Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHERE ARE THE CHILDREN?
This is another Hansel and Gretel type of film with a legendary wicked witch who lives in the forest and devours children. In the opening scene young Amanda (Caitlin Carmichael) is in tears, afraid that "The Wicked" is going to get her. It was a very convincing scene, A+ for Miss Carmichael. Once she goes missing, our 4 teenage heroes plus 2 go in the woods and camp out...
Published 15 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars dvd
I was very disapointed with this film the start was ok the ending was ok in the middle wel you can gues thank you recommend seller
Published 2 months ago by patty sturge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHERE ARE THE CHILDREN?, 4 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Wicked [DVD] (DVD)
This is another Hansel and Gretel type of film with a legendary wicked witch who lives in the forest and devours children. In the opening scene young Amanda (Caitlin Carmichael) is in tears, afraid that "The Wicked" is going to get her. It was a very convincing scene, A+ for Miss Carmichael. Once she goes missing, our 4 teenage heroes plus 2 go in the woods and camp out near the witches house who they arouse during the very deadly spring equinox.

The film did an effective job of building character of our main players with some brief moments and conversations. I thought the witch scenes could have been done better as they were an inconsistent hit and miss going from the overly supernatural to just a plain gore slasher. It really doesn't effectively work both ways. A decent Redbox rental, might make it to my collection when the price drops. Takes place in Orono, Michigan.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, brief sex and skinny dipping scene and brief nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Wicked has Magic , Myth and Gore wrapped in a horrific Witches cloak., 30 April 2013
This review is from: The Wicked [DVD] (DVD)
A small Michigan suburb plays host to a unique urban legend about Open Hearth, an old house in the woods that once belonged to a historic witch. Local kids dare each other to throw a rock at the house in the way that all kids like to tempt supernatural trouble. Ricochet your stone off the wood and you are safe. But if you break a window on the house, "The Wicked" will come for you. After a young girl breaks a window and is subsequently torn from her bedroom one night, a foursome of teenagers decides that leaving well enough alone is hardly in the best interest of high school fun. Sneaking off for a camping trip, the two couples throw four rocks simultaneously at the house and one of the stones breaks a window. The teens wonder whose rock shattered the glass and one of them teases, "we'll know soon enough!" Evidently, the witch could not figure it out either, so she just nabs three out of the four anyway. Now I must admit The Wicked does sound pretty poor, and I expected it to be a horrible and boring experience but I do love a good witch/haunted house movie and this is a bit of both. And I was really surprised that I ended up enjoying it.

The Wicked is a lot of fun , just don't take it too seriously as it doesn't. You have the high school kids up for a dare, the nosy younger brother and his tom boy girlfriend, the two dumb and obnoxious police officers and a witch, I mean what more do you want? The house as a set is great and of course surrounded by woods gives it a great feel. The director did a pretty good job as the film was really well paced and there weren't any scenes that dragged on for too long and despite the low budget the film had tons of atmosphere. The acting is well above average and the whole story of the urban legend plays out very well, however there are some negative points including if only one of the gang broke a window why does the witch hunt them all? Also a real issue of mine is CGI and there is some here and it is not too clever - but that's me, I like it old school!. Despite these flaws I still managed to enjoy this entertaining horror flick, although some might see this as complete and utter trash judging by some of the negative reviews. Overall I would say that the film would probably split horror fans straight down the middle, you either love this film or hate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scarily Good, 17 Aug 2013
By 
T Homyard "Terri" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wicked [DVD] (DVD)
I rather enjoyed this film. Typical story where kids are told to not throw stones at the witches house because if aw window breaks, the witch will come for them. Guess what the kids do? Yep, that's right, they do exactly what they are warned not to do and low and behold she comes for them. Even so, I really enjoyed it. Perfect for a night in with some popcorn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good scary movie, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good movie but i don t think the rating of 18 was right. a 15 would have been enough. not too violent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, 19 April 2013
This review is from: The Wicked [DVD] (DVD)
This film has got a lot of criticism but I think this is a really good film,

The story line is unique & original, the special effects (except for some blood splatter) is very good, the Witch is also generally very creepy & considering its low budget the director has done a very good job with this... Also the actor isn't the best but its by no means the worst either

Overall is a good horror to have in your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really is wicked, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wicked [DVD] (DVD)
great film good action great plot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wicked [DVD] (DVD)
I was very disapointed with this film the start was ok the ending was ok in the middle wel you can gues thank you recommend seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressive, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wicked (Amazon Instant Video)
Overlong and average film. I was disappointed, having expected so much more and at least half a hour could easily have been shaved off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars PREDICTABLY MEDIOCRE, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wicked [DVD] (DVD)
I was on the hunt for a decent low budget horror movie...unfortunately I only fulfilled the 'low budget' aspect of my quest. In actuality The Wicked could probably have been at least semi-decent, if the director had paid attention to such elements as the creation of atmosphere, the building of supense, the evocation of fear and some cinematic style. The script is no great shakes but it offered enough opportunities to bring about an effective movie had it been handled differently. As it is The Wicked is a rather flat, uninvolving and fatally unscary movie that looks like it was shot for tv over a weekend, populated by weak performances, some wobbly digital effects and a large bag of cliches. It all owes a sizeable debt to The Blair Witch project too. The hunt for decent horror continues...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended gem of a horror, 11 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. T. Solley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wicked [DVD] (DVD)
Nothing that we haven't already seen, but good acting and sfx, make for a genuine rare find of a horror.

The witch Herself provides good scares, which for me is what horror is all about.

Forget the story and enjoy the horror slasher premise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wicked
The Wicked by Peter Winther
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews