been a bonus feature on the dvd, I have no idea.
Don't buy this shortened dvd - it will drive you nuts with frustration! Instead, seek out the US video ( from the Allman Brothers own website) and find a way of viewing/converting it so that you can see the FULL concert without mindless editing and irritating interruptions.
Shame on Sony for putting out this travesty that is an insult to ABB fans AGAIN!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUST THE PEACH, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Allman Brothers Band: Live At Great Woods [DVD] (DVD)
I TRULY BELIEVE ON A FRIDAY NIGHT ON ONE SIDE OF TOWN....SUPERMARKET MANAGERS ARE IN MEETINGS THINKING ......HOW CAN WE REALLY PISS PEOPLE OFF !!! I KNOW THEY SAY...LETS MOVE EVERYTHING AROUND SO NO ONE CAN FIND OUR PRODUCTS ANY MORE...AND ON THE OTHER SIDE OF TOWN SOME SANDLE WEARING TREE HUGGER BUNCH OF IDIOTS ARE IN TOWN COUNCIL MEETINGS SAYING...HOW CAN WE REALLY PISS PEOPLE OFF....I KNOW THEY SAY...LETS PUT SPEED HUMPS IN ALL OF THE ROADS AND SLOW EVERYONE DOWN....THAT WILL REALLY PISS PEOPLE OFF....THEN WE GET TO THE BUNCH IDIOTS THAT RUN SONY MUSIC....AND THE DOPPY IDIOT WHO RUBBER STAMPED THE APPROVAL OF THE ORIGINAL ALLMAN BROTHERS GREAT WOODS DVD. SO MANY PEOPLE IN THE MUSIC BUSINESS THAT KNOW ACTUALLY NOTHING ABOUT MUSIC....HOW CAN THEY PISS US OFF...WELL FIRST.... LETS PUT OUT A CONCERT ON VHS...GREAT...THEN LETS TRANSFER IT TO DVD CUT HALF OF IT OUT AND PUT ROBBIE ROBINSON TALKING ALL THE WAY THROUGH IT AND CHARGE US FOR THE PLEASURE...THAT REALLY PISSED US OFF....THEN PUT IT OUT AGAIN ON DVD PROPERLY AND WITHOUT 5.1.......WAKE UP SONY PEOPLE ....DO YOUR JOBS PROPERLY....IF YOU DONT LIKE MUSIC..... GET A JOB ELSE WHERE.....AND YOU SONY PEOPLE....STOP HIRING THEM !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's A Winner, 9 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Allman Brothers Band: Live At Great Woods [DVD] (DVD)
I received a pre release copy of this DVD and am happy to report it is a terrific show. It may be considered that by 1991 the Allman Brothers were all but over creatively but this performance proves otherwise and shows the passion and energy that Greg and the guys still had at this late stage for the tunes that made their name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Allman Brothers Band: Live At Great Woods [DVD]
The Allman Brothers Band: Live At Great Woods [DVD] by Live at Great Woods (DVD - 2014)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews