Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She is a delight!
The gentle humour throughout the books together with Delafield's insight into character would be enough to give one great pleasure. But in reading them one learns so much about the time when they are written (Before the War and during the war) and also about "Further Afield" in America and elsewhere. Wonderful books to have on one's kindle to read and re-read.
Published 10 months ago by doughnut

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad editing
I was enjoying this very much but about half way through the first book the typos got so bad as you are reading you are just waiting for the next one. Come on Amazon, there really is no need for this. Gave up and deleted book. Such a shame
Published 11 hours ago by 


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She is a delight!, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Provincial Lady - The Complete Series (Kindle Edition)
The gentle humour throughout the books together with Delafield's insight into character would be enough to give one great pleasure. But in reading them one learns so much about the time when they are written (Before the War and during the war) and also about "Further Afield" in America and elsewhere. Wonderful books to have on one's kindle to read and re-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very amusing observations of domestic life in 1930s, some of which are surprisingly relevant to life nowadays, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Provincial Lady - The Complete Series (Kindle Edition)
Life as a wife and mother of two young children back in the 1930s is, on the surface, very different to life today - a household filled with servants, methods of communication (writing endless letters to the bank, grocer, fish monger etc). Yet the way EM Delafield described life back then has a lot of similar challenges that still exist today- entertaining children in the school holidays, finding the right time to tackle difficult subjects with her husband, thinking of a suitably clever response to an irritating comment made by an acquaintance five minutes after they leave, juggling money problems.

EM Delafield has a very entertaining way of portraying all the little things that make up daily life in a light hearted and amusing way so the reader empathises and chuckles at the same time. Society, politics and technology may have changed beyond recognition in the 80 odd years since this book was written, but human nature remains reassuringly unchanged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good survivor, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Provincial Lady - The Complete Series (Kindle Edition)
I first read this about 50 years ago and enjoyed it again now. The Kindle version a bit careless here and there: e.g. dining-room was rendered as "din in groom"! Does no-on subedit these things?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny read, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Provincial Lady - The Complete Series (Kindle Edition)
Just finished the first book and starting the second - very funny. I'm looking forward to see how she arrives in Russia and whether a decent cook ever arrives. I suspect not. Would recommend the book; amazing value for £0.77. Kindle presentation pretty good but could do with a bit of tidying up. Did not spoil the book at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book if your into this sort of thing., 30 May 2014
By 
Kerrypickle "KLE" (South Glos England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Provincial Lady - The Complete Series (Kindle Edition)
I have a very battered paperback version of this book, which is much used. Mainly because it a pick up and putdownable book which loses nothing in between readings.
Humorous and ironic in almost equal measures, its description of the life and attitudes of the times makes me wonder about the inverted snobbery of today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gentle and humurous diary, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Provincial Lady - The Complete Series (Kindle Edition)
I loved this, it is a bit dated but the way people interact and the 'what I wish I said' elements don't date. A gentle tale written in diary form easy to read and some very amusing passages. Written with humour and wit that was very enjoyable. My only complaint was when the french girl is quoted there is no translation and my french wasn't up to some of it so it may have been witty but I wouldn't have known! It didn't spoil the book though. The first part is an introductry to her home life as the mother of two and her day to day dealings with her neighbours, relatives, friends and the local W.I.
The second part where she goes to America as a succesful novelist was just as good as the first part and just as enjoyable. The third part is set at the outbreak of the second world war where she is trying to get to do some war work with not much success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Provincial Lady - The Complete Series (Kindle Edition)
This book sort of plods along, but it is an interesting read, a bit like and "olde worlde" version of Bridgitte Jones' diary!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utter bliss - the literary equivalent of tea and scones on the village green, 23 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Provincial Lady - The Complete Series (Kindle Edition)
...although probably avoiding the condescending lady of the manor and wishing one was wearing something nicer at the same time.

Our nameless heroine is a joy - a left-leaning feminist with an undemonstrative husband, two kids, a career and an overdraft, in a permanent state of dissatisfaction with her wardrobe. She's an easily relatable character despite her acquaintance with various Ladyships , boarding school-attending children and despair at the shortcomings of her servants.

The diary format is very appealing and I couldn't help feeling that Helen Fielding must have read this some years ago, particularly when I noticed the term 'singleton'. I think the first book, set in the tiny village where the protagonist lives, is my favourite, although Mrs Winter-Gammon in the last one deserves honorable mention.

I paid a tiny price for the Kindle version, penny for penny it must be greatest investment I ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love these books, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Provincial Lady - The Complete Series (Kindle Edition)
I've loved these books for years and to be able to have them on my kindle to dip into easily on holiday and other times is great. They are obviously old fashioned but no less amusing for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious, 17 Jun 2014
By 
A. O'Loughlin (NIreland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Provincial Lady - The Complete Series (Kindle Edition)
How some people lived pre war ,the exhausting round of calls , coping with cook and governess , the wry coping with one's allowance ... all deftly depicted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Provincial Lady - The Complete Series
£0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews