Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful romantic story
Lawyer, Samantha Adams, (Sam) grew up not knowing her grandmother. Now it's too late, she's dead. Sam receives a box of memorabilia from her grandmother's lawyer and learns that she is her grandmother, Louise Elizabeth Barrett's (Lou) heir. With one small caveat, Lou wants Sam to take a road trip to get to know about her life and the people she loved. Sam also learns that...
Published 3 months ago by TerryB

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very predictable, and drawn out
I bought this book because of the good reviews it had here on Amazon, I was so disappointed. The story line is slow, and predictable. Two females are best friends and are in love with each other, but neither has the guts to tell the other. 'Will she?, wont she?' story drags on for the whole book. Obviously just my own opinion.
Published 3 months ago by Bette Howard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very predictable, and drawn out, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember Me (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book because of the good reviews it had here on Amazon, I was so disappointed. The story line is slow, and predictable. Two females are best friends and are in love with each other, but neither has the guts to tell the other. 'Will she?, wont she?' story drags on for the whole book. Obviously just my own opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful romantic story, 3 Jan 2014
This review is from: Remember Me (Kindle Edition)
Lawyer, Samantha Adams, (Sam) grew up not knowing her grandmother. Now it's too late, she's dead. Sam receives a box of memorabilia from her grandmother's lawyer and learns that she is her grandmother, Louise Elizabeth Barrett's (Lou) heir. With one small caveat, Lou wants Sam to take a road trip to get to know about her life and the people she loved. Sam also learns that her own mother had kept Sam and her grandmother apart when Lou had allegedly abandoned her family for her lover, Charlie.

Now Sam is going to get to know Lou. Much to her mother's disgust, Sam is going on the road trip with her best friend, lawyer, Ellis Hudson in compliance with her grandmother's final request. Along the way Sam and Ellis come to realize that the box of Lou's memorabilia contains items that she should return to their rightful owners. It's a heart rending and momentous journey, filled with fun, love and more than anything, Sam is getting to know all about Lou, her life and her loves. She is also getting to see Ellis in a different light too.

Ellis has secretly been in love with Sam since they first met eight years previously. She's single and has had a series of one night stands. If she can't have Sam, she doesn't want anyone. As difficult as this journey will be, it's make or break time. Ellis knows she must either let go of her dreams for a romance with Sam or try to get Sam to see what is right in front of her, smoldering in her own heart. Will Ellis be successful, or will Sam remain as blind as ever to her own feelings?

Another winning story from the very talented Syd Parker. Each time I pick up a book by this wonderful author, I'm secure in the knowledge that it's going to be a well written, well researched page turner and different from her previous books, but even more important to me is that I know I will love it. There are some author's books I will buy without reading the synopsis, Syd is one such author. She never, ever lets me down.

This story has a baseball background and is all about family love, loss and betrayal. It's also about finding oneself. Finding out who you are and who you want to be. There is a simmering romantic theme throughout too.

When a big wrong has been done to two people and it's too late to put it right, will one person be able to forgive the other person?

Both Sam and Ellis are loveable well formed main characters, multidimensional and so easy to get to know. They interact well together and are backed up by a strong cast of secondary characters, each essential in the progression of the story right through to it's very satisfying ending.

Syd's writing simply keeps on going from strength to strength. Each time I read a new book from Syd, it becomes my new favorite. This one is no exception. It's in my favorites folder to be read time and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bridges can be rebuilt eventually if we try, 21 April 2014
By 
M. B. Czuba ""avid reader"" (Thurnby,Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember Me (Kindle Edition)
Syd Parker writes another great book.
The Story revolves around a journey by Samantha following the death of her grandmother who she last saw aged three and finding out how alike they are. But the twist is why she left in the first place, Read it you get the chance well worth it.
For me 5 stars at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember Me (Kindle Edition)
This is not the first Syd Parker novel I have read and I have thoroughly enjoyed all of them apart from this one. Normally the stories are engaging, well written and keep you interested. I found this story shallow, repetitive and the main characters one dimensional. Don't get me started on the big surprise that is so obvious as to be laughable with the great reveal. All in all a very poor book. I hope it is just a blip and the next book is back to her usual standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember Me (Kindle Edition)
This has a good back story but is a bit predictable. its well written (mostly) but some of the dialogue does seem a bit stilted but mostly I wanted things to happen more quickly - it felt a bit slow. The feelings between Sam and Ellis are always there and I wanted Ellis to take control and DO something much sooner so that the trip could have been more about them exploring each other and their relationship rather than just about Sam and her grandmother. That said its a good read and I would recommend it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not my cuppa tea, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember Me (Paperback)
I dont like writing negative reviews but this just wasn't for me. At times i thought i was reading a reference book for dogs, women's baseball or a self help book. Very very repetitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant reading..., 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember Me (Kindle Edition)
This book was a nicely written love story. It centres around a young woman names Sam who receives unexpected letters and items from a late grandmother she never knew. Her grandmother never had the chance of getting to know Sam in real life, so in death she orchestrates it so Sam can go on a trip across America to get to know her grandmother and everything that made her her, and all she lived for. Sam is also long-standing friends with a woman named Ellis, who she has no idea Ellis is in love with her

There are many heart wrenching moments on the journey as Sam gets to know what her grandmother was like, and in the process, discovers things about herself too.

I found that I read the book quite quickly, and although it is not short by any means, some 200+ pages, I felt like I could have happily read a lot more. There is a lot of indecision by the two characters, and it seems everyone else who meets them knows they are meant to be together, which in reality seemed a bit corny to me. I also would have liked to see some more character development of Ellis at the start of the book as she is portrayed as a womaniser because of her unrequited love for Sam, but we don't really get to see this in the book. It sort of goes straight into the road trip that they go on, and Ellis is a constant presence by Sam's side, pining for her. There are a couple of good tense (sexually) moments between the characters, but had the book been longer, I think there would have been more room to explore further.

It's a nice book, and many people could probably relate to a lot of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 31 Jan 2014
By 
Ms. S. J. Trotter (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember Me (Kindle Edition)
This was the first Syd Parker book I have read and it won't be the last, an unusual story that held my attention from cover to cover. Great characters on a wonderful journey of discovery, both about the past and themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never fails to deliver, 13 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember Me (Paperback)
Syd Parker books are romantic, beautiful and above all entertaining. "Remember Me" dose not fail to deliver. It is an encharnting story of two best Lesbian friends that fall in love but cant tell each other. It is a journey about self discovery and will strike a light in many readers hearts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Escapism, 12 Jan 2014
By 
Victoria A. Hall "Ziggy66" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember Me (Kindle Edition)
Loved the read escape to another world... love the romance and how the Times have changed ... compulsive read couldn't put it down once I started....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6b55864)

This product

Remember Me
Remember Me by Syd Parker
3.05
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews