Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sentimental but powerfull film
The Butler tells the true story of Cecil Gaines, a young man who runs away from a slave plantation in the 1920's and after a string of odd jobs ends up as a butler in the White House where he serves several American Presidents and witnesses several historic moments while his son gets caught up in the growing civil rights movement. Some superb performances here noteably...
Published 7 months ago by Mr. R. W. Graham

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but it felt like it fell of the cliff at the end.
I am not an expert on the intricacies of Northern American history, native or its subsequent annexation. So I won't dream of critiquing this film on the historical front. I just didn't enjoy it as much as I thought I might. That might be because certain elements didn't feel like they rang true, or that truth is less appealing than a dramatisation, or just that expectation...
Published 1 month ago by D. MALTBY


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 417 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butler [DVD] (DVD)
Good film well acted enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Balance not right The Help and Colour Purple better, 13 July 2014
By 
Ms. A. L. Story (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Butler [DVD] (DVD)
I think at times it was in too much of a rush to tell the story, while other scenes you could do without. It did not get the balance right the Butler's story and the civil rights movement for me, but then the sentiment expressed at the end gives you a warm feeling inside. Oprah Winfrey gave a better performance in The Color purple for me, even though I have always admired her as a person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butler [DVD] (DVD)
My dad loved this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Butler DVD, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butler [DVD] (DVD)
Lovely film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butler [DVD] (DVD)
good biographical movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butler [DVD] (DVD)
Good emotional rollercoaster _ great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butler [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely Brilliant!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butler [DVD] (DVD)
Very good film and depicts the times of segregation really well. It was interesting to see the different changes under different presidents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting film, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butler [DVD] (DVD)
We really enjoyed this movie, good cast good acting, good story. the make up was very real looking. recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure about it, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butler [DVD] (DVD)
I am not too sure about this film, need to watch it again, to get a full understanding of the story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 417 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Butler [DVD]
The Butler [DVD] by Lee Daniels (DVD - 2014)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews