Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 70 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sentimental but powerfull film
The Butler tells the true story of Cecil Gaines, a young man who runs away from a slave plantation in the 1920's and after a string of odd jobs ends up as a butler in the White House where he serves several American Presidents and witnesses several historic moments while his son gets caught up in the growing civil rights movement. Some superb performances here noteably...
Published 6 months ago by Mr. R. W. Graham

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but it felt like it fell of the cliff at the end.
I am not an expert on the intricacies of Northern American history, native or its subsequent annexation. So I won't dream of critiquing this film on the historical front. I just didn't enjoy it as much as I thought I might. That might be because certain elements didn't feel like they rang true, or that truth is less appealing than a dramatisation, or just that expectation...
Published 17 days ago by D. MALTBY


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 413 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars good, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butler [DVD] (DVD)
good biographical movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butler [DVD] (DVD)
Good emotional rollercoaster _ great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butler [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely Brilliant!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butler [DVD] (DVD)
Very good film and depicts the times of segregation really well. It was interesting to see the different changes under different presidents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting film, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butler [DVD] (DVD)
We really enjoyed this movie, good cast good acting, good story. the make up was very real looking. recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure about it, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butler [DVD] (DVD)
I am not too sure about this film, need to watch it again, to get a full understanding of the story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Butler, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butler [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Nice story but not as gripping or as interesting as I had hoped but still watchable and I like Forest Whitaker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butler [DVD] (DVD)
Well acted, produced, directed and superbly written.
An excellent blend of fact and fiction.
One of the few to watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative Entertainment., 19 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Butler (Blu-ray)
A decent watch that also gives a potted history of US politics and civil rights issues along the way. Forest Whittaker and Oprah Winfrey give stand out performances. I expected the film to be dry and dull given the subject matter but it is far from it and holds your interest through to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories of 'Roots', 19 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. D. Greig Smith (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butler [DVD] (DVD)
Nicely played and with many interesting guest appearances, this charming story is well worth a watch. I loved the way in which it attempted, through the words of Martin Luther King, to heal the rift between father and son: the faithful black retainer and the angry young black activist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 413 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Butler [DVD]
The Butler [DVD] by Lee Daniels (DVD - 2014)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews