Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read
Loved this book and very easy to read.
Published 5 months ago by Mrs. L Miles

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Jane Austen inspired!
This was a pleasant book to read and I quite enjoyed it, but it lacked the subtlety and intrigue that Jane Austen brings to a story, and the outcome was all too obvious right from the beginning.
The manners of the period and the ballroom scenes were all there, but it lacked the depth and richness of description to bring it to life.
It was a light and pleasant...
Published 8 months ago by Brian Goddard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read, 2 July 2014
By 
Mrs. L Miles - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book and very easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Jane Austin "Type" book, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has a good story and sets out some rather engaging characters, all in the Jane Austin style. Nice heroine and other characters. Her depiction of Bath in the period is accurate and I would recommend for Jane Austin fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Jane Austen inspired!, 31 Mar 2014
This was a pleasant book to read and I quite enjoyed it, but it lacked the subtlety and intrigue that Jane Austen brings to a story, and the outcome was all too obvious right from the beginning.
The manners of the period and the ballroom scenes were all there, but it lacked the depth and richness of description to bring it to life.
It was a light and pleasant read if you just wanted a romantic period novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely read, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Big fan of Jane Austin and this is a very good inspire book. Really enjoyed this particular one and I have read a lot. Enjoyed Shannon Winslows style of writing, think Jane Austin would enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jane Austin style lives on, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Shannon Winslow has yet again produced a book in such a style, it will please most Austin devotees. An enjoyable read from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved it, I like anything that is written in the Jane Austen mode so there wasn't ever any doubt that I would only give it a good rating, also I think that anybody who hasn't read Pride and Prejudice will still like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For myself alone, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this. Josephine was a very likeable heroine, however, I did know the eventual outcome rather too early is the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I loved it. Jane Austen purists will find it a ..., 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved it. Jane Austen purists will find it a bit difficult as Shannon Winslow does tend to slip from Austen inspired prose to modern day language but if you just accept it for what it is ......... a Jane Austen inspired novel it is lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars For Myself Alone, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes I enjoyed it very much. I am a fan of Jane Austen's fiction books and will be searching for more very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews