Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a mixed bag.
The best way to describe EDF 2025 is as a mix of 2017 and Insect Armageddon. It uses the class system from IA and implements it to the 'game world' of 2017. That is exploding buidlings, wacky physics, 2017 enemy models and a slightly silly B movie style. Which isn't a bad thing, the charm of 2017 was it's craziness. And the great thing about IA was it's range of play...
Published 12 months ago by P. Lawson

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not happy
I am not happy with this purchase, it was a christmas present for my godson.
It quite clearly says it's a 12 rated game on the front & when he unwrapped the present it's actually age 17 with a sticker over it saying 16 so not a 12 at all! Hence mum & dad will not allow him to have the game & one very upset boy at Xmas!
Published 2 months ago by carlieb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a mixed bag., 25 Mar. 2014
By 
P. Lawson (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth Defence Force 2025 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The best way to describe EDF 2025 is as a mix of 2017 and Insect Armageddon. It uses the class system from IA and implements it to the 'game world' of 2017. That is exploding buidlings, wacky physics, 2017 enemy models and a slightly silly B movie style. Which isn't a bad thing, the charm of 2017 was it's craziness. And the great thing about IA was it's range of play styles and replay options with all the classes.

However, the changes they've made in transition can be annoying. Fencers, a potentially fun class (heavy weapons from IA), are sooooo slow they're a drudge to play. The vehicles, which were a vast improvement in IA, are back to their hellish worst in 2017, making them a nightmare to drive and not even worth getting into. A lot of missions are carbon copies of 2017, not the worst thing, but a bit lame.

I still love the game, but I feel some patching could make it the best in the series. Maybe it plays well for masochists who like wrestling with their controllers, but the co-op puts anybody not playing assault at a large disatvantage, as you end up either running to catch up (Fencer) or hiding to recharge (Wing Diver).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good simple fun!, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth Defence Force 2025 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Good fun. Simple play style. A little leggy but when u see what can be on screen at the same time u overlook this quickly. Split screen! First game in a while worth playing with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The invasion doesn't end!, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth Defence Force 2025 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Great game that will take you forever to 100% as there are 4 characters to play as, each has tons of weapons to obtain and also to get 100% you have to beat the whole game (90 missions) on every difficulty with every character! So definitely something for the long haul. I also think the 100% tracking is separate for single and multiplayer also, have fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not happy, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth Defence Force 2025 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I am not happy with this purchase, it was a christmas present for my godson.
It quite clearly says it's a 12 rated game on the front & when he unwrapped the present it's actually age 17 with a sticker over it saying 16 so not a 12 at all! Hence mum & dad will not allow him to have the game & one very upset boy at Xmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Game, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth Defence Force 2025 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is just what I hoped for from EDF. After the second game was complete rubbish, EDF 2025 gets back to the great game they initially produced. I will be spending a lot of time on it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and bags of gameplay, 22 Feb. 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Earth Defence Force 2025 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The first thing that hits you about this game is how simple and easy it is to play and get into. Four classes of shooters to play with and all feel great to play and use. I am playing with the ranger and the guns I have collected so far are fantastic to use ( the nap-ham gun is a favourite) .
The graphics and sound are good and I have had no trouble with slow down though I do no that the Ps3 version suffers from this quite a lot..
The loading times are a bit long but I found installing the game helped with this.
If your a fan or not this game is a good shooter that will bring a smile to you as you play and start blowing things up with the super guns that you find. Great multiplayer and two player split screen which I play, great laugh.
Great game and one for any ones game collection, don't be put off by some nit picking game reviewer that has to pick up on every little fault in a game. Don't miss out...great game.
Happy gaming and have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fun packed split screen game BUY IT, 21 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth Defence Force 2025 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Excellent fun buy this game. Loads of hours of play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you enjoyed EDF-2017, You'll love this!, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth Defence Force 2025 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'll start by saying that this game isn't going to appeal to everyone. It's very Japanese in feel, and some might see it as slightly corny, but man, is this game a lot of fun!..

To those unfamiliar with the series, you are in the titular Earth Defence Force, an organisation that exists solely to fight extra terrestrial threats to Earth, similar to X-Com but on a much larger scale in an action game form. This is where the game is slightly corny, because this threat(Refered to as the Ravagers), comes in the form of Giant Bugs of various types, Giant Ships and Giant Robots and other monsters(Yes, eveything is BIG in this game regarding enemies)which is the very appeal of the game to its fans.

The game can be played Solo or Co-Op 2 player locally or up to 4 players online, which is great as it's always more fun in Co-Op but still fun single player in my opinion. There are simply loooooads of missions in the game, almost a hundred in fact(with DLC packs making it almost 150?!), far more than most games have these days.. Some are short, but most are a good length but always fun. I wont go into the classes too much, but there's four different classes of EDF soldier you can choose from, which are the Ranger: your standard jack of all trades/master of none soldier, Fencer: a heavily armoured slow moving exoskeleton wearing human sized tank with larger weapons, The Wing Diver: a female Jet Pack wearing flying/walking, weaker armored but faster character that employs alien inspired energy weaponry, and the Air Raider, a more tactical support class character that can call in Airstrikes, deploy mines and similar weapons and explosives and order vehicles for the team to use. In fact there are many, many weapons to collect and unlock as you progress through the game, some improved/alternative versions of what you already have, some not.

The graphics are nothing to wrote home about in the game, but but they do seem to improve with every title that comes out, and they are certainly more than adequate here, especially considering the open naturee of the enviroments and the epic scale of the battles in terms of the size and quantity of the enemies and destructibility of the levels(Just about every building can be reduced to rubble if you had the inclination). I've seen a few others complain about occasional frame rate issues, but i have not encountered any at all in all honesty, on the 360 version at least.

The game is great fun if you relax and accept it for what it is, an unpretentious gloriously over the top single player/Co-Op shooter. I do have a couple of complains however. While you can happily play through the game in single player using the Ranger, Fencer and Wing Diver classes, it would be extremely hard to do so as the Air Raider due to its support class nature, and the problem is, you can't experience vehicles without an Air Raider, because only an Air Raider can call in vehicles.. In EDF-2017, (and all the other EDF games to my knowledge) vehicles could be found lying around for you to jump into and utilise, and no particular class was needed to get them, but with no Air raider in this game, you simply have to do without, but the vehicles are a big draw to many fans of the series, but being forced to use the rather niche/limited Air Raider to use them, is not good, not good at all.... Even then you can only equipe one type of vehicle you can call in per mission, which you choose before the mission starts, so there's no ability to adap and call a vehicle dependant on what is needed for any given situation. It is great to see a much great choice of vehicles in this game to 2017, but having having to use an Air Raider to actually be able to use them, has also taken a lot away from the game to the point you hardly get to use these vehicles at all.. Shame, because otherwise, everything else is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EDF 2025 is grand., 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth Defence Force 2025 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Offline is awesome. A lot of explosions, a bajillion guns (around 700?) and the huge robot is cool.
The online mode is not grand but they stuck an additional 5 missions online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insert your own obvious energy supplier puns, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth Defence Force 2025 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Before Freedom of Speech/Gamesmasterforlife gives this his obligatory 1 star rating coupled with 9 thousand words of pseudo "games reviewer" tosh that no one will ever read, I'd just like to say that if you played EDF2017 and enjoyed it, the chances are you're probably going to like this!
I've only played a few levels as the ranger class (closest to the original grunt from EDF2017), but I've been grinning the whole time from ear to ear.
With enhanced graphics and bigger weapons being just a few of the noticeable changes, Sandlot have taken what made the first game so great and improved it. The weapon, armour and health drops from downed enemies are there, the sound effects and usual baddies are there, the B movie naff script and terrible voice acting is there but thankfully (for me), no memories of the fairly mediocre Insect Armageddon game that game before this!
Also, as far as I can see, I've had no issues with staggering frame rates or horrendous slowdown but as I've only seen 100 enemies on screen so far, I suppose there is time!
For all EDF2017 players who yearn to get that feeling again, dip in and enjoy, to anyone else, it's just a heck of a lot of fun...
One real annoying bugbear though, if like me you really don't care about the story and don't want any silly voice interruptions, you can turn the voice volume down to zero. Unfortunately, the master volume automatically lowers during these vocal inserts and if you do have the voice setting down to zero (play through number 2 for example), the game volume still cuts out as if the voices were still there. Not a game breaker for everyone I suppose but my previous 5 star rating has been dropped to a 3.5 because of it :(
Hopefully a future patch will rectify this as it's a bit pointless I think?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Earth Defence Force 2025 (Xbox 360)
Earth Defence Force 2025 (Xbox 360) by Namco Bandai (Xbox 360)
£9.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews