Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Rage of Kings, indeed!
My insanely short synopsis: The Iron Wolves, a band of seven unlikely and (somewhat) unsavory heroes punch, kick, bite and slash their way across the kingdom to reach Vagrandak, the land of legend and the Iron Wolves' past glory. Their goal: to do battle against the great Sorceress Orlana to stop her from enslaving and slaughtering the entire population of the realm...
Published 11 months ago by Sharon Reamer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars worst book I've ever read
If I could have given it zero I would have done. I'm not a malicious person and I have never written another review good or bad. But that this book is on 4 stars and will inevitably sucker other unsuspecting chumps into reading it is a travesty. It is awfully written, the plot is ridiculous and the characters one dimensional. Monumentally awful.
Published 7 months ago by Phil R


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars worst book I've ever read, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Iron Wolves (The Rage of Kings Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
If I could have given it zero I would have done. I'm not a malicious person and I have never written another review good or bad. But that this book is on 4 stars and will inevitably sucker other unsuspecting chumps into reading it is a travesty. It is awfully written, the plot is ridiculous and the characters one dimensional. Monumentally awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Rage of Kings, indeed!, 1 Jan 2014
By 
Sharon Reamer (Overath, Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Iron Wolves (The Rage of Kings Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
My insanely short synopsis: The Iron Wolves, a band of seven unlikely and (somewhat) unsavory heroes punch, kick, bite and slash their way across the kingdom to reach Vagrandak, the land of legend and the Iron Wolves' past glory. Their goal: to do battle against the great Sorceress Orlana to stop her from enslaving and slaughtering the entire population of the realm.

On his seventieth birthday, General Dalgoran witnesses a scene so gruesome, it forces him to end his retirement and reassemble the Iron Wolves, his band of seven warriors, now past the prime of their hero years. But General Dalgoran believes they are the only ones capable of combatting the horror he has witnessed. But first he must find them all and convince them of his cause.

The Iron Wolves seethes with action; indeed, it stomps across every page.

Remic has a very precise way with descriptions of battles and fights and with weapons of every type (including head butts). The scenes leap and snort off the page, making the heart race with anticipation about their outcomes. The journey of the Iron Wolves entails many such battles including those against insanely powerful creatures called the splice - amalgams of human and beasts that are very tough to kill - and mud orcs as well as more human enemies. Including the Iron Wolves themselves.

If you enjoy sword and sorcery, The Iron Wolves will not disappoint. The heroes themselves, although not necessary likeable, present a convincing case for their role as the only ones capable of confronting the powerful and merciless Orlana. I felt there was adequate backstory from each of the seven warriors to comprehend something of their motivations; these stories do not necessarily make the characters more likeable. But it did help me to understand them.

Orlana, not born of this world, has an agenda. I didn't understand what that agenda was in any great detail, this is Book 1 after all, but I learned enough to know that her plans entail much more than crafting nasty and menacing creatures. Her very evilness contrasts starkly with the dubious nature of the Iron Wolves' heroism. I never had any doubts about who I was rooting for.

On the other hand, although the story has its straightforward components, there are plenty of subplots and interesting complications to occupy the mind while reading. Even though the nature epic fantasy with good versus evil made me want to think that good will triumph, I never felt sure about the outcome at any point in the story.

And that is what kept me reading. Sometimes, the fights went on too long for my liking so that I had to put the book down for a while, but I think for those who read graphic and gritty sword and sorcery with gusto, and who enjoyed The Clockwork Vampire Chronicle series by Remic, this will be a positive feature. For me, it's guilty candy. Something I don't read often because, while I enjoy it in small doses, most of the time slash and gore are not done well. But here it is done well and is dictated by the nature of the story.

On a less positive note, there's a reader cheat in here. It marred the story for me somewhat, and I can't talk about because it would be a spoiler. In all fairness, we do get hints about it, but not enough that I felt I could have figured it out on my own. That said though, I could live with that and hope the rest of the series will live up to the promise of the first book, an uncompromising but ultimately entertaining romp through a fantasy landscape pockmarked with treachery around every corner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good story poorly Edited, 7 Dec 2014
A good story that could have done with better editing.
Sentences containing too many words, unnecessary repetition, misplaced or misused words spoil the flow and become tedious after a while.
Examples such as:
"What few routes did exist through the mountains were few and far between",
".... was the main and only reason",
" ..... the two men were occupied by attempting to bleach warmth from the brazier" all appearing within the space of three pages.

Not really good enough for a professionally published book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Remic fans, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Iron Wolves (The Rage of Kings Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Florid, lurid, bloody, remorseless and thoroughly entertaining take on a sword and sorcery tale loses a star owing to all but one of the Iron Wolves being idle for years and yet still massively muscled and more than adept at swordplay etc etc. but not afraid to kill off some of its central characters - or all of them? Cannot wait for the second volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant violent read, great plot fantastic characters. a must read !!!!, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You have to love the style of this author, dark,gritty and uncomprimissing. The plot rolls along at a breathless pace and grips you to the last. If you always wanted game of thrones but less fluffy then this is the book for you. Buy and enjoy the blood soaked journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book., 30 April 2014
By 
D. A. Penning (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Iron Wolves (The Rage of Kings Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Loved it all, except the finale which felt a bit rushed.

Would be nice to see a bit more with these characters.....either prequel or sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Andy does it again., 22 Jan 2014
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Iron Wolves (The Rage of Kings Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
OK, you want something to really round off the years end or to kick start your 2014 reading resolutions so what are you looking for? Well if you want top notch fantasy with realistic characters, hard hitting battle sequences, bloody gore soaked ground where life and death is measured in skill then you really have to get Andy Remic's new title, The Iron Wolves, the start of his cracking new series.

As you come to expect with Andy, he's an author who likes to keep it not only hardcore with the action but with the language and fans of David Gemmell will see many a homage within. Add to this cracking prose with spartan descriptive's which when added to a unique style will more than satisfy the fan within. All round a great offering and with the emotional context built in, goes to show that Andy's writing is not only flourishing but adding new strings to his bow all the time. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meet The Iron Wolves, 1 Jan 2014
By 
Since their heroic heyday the various members of the Iron Wolves have fallen, and in most cases they have fallen pretty far. Drug abuse, psychopathic acts of violence, gambling and pit fighting are just a select few of the various vices on offer. I like this approach. Too often in fantasy heroes appear utterly indomitable, and it just gets so damn boring after a while; those holier-than-thou types with not a single chink in their armour, all flawless and shiny. I'll be honest, it does my nut. Not so in the case of the Iron Wolves however, they wear their hearts on their sleeves and their flaws in full view.

In previous novels, I've always enjoyed that Remic's writing takes time to get under the skin of his various characters and the same is true again here. Each of the Wolves has their own demons to vanquish. Their ferocious captain, Kiki, is troubled by her shady past, her raging addictions and is also haunted by the ghost of her sister. Brothers, Dek and Ragorek, are more interested in beating the living tar out of one another than anyone else. Elsewhere, the once handsome Narnok teeters on the brink of sanity as he struggles to come to terms with his problems. Don't even get me started on Zastarte and Trista, both are maniacs. Rounding things off is General Dalgoran. He faces off against the trickiest opponent of all - the inevitable march of time. How best to sum them up? Think the Not So Magnificent Seven. The irony is not lost on me that these are the heroes of the piece.

Their nemesis, Orlana the Changer, is pure unadulterated evil. To her, humans are little more than an irrelevance, a resource to be used, abused and then discarded. She uses her dark magicks to create an army of spliced creatures. Humans and animals are melded together to form new nightmarish hybrids. As I've come to expect from Mr Remic, the author doesn't shy away from describing the awfulness of the splicing process. In fact, be warned those with a nervous disposition, things veer off into the realms of body horror on a number of occasions. It's one of my favourite things about this particular author's writing. Nobody does brutal violent chaos better than Andy Remic. You want to know exactly what happens when a lion and a man are merged together to form a four legged warrior mutant? Of course you do! If you enjoy a book full of that sort of outlandish shocks then I can guarantee that you aren't going to be disappointed with The Iron Wolves.

Don't get the wrong idea though, it's not all horror. There is plenty of action as well. When the mud-orcs and spliced finally come face to face with human forces, it kicks off in graphic style. Things build to a climactic siege that is particularly exciting. In order to eke out the tension, Remic counterpoints this by also capturing the other side of this conflict. In the hours before leading up to the final battle there are a host of little introspective moments offering insight into the thoughts and minds of the soldiers waiting to face their foe.

As ever, I advise caution when it comes to Mr Remic's work. His writing is gory as hell and has a raw unstrained quality that isn't going to be for everyone. Personally, I love it. Often brutal, but in the same moment introspective; hugely violent but also thoughtful. I wouldn't be at all surprised to discover if you were to venture beyond the realms of Grimdark and out the other side you'd find Andy Remic sat there waiting for you. He'd probably ask you what took you so bloody long.

This novel is the first part in a series called The Rage of Kings. The Iron Wolves is a perfect introduction to a new hardcore fantasy series. It feels like we're getting the band back together. I suspect we've only just begun when it comes to unleashing bloody mayhem. Based on the evidence displayed, you can count me in. Bring it on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Iron Wolves, 25 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Iron Wolves (The Rage of Kings Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Another Remic classic. Fantasy/Sci-Fi writer with a twist and pure adrenalin. It's been said before ,once you start this book it's hard to stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low Fantasy at it's finest!, 23 Feb 2014
This book was an unexpected gem. It really does stand strong along-side the likes of Abercrombie and RR Martin. Refreshing new setting. Brutal fighting. Compelling characters. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews