Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars418
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2012
The Bridge for me surpasses all those dramas which have come before from our Danish/Swedish cousins. I thought The Killing was excellent, I felt Varg Veum was superb but The Bridge takes the veiwer to another level in appreciation for both the production and delivery of a top notch crime drama.
If we could produce drama half as good as this I'd never quibble about my licence fee ever again.
The characters are presented as human and flawed and you become invested in what happens to them, even the unpleasant ones.
Unlike many of our own dramas I found myself experiancing a whole range of emotions as I followed the case to its total 'none Hollywood' conclusion.
Cant wait for series two...........
1010 comments|165 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Øresund Bridge, which moves from Copenhagen in Denmark to Malmö in Sweden, is the longest bridge in Europe. Denmark and Sweden are good neighbors and this friendship can be seen in this concrete bridge.

'The Bridge', a series made for TV by the Danish is quite a production. I have viewed the U.S. Version, and though it was good, the Danish version is spectacular. This ten episode series held me on edge for every episode. The main protagonists, Saga Norén, played by Sofia Helin, is a Detective in the Malmö Police Department, and her counterpoint, Martin Rohde, played by Kim Bodnia, is. Detective in the Copenhagen department. Each if these characters bring a breadth of fresh air, but it is Saga, who is on the Asperger's syndrome, who is the most fun. She tel,s the truth, has not learned the social norms, and marches to her own drummer. She is intelligent, and she is the best detective in Malmö. Her colleagues call her 'odd'. Martin, is slovely dressed man, a little overweight, with a charming grin. married three times with five children by different mothers. Many affairs, it seems, and his current marriage is iffy. These two, however, work very well together. Martin teaches Saga about social skills, Saga teaches Martin how to tell the truth and how to be a good detective. This couple completely different, but good together as detectives. No romance in this series between the two.

A body of a woman is found in the middle of the bridge spanning Denmark and Sweden. Thus both countries have the law involved. The woman is cut in half, the upper half in Sweden, the lower half in Denmark. Thus begins one of the most convoluted series in television. It is mind blowing, so well written and acted, that it us difficult not to continue watching.

The series has ten episodes, each almost an hour long. The scenes of Malmö and Copenhagen are beautiful. The bridge is also beautiful, and it makes a visit to the Oresund Bridge a must see. This is one of the top ten best series for me. A chuckle at times, but tense anxiety the rest.

Highly Recommended. prisrob 08-26-15
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2012
Initially one will think that the early episodes contain a great deal of plot padding with side stories,and their characters,appearing to have no bearing on the central storyline.
However,the disparate threads are slowly drawn together to contribute to the solving of the crime,and the unmasking of the perpetrator in this ultimately tense thriller.
Also,intially one may find the character of Saga Noren(Sofia Helin)somewhat annoying,but gradually one begins to warm to her,and empathise with her personality.
For me Sofia Helin's performance is superb,and at times brings a 'touching' quality to the character of Saga Noren.
One must also compliment Kim Bodnia for his performance as a sometimes exasperated colleague(Martin Rodhe) of Saga.
Comparisons will no doubt be made to the 'Forbrydelsen' series,but for me where 'Broen' scores is in the touches of humour brought by the actions of Saga Noren that were lacking in those of Sarah Lund.
'Broen' is thoroughly recommended.
55 comments|108 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 February 2012
Appealing to nearly 2 million weekly viewers, The Bridge (Swedish - Bron) (Danish - Broen) aired in the autumn of 2011 every Wednesday night at 8pm in Denmark and 9pm in Sweden. Danish network DR screened episodes a week after their Swedish SVT counterparts before the Danes caught up by screening a double episode to conclude on the same night as SVT.
The Bridge is probably best described as a mixture of three recent popular Scandinavian acquisitions on UK television, Wallander, The Killing and Those Who Kill. Considering that all three of these series along with Danish political drama Borgen are all set within an hours journey of each other in the Öresund/Øresund (S/D) region, The Bridge should have something to appeal to fans of all Nordic series.
Unlike the other Danish shows, you won't find many actors from the other programmes here with the exception of the lead male Danish policeman played by Kim Bodnia (guest appearances in The Killing 1 and Those Who Kill) and a very brief appearance by Nicolaj Kopernikus (Vagn - The Killing 1) as the father of a hospital patient, Morten Suurballe (Lennart Brix - The Killing) who appears in a couple of episodes and Troels Munck (Buchard, Brix's predecessor - The Killing) briefly as a doctor.
The discovery of a body at the exact halfway point of the Oresund Bridge leads to the arrival of the Copenhagen and Malmö police forces who decide to work together to unravel the mystery. The finding on the bridge is actually the top half of a prominent Swedish politician and the bottom half of a Danish prostitute. This discovery is only the start for a chain of events which test the resolve of Martin (Bodnia) and Saga (Sofia Helin).
Both countries opted to stay out of the euro so we see Martin have to borrow some Swedish kronor from Saga while in Sweden. We also learn that as a Danish cop in Sweden, Martin is not allowed to be armed. To be fair although they both speak similar closely related languages and can understand each other nearly 100%, we learn that both Sweden and Denmark are more similar than both characters would think.
The production appears to be more Swedish than Danish through my eyes and more of the scenes take place in Sweden's third biggest city than in the Danish capital. That's not to say that all is quiet in Copenhagen - police corruption, riots, the killing of an immigrant, we also see how solid the marriage of our Danish cop is. Crossing the bridge we have a very different policewoman who is quite unlike any policewoman seen before on TV. When we see Saga out of business hours is when we discover the real lady and learn about how she became the way she is today. As with other Scandinavian series we are exposed to alot of character background which makes this a very solid drama.
Although DR and SVT are involved in the making of the series, independent production companies are involved too. As is standard with most DR dramas, each episode of this ten part series is around 58 minutes long and each hour spent watching this will fly by. This is certainly better than the vast majority of BBC and ITV drama output and Five and Sky's acquisitions from the US.
Apparently a second series has already been commissioned which is definitely something to look forward to. In the meantime I'm going to try some Danish drama set in the Fifties Krøniken (Better Times) Volume 1 (Episodes 1 & 2) (Import) (English Subtitles) part of the Better Times ( Krøniken ) ( Krönikan ) [DVD] collection.

The Bridge is to be screened on BBC4 in spring 2012.
11 comment|95 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
This is a brilliantly original and totally captivating television show. The developers of the series took some real risks in their development of the lead characters, and the result is like nothing else on TV. The series opens with a startling discovery and the plot unfolds in an addictively twisting and turning way. While the English translations aren't perfect, the quality of the script generally comes through pretty well. One of my biggest disappointments in not speaking the language of a show such as this is that I know I'm missing some of the nuances of the dialogue. Even with this small disadvantage, I think this is one of the best shows on TV anywhere.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 October 2013
This is a fantastic show. The excellent, very original, storyline gains momentum and - not dissimilarly to The Killing - takes many a twist and turn before arriving at its satisfying conclusion. Firstly, Sofia Helin is wonderful! She has a great face for portraying someone with a personality type that`s not inconsistent with Asperger`s; her blank expression and short answers are combined with a failure to engage and understand social convention, but her driven and intelligent personality make her a great investigator, who is completely reliable and faithful. Some of her remarks to her investigating partner, Martin, are fantastic. He`s a strong character too, and a likeable one (despite being unable to remain monogamous); in fact, there aren`t too many unlikeable people involved and as ever, the Danish/Swedish landscape and indeed actual Bridge look great...maybe it`s just me but there`s definitely something about Scandanavia that lends itself to these sorts of thrillers...the countries, actors and writers sure pull off a fine show. Season 2 coming Winter 2013, according to "sources".
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
Everyone one on here has said it already but this has to be one of the best crime thrillers ever! Congratulations to our Nordic friends, you really know how to make quality television on a comparatively low budget. No whistles! no bells! just quality actors, performing a quality script, produced by quality producers. I particularly like the subtle humour in 'The Bridge' and in my opinion, that is what elevates it above similar shows like 'The Killing'. Also that the series is short at 10 episodes so there is far less meandering than it's other competitors.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2012
Hats off to the writers of this brilliantly constructed thriller series. On the credits there were a whole team of them, and that's got to be the way to craft such a complex original plot into such a must-watch television series. So often our own domestic tv crime drama is the work of a single person who can't possibly compete with a team creatively.

But to me it matters not a jot as clearly the BBC Acquistions team have shown they can spot brilliance in the output of other countries' television production companies. After 'Mad Men' 'The Killing' etc now we have 'The Bridge'. Over 10 episodes its a visual treat, with locations changing continously, with the combined Danish/Swedish police forces always several steps behind the fast-moving story. Character-development is a key ingredient and in this there are so many well-drawn characters to root for - just as in 'Mad Men'. I especially liked the Danish actor playing Martin, and also his mercurial wife, Messe, I think she was called. But there's many more to enjoy as the entwined plot unravels.

A DvD treat not to be missed
33 comments|50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 April 2012
At the time of writing this review the product has yet to be released, and my review is based on the airing of the series on BBC4.

The Title of this latest offering from Scandinavia refers to Oresund Bridge, which connects Copenhagen with the southern Swedish city of Malmö. The opening sequence sees the `staging' of a female body on Oresund, where one half is literally within Swedish borders while the other lies within Danish borders.
Our two main protagonists in the Bridge Rohde (Danish Cop) and Norén (Swedish) team up against a self-righteous serial killer drawing attention to the ways in which the two countries' governments seem to neglect the poor and needy. He attaches notes to the corpses saying things such as: "Had there been no victims, you would have found no victims." A thoroughly engaging police drama and well worth a look. There are other side stories that seem to have no connection with the main theme, but this viewer thinks that as the series progresses we will see a convergence of plot threads.
To the main two protagonists then:
We have Norén Saga (female Swedish Police officer) when it comes to police procedures she is professional and very competent. As soon as it comes to interacting with other people, she's lost and lacks any social skills. There is a hysterical scene in which she tries to chat up a man in a bar, displaying a pulling technique that makes The Inbetweeners look polished by comparison. Although not directly implied it is clear she has a form of Asperger's.

While Martin Rohde (our laid-back Danish Police officer). He has a slightly alarming habit of massaging his groin - but has the excuse of having just undergone a vasectomy. From a recent news article apparently Martin fulfils the national stereo type, as perceived by Swedes of Danes, he's had a lot of wives, he drinks a little too much, and he's not taking care of himself." While Ms Saga, is seen as an odd, but stereotypical Swede, as perceived by Danes.

Martin Rohde has to tread carefully in more ways than one, as he is obliged to team up with his Swedish detective Saga Norén (Sofia Helin), a woman gifted with all the logical braininess of Mr Spock but with even fewer people skills. Her wide-eyed accidental rudeness quickly becomes an icing on the cake for this series. A great series that leaves us a quirky narrative and
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2012
It would be hard to write an in depth review without it containing "spoilers", suffice to say this is superior drama and well worth the investment of ten hours viewing. Do not fall for any derogatory reviews from those that were far too quick to give their opinion after just a few episodes, this is 'top notch' entertainment for those that are prepared to think about what they are viewing and not looking for another crime 'soap', complex characters and first rate acting are the order of the day, simply excellent!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£17.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)