Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early Treasures
Here's something rather special for Joni Mitchell aficionados. An 18-track set
recorded live at The Second Fret club in Philadelphia in 1966, a full two years
before the release of her debut album 'Song To A Seagull'. The concert was
broadcast on Temple University's radio station WRTI on 17/11/66. The sound
quality is surprisingly good and it's...
Published 10 months ago by The Wolf

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lovely songs and singer, shame about the recording quality!
It is really interesting to hear these early recordings, and it is astounding to hear how brilliant her voice was even in her early days. BUT the whole recording has a high pitched whistle on it, so listening to it for 78 minutes leaves a pain in my head! I would not have bought it if I had known about this high pitched whistle, as after playing it once I can't bear to...
Published 10 months ago by T. Bell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early Treasures, 16 April 2014
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Here's something rather special for Joni Mitchell aficionados. An 18-track set
recorded live at The Second Fret club in Philadelphia in 1966, a full two years
before the release of her debut album 'Song To A Seagull'. The concert was
broadcast on Temple University's radio station WRTI on 17/11/66. The sound
quality is surprisingly good and it's enlightening to hear how her material was
shaping up this early on in her musical career. Her voice is, as it always has
been, wonderful and the narrative segues between numbers are delightful.

It's especially interesting to hear the early version of 'Little Green', which did not
appear fully-formed on a recording until its inclusion on 'Blue' in 1972; the melody
and fluidity of the vocal line developed considerably in the intervening years.

Songs such as 'Both Sides Now' and 'The Circle Game', however, appear here
pretty much as we have come to know them on 'Clouds' (1969) and 'Ladies Of The
Canyon' (1970) respectively and it's incredibly poignant to hear the melancholy
'Marcie' from 'Song To A Seagull' sounding so beautifully fresh and as clear as
a bell. If I had to pick one track, however, it would have to be the gorgeous
rendition of 'Michael From Mountains' which is alone worth the price of the album.

'Oh! I wish, I truly wish, I'd been there to see her!

A small treasure.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine live album by a true genius, 29 Jun. 2014
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This is a wonderful live recording of the young Joni Mitchell two full years before the release of her first album. Her songwriting genius and originality are already evident, and her performance is brilliant, with a maturity far greater than one would expect from an artist who has just had her 23rd birthday.

There is a fine variety of material here from songs which have become very well known like Both Sides, Now (beautifully performed) to four which have never been released before. They all show Mitchell's fine musical originality and lyrical brilliance. For example, hearing this fine solo performance of Marcie I was struck again by the exceptional craftsmanship of her poetry with the recurring motif of red and green and the quiet brilliance of couplets like:
"And summer goes,
Falls to the sidewalk like string and brown paper"
with its evocative and original imagery and clever, allusive positioning of the word "fall". It is also deeply poignant to hear her sing the lovely Little Green so soon after giving her daughter up for adoption, now that we know what the song is about. The album is full of such things and she sings with real sincerity and plays magnificently. It's an album of real quality.

The sound is pretty good; it's not studio quality but it's perfectly acceptable and captures the live atmosphere well, and Joni's chat between songs is charming and very interesting in places. I find the whole thing exceptionally good. It's not just an interesting historical document for aficionados, although people of a certain age like me will probably find that their bruised and yearning teenage heart comes pounding back. It's actually a really good live album by one of the greatest singer-songwriters of the last 50 years and I recommend it very warmly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Where has this been for 50 years, it's great and the additional narrative she adds to the songs is of great interest and value. Stand well with all the other albums, hope there's more in the vaults??????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JONI - THE EARLY DAYS, 14 April 2014
By 
D. King "mmm mamie" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A piece of history here - This was recorded before her first album came out and includes the fabulous Little Green a song written about her daughter which she gave up for adoption when she was first starting out - buy this, you won't be sorry !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lovely songs and singer, shame about the recording quality!, 26 April 2014
By 
T. Bell "Picture book lover" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is really interesting to hear these early recordings, and it is astounding to hear how brilliant her voice was even in her early days. BUT the whole recording has a high pitched whistle on it, so listening to it for 78 minutes leaves a pain in my head! I would not have bought it if I had known about this high pitched whistle, as after playing it once I can't bear to listen again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting for a long term fan, 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting for the rarities and sound quality is not great but adequate. Interesting as there is so little old material from Joni Mitchell available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very early insight into what would turn out to be the voice of a generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early window on Joni, 25 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Live at the Second Fret 1966 (MP3 Download)
Interesting curiosity with fairly awful home recording quality. Some songs which never made it into the studio, awkward links. Who would have guessed where she would go?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to hear her early performances
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live at the Second Fret 1966
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews