Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars true untameable God!
Altrogge has a knack with words. But more that this. This is a beautiful description of life with God. A generous serving of gospel delight.
Here is a glorious vision of Jesus. Stephen Altrogge clearly believes that it's a crime to bore people with Jesus, despite this being our cultural default. Myths are deconstructed, unreality and error are engaged with in gentle...
Published 6 months ago by J. DOUGLAS

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average read, no great revelations, save your time & money
An easy read. Friendly, casual tone. Of some value, but not memorable or life-changing. There are better Christian books out there
Published 4 months ago by Richard Frank


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars true untameable God!, 6 Jan 2014
By 
J. DOUGLAS "Johnny Douglas" (Nr London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Untamable God: Encountering the One Who Is Bigger, Better, and More Dangerous Than You Could Possibly Imagine (Kindle Edition)
Altrogge has a knack with words. But more that this. This is a beautiful description of life with God. A generous serving of gospel delight.
Here is a glorious vision of Jesus. Stephen Altrogge clearly believes that it's a crime to bore people with Jesus, despite this being our cultural default. Myths are deconstructed, unreality and error are engaged with in gentle but impactful ways. This is a robustly researched and strongly written new work. We are taken to the place of great truth, for 'when God dies to us, we die in ourselves.' Yet few authors let the scale of God remain gloriously beyond their measure, their language and their containment. Altrogge is one of these rare and precious voices.

The structure, spirit and close of the book for me were some of the best parts of this writing. This will cause you to be renewed in your confidence of Christ as Saviour and God.

Here is the God who 'breaks our vocabulary' who exceeds our biggest view of Him and just doesn't say love: He actually proves it. This is far beyond the shallows, its a compelling invitation to our "incredible, glorious, untameable God." This is full of engaging language, stimulating thought and searing theology. Top-class stuff.

Fresh, faithful and heartfelt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars riveting book!, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untamable God: Encountering the One Who Is Bigger, Better, and More Dangerous Than You Could Possibly Imagine (Kindle Edition)
A really interesting, down to earth book. Couldn't put it down until I'd finished it!
Will be looking for other books to read by the author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Untameable God, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untamable God: Encountering the One Who Is Bigger, Better, and More Dangerous Than You Could Possibly Imagine (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book, written honestly and with humour, made me move around a lot as I recognised myself so often :( but having to rethink my position with God and has given me much to think about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untamable God: Encountering the One Who Is Bigger, Better, and More Dangerous Than You Could Possibly Imagine (Kindle Edition)
Refreshing ,inspiring ,encouraging. I loved this book. A great book to give to friends. It is very easy to read and understand. Well worth the time you spend on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a very insightful yet challenging book, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untamable God: Encountering the One Who Is Bigger, Better, and More Dangerous Than You Could Possibly Imagine (Kindle Edition)
Just a marvel of a short book to read. A real gem to provoke your thinking, your perceived think tank.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 5 April 2014
By 
Pete Everett (Rayleigh Essex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untamable God: Encountering the One Who Is Bigger, Better, and More Dangerous Than You Could Possibly Imagine (Kindle Edition)
I've nearly finished this book but couldn't wait to the end to write the review. I have found it both insightful and encouraging. Found it really useful for understand more of the nature of God and how that should shape the way we both regard and respond to Him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant upto date and potentially lifechanging, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untamable God: Encountering the One Who Is Bigger, Better, and More Dangerous Than You Could Possibly Imagine (Kindle Edition)
Brings an up-to-date interpretation to a range of biblical accounts and enables us to appreciate how really tremendous and great God is. It is useful for those wishing to deepen their understanding and experience of God. It is also useful as a good discussion starter for those wishing to explore these issues with others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real find, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untamable God: Encountering the One Who Is Bigger, Better, and More Dangerous Than You Could Possibly Imagine (Kindle Edition)
This is a very readable book, yet contains so much truth. The author has a wonderful sense of humour and succeeds in gently poking fun at our preconceptions in such a way as to make us re-think our assumptions. The topic is so important - the title says it all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable book, 11 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untamable God: Encountering the One Who Is Bigger, Better, and More Dangerous Than You Could Possibly Imagine (Kindle Edition)
Altrogge's book is an enjoyable one that paints a lovely picture of how great God is - greater than our wildest imaginations. However, I can't help but feel that the current penchant for multiple adjectives in book titles (and sentences within the book) is a tad laboured (and faddish). Multiple adjectives rarely stimulate my awe in God and I felt that this was overused in the book. Apart from this criticism, this is an enjoyable book that will refresh your vision of a God who is so much greater than our imaginations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not a flowery book, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untamable God: Encountering the One Who Is Bigger, Better, and More Dangerous Than You Could Possibly Imagine (Kindle Edition)
This read is challenging and down to earth, i really enjoyed the fresh and realistic look at this amazing God we, who love him, follow. A brilliant book and well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews