Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stirring
Sharon Van Etten's third album is a star studded affair. It contains Zach Condon (Beirut) and Aaron Dressner (The National) amongst others. In fact Dressner produces this. Her vocal style is reminiscent of Tanya Donnely at times but its a mainly acoustic and intimate album that shows real promise.

Van Etten's drawling style is given rousing accompaniments...
Published on 7 Feb 2012 by Syriat

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure
Bought this after she appeared on Jules Holland. 4 or 5 decent tracks and I have listened to it a few times in case it is a 'creeper', but the rest is rather tedious. Wouldn't rush to buy another one of hers.
Published 15 months ago by Mr. P. Sutcliffe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stirring, 7 Feb 2012
By 
Syriat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tramp (Audio CD)
Sharon Van Etten's third album is a star studded affair. It contains Zach Condon (Beirut) and Aaron Dressner (The National) amongst others. In fact Dressner produces this. Her vocal style is reminiscent of Tanya Donnely at times but its a mainly acoustic and intimate album that shows real promise.

Van Etten's drawling style is given rousing accompaniments here with tracks that build through guitars and a mixture of strings, brass and piano. This feels like it contains a lot of heart. Listen to Ask where she ends by singing 'It hurts too much to laugh about it' to finish the slow build and you know that the effort isn't just in the tunes here. This is a rock album but don't expect large riffs all the time. Its a quieter affair most of the time actually and whilst the rocky Serpents really works it sounds very familiar but new at the same time. There is an attraction to the whole piece that pulls you back in and as a whole it will stay on the play list for some time.

Thoughtfully put together this will make Van Etten a more familiar name than just to her famous friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Chords, 23 Dec 2012
By 
Andycott22 (Plymouth, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tramp (Audio CD)
Bought the CD on the back of Serpents and although it's not representative of the album I'm so glad I did. Love the stark lyrics on tracks like Kevin's with it's refrain of "Dig your own grave" that sticks in your head long after you've played the track. Melancholia has rarely sounded so good. I can't stop playing the album which reaches a fitting climax with the final 4 songs. Saw SVE live in Cardiff in December including acoustic versions of Give Out and Leonard, that feature on the recently released deluxe edition of Tramp with the band reverting to electric guitars for a visceral Serpents and an utterly compelling rendition of I'm Wrong, replicating the cathedral of sound on the recorded version, ending in reverb.
My favourite track on the album has changed a number of times but is now the emotive All I Can, with it's cut glass vocals.
Music for adults, not felines and an album to treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUBLIME AND EMOTIVE ALBUM, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tramp (Audio CD)
i came across this in the end of year lists and bought it after comparing reviews , , , , , and im so glad i did,so very happy,worth all the misses,to hit something like this.
read the reviews,click,buy,enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure, 29 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tramp (Audio CD)
Bought this after she appeared on Jules Holland. 4 or 5 decent tracks and I have listened to it a few times in case it is a 'creeper', but the rest is rather tedious. Wouldn't rush to buy another one of hers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tramp (Audio CD)
What can you say. This is brilliant. It has become my most played CD. It gets better with each listening. An unassuming artist who just happens to have enviable guest musicians. Class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Draw, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tramp (Audio CD)
Came across Give Out quite by chance and though it was one of the best songs I heard last year.
The album is excellent and would highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 22 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tramp (Audio CD)
First heard her on Jules Holland. Really liked her so bought the album. There are some great tracks, and it gets better with every play. My wifes been playing it in the car and has fallen in love with it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best record of 2012, 3 Jan 2013
By 
bemuse (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tramp (Audio CD)
In a word, sublime. It grows with every listen, each track beautifully simple and complex at the same time, with melodies that all sound like ageless classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Excellent., 12 Feb 2012
By 
David Fuller (Kentish Town, London) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tramp (Audio CD)
Sharon van Etten has been compared to many other recent female singer-songers - Cat Power, Laura Marling, etc. - but I won't have a word of it.

SVE has something, several things, that many of her 'rivals' might lack: a confidence and attitude in her voice and her songwriting (musically, melodically and lyrically), and she has a voice that is different while still being true and un-affected.

For those reasons I'd sooner compare her to the assuredness (if not the style and sound) of Rickie Lee Jones and Joni Mitchell than any of the other current solo women acts I have heard.

Tramp's moody intensity should appeal to fans of Arcade Fire, The National, Jeff Buckley and the like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GUTSY, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tramp (Audio CD)
New Jersey born, Alt/Rock singer/songwriter Sharon Van Etten, with "Tramp", presents her third full length release.
It's an album that veers from the gutsy to the gentle and understated, with Sharon's smouldering vocals pouring out a raft of emotions, full of passion and regret over past broken relationships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tramp
Tramp by Sharon Van Etten
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews