Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate pop!
Coo, this takes me back to a happily misspent youth. As you've no doubt guessed, this CD concerns the Brill Building and the denizens within, those ineffable writing writing teams and solo's, who wrote the soundtrack for millions of teens across the world. For a while back then, these good folk and their output were the epicentre of first-rate pop music, which redounds...
Published 6 months ago by Tony Martin

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mistitled
The title of this Compilation is a misnomer. A lot of these songs had nothing to do with the Brill Building (1619 Broadway) but came from 1650 Broadway the home of Aldon Music.Carole King worked there with Gerry Goffin as well as Barry Mann and Cynthia Weil. Good selection though
Published 2 months ago by Boswell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate pop!, 17 Feb 2014
By 
Tony Martin - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Coo, this takes me back to a happily misspent youth. As you've no doubt guessed, this CD concerns the Brill Building and the denizens within, those ineffable writing writing teams and solo's, who wrote the soundtrack for millions of teens across the world. For a while back then, these good folk and their output were the epicentre of first-rate pop music, which redounds and resonates to this day...steady there...but by now, most of these tracks are certifiably 'golden oldies', is all, and I love 'em (well, mostly).

Compiled and annotated by well known anagram Groper Odson, he starts with a reasonable summary and life and conditions at the Brill, names the most notable teams and solo's and merely mentions some of the great songs. Why not?, we know them so well. Well, three were new to me, Myrna March, Vinnie Monte and Birdie Green, they're OK, fit the bill. As for the rest (three from the 50s, balance from from 1960/62), if it doesn't immediately spring to mind, it's a B side or LP cut (Dion's "Dream Lover").

For me, many a personal fave. First heard the Shirelles at a youth club, took me a while to work out the lyrics, pretty risqué for the times. Never bought Bobby Vee, tho remember a passionate night - nothing mucky! - to an LP of his. Barry Mann suffered at the hands of UK cover merchants The Brook Brothers and Viscounts, and Tony Orlando, having scored a major hit over here with "Bless You", couldn't give away his "Halfway To Paradise" due to the cover by our own Billy Fury. "Pretty Little Angel Eyes" I bought, realising later that it was an uptempo doo-wopper. Two or three others I bought in period, but a lot of these tunes were all over the radio, so no need (and they were 'pop', after all). But I did buy Ben E King's "Stand By Me", nowadays a gold plated classic. I take exception to the writer credits (King, Leiber, Stoller), surely it's gospel based? Just change one word - "Darlin'" - to "Jesus"...see what I mean?

I could go on, but this set will sell itself. Tops for nostalgia, mainly pluperfect period pop, cracking CD Gromit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mucking fagic, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got all but one or two tracks but the quality of this CD shines though.
I defy anyone to play this and not to find themselves grinning like a Cheshire cat, you will enjoy it!
good value and great quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A time machine., 18 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album is truly a time machine it will take you back to time when every day seemed to have the sun shining ,the beach was the best destination, A great mix of the best of the best American pop music theirs something for everyone on the amazing album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill Building selection, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Recently released compilation of Brill Building songs from a bygone era, a nice nostalgic collection which was worth waiting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good oldies, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a lot of these tracks were high in the hit parade in the early sixties and they still sound as good now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mistitled, 21 Jun 2014
By 
Boswell (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
The title of this Compilation is a misnomer. A lot of these songs had nothing to do with the Brill Building (1619 Broadway) but came from 1650 Broadway the home of Aldon Music.Carole King worked there with Gerry Goffin as well as Barry Mann and Cynthia Weil. Good selection though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews