Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
I thoroughly enjoyed this very informative book. As a registered security advisor providing security advice and solutions to government and commercial organisations, I strongly recommend this book to anyone involved with computer security. The authors present this complex subject in a clear and cohessive manner and should be a must for anyone serious about computer...
Published on 22 Dec 2000 by ageorgiou@crypto-solutions.co.uk

versus
31 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Linux only please!
The books bright cover and bold title make you think wow this is gonna be great. However unfortunaly un-less you're running Linux or have a resonable knowledge of Linux your sc***ed. As it says some where in the first few pages you will need a "decent O/S such as Linux". Oh dear! Which basicly means the enitre book was written for Linux users and tends to...
Published on 6 Aug 2001 by arran_throssell@yahoo.com


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Dec 2000
I thoroughly enjoyed this very informative book. As a registered security advisor providing security advice and solutions to government and commercial organisations, I strongly recommend this book to anyone involved with computer security. The authors present this complex subject in a clear and cohessive manner and should be a must for anyone serious about computer security.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for anyone interested in how to secure their computer, 1 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This is an updated version of a 1999 book that instantly became a classic for those 'in the know'. It's ease of reading, makes it ideal for anyone interested in computer security. From the initial outset, the book tries to explain what hackers do and how they do it and with a little practice and following some of the links provided; you too can become a newbie hacker. The authors tell you how to harden to your system to make it more resistant to hack attack. A definate must for anyone who is on a LAN, WAN or just occassionally connects their machine to the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable guide to computer security, 17 April 2001
By A Customer
If you work in IT, or you have even a passing interest then buy this book. In fact, if you even have access to the 'net then buy this book. If you're looking for a light hearted approach to what can be a tricky subject, then look no further. It offers a very full explanation of security threats, attacks and - most importantly - countermeasures on a variety of different platforms. Invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice cover, 18 Jan 2001
By A Customer
The words 'hacking exposed' written in black on red gave me a few dodgy looks from passers by in the office. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book - it covered a lot of things I didn't really know about or think possible, and has made me think twice several times whilst implementing firewalls in our network. Well worth the money....you can save thousands of pounds by doing all your own penetration testing using the methods in this book.... Do it, buy it, never look back. Or behind you. Not a good read for paranoid network managers, mind you !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GET THIS BOOK NOW AND BE PREPARED FOR THE UNEXPECTED!, 5 May 2001
By A Customer
Top notch book, best one i've reviewed on the subject and recommend it for all those network administrators or weiry household users. I was amazed to have discovered that this book provides in detail how hackers hack, techniques,tools,ect and HOW YOU CAN FIGHT BACK!!! makin sure your machine is behind lock 'n key. EXCELLENT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Starting place for all., 16 Jan 2001
By A Customer
I found this book filled in a few spaces where most websites on the subject fail to cover. Most of the examples in this book do explain "How to" and it is backed up by a website for updates and corrections. Overall I am more than pleased with the content and I await the next addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Linux only please!, 6 Aug 2001
The books bright cover and bold title make you think wow this is gonna be great. However unfortunaly un-less you're running Linux or have a resonable knowledge of Linux your sc***ed. As it says some where in the first few pages you will need a "decent O/S such as Linux". Oh dear! Which basicly means the enitre book was written for Linux users and tends to drones on about Linux and how "good it is".
However if you do have Linux then this is probably the book for you as its very clearly written with lots of diagrams and foot-notes. Covering quite a extensive range of topics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This aint no book about hacking, 26 Nov 2000
By A Customer
BEWARE, this book is not about hacking, this book is about system cracking! While rumaging through my local bookstore i came across this book and thought it looked interesting. The thing is I was looking for a book on hacking, unfortunately this book is all about cracking and bringing down systems. If you are looking for a book on hacking go someplace else, however, if you want to maliciously crack and bringdown someones system this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews