Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relentless - Karen Lynch
Sara Grey's life is torn apart 10 years ago when she looses her Dad to a horrific murder. 10 years on she is still haunted by that event, wanting to know answers to why her Dad was murdered and by whom.

Unexpectedly on moving to live with her Uncle, she befriends a Troll, of all creatures, dealing in the black market for the rarest of items. She starts...
Published 8 months ago by Alice Kitson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn..
I read a lot of fantasy and felt like skipping most of this. It could appeal to a younger audiance and I may not be giving it credit, ater all I haven't ever been able to write anything myself.
OK... but not for me :)
Published 7 months ago by Natalie C


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relentless - Karen Lynch, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relentless (Book One) (Kindle Edition)
Sara Grey's life is torn apart 10 years ago when she looses her Dad to a horrific murder. 10 years on she is still haunted by that event, wanting to know answers to why her Dad was murdered and by whom.

Unexpectedly on moving to live with her Uncle, she befriends a Troll, of all creatures, dealing in the black market for the rarest of items. She starts chatting on forums about the supernatural world which gets her thinking about what really happened to her father, could it really have been Vampires? Before she knows it she is slap bang in the middle of the supernatural world, finding out that her own self is far from a normal human being.

Sara's life soon starts to spin out of control being hunted by a sadistic vampire, finding out her best friends are Werewolves, as well as meeting the warrior Nikolas on the same night, who is determined to protect her, even if it is the last thing she wishes for.

Sara has always been independent, surviving on her own; now however, it isn't just her life on the line. Her Uncle and friends are in life-threatening danger and in order to survive Sara must learn to open up and reveal her secrets and powers.

This is one of the most refreshing books I have read in a while, especially when it comes to Vampires, Werewolves and all of those creatures. Vampires that actually acted like Vampires, no shimmering in the light or secretly hero's and become the main character's happily ever after. The Werewolves fought against Vampires and didn't side up with them and the most refreshing part of this book, there was no soppy love story which ruined the main plot; it looks like there may be one set up for the future, but was lovely and subtle. I LOVED IT!

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relentless, 10 Mar 2014
This review is from: Relentless (Book One) (Kindle Edition)
I received a copy of this book from Story Cartel in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Have you ever picked up a book and thought that you knew exactly where it was heading, before you even started it? Well that's what I thought about this book. I thought it would a light, easy read where the story follows the 'set' pattern and it would wile away a couple of hours. Boy, was I wrong!!!

This story is simply fantastic. It is fresh and incredibly well written. There aren't many books out there that can blend fantasy with paranormal but Karen Lynch can and does with aplomb. The synopsis states that vampires are involved so fair enough but I certainly wasn't expecting trolls, imps, sylphs, undines and demons - to name but a few! There are enough characters in here so that everyone can have their favourite although I suspect I'm in the majority for thinking that Nikolas is just "Oh Yeah!". The relationships between Sara and her two best friends, Roland and Peter, are not only believable but also in the minority in books. Yes, people, you can be friends with a guy without any benefits apart from a solid friendship. It was so nice to read this part even with the explanation given by Aine as to the why.

Sara has special gifts, some of which can be explained by Nikolas and some that remain a mystery. Sara states that she is not a warrior. Warriors come in different shapes and sizes but Sara definitely is. She has much to learn and I'm really hoping that Nikolas will be there to help her.

Relentless is full of secrets which I loved reading about, it is also full of humour. Sara is a strong female lead and she is not afraid of speaking her mind, especially to Nikolas. One of my favourite parts is when she speaks to Nikolas on the phone and calls Chris "Dimples". It may not be funny here but read the story and you'll see what I mean.

This is book 1 of a trilogy with book 2 (hopefully) due out late this year. I am now stalking, I mean, following ;) Karen Lynch on Facebook and GoodReads so that I can see as soon as it's available. Good things come to those that wait and if this book is any indication, book 2 is going to be even better. So many things that I want to see happen. Definitely recommended for anyone who likes YA, Fantasy or Paranormal. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A throughly enjoyable story, 26 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relentless (Book One) (Kindle Edition)
I chose this rating because not only did I find this story entertaining, it was quirky and our heroine had compassion and sympathy for the underdog.

The most disappointing thing - or rather, the only disappointment was that there was no Book Two.

So come on Karen, there must be a whole load of us out here waiting for that next instalment - please don't give up now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn.., 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relentless (Book One) (Kindle Edition)
I read a lot of fantasy and felt like skipping most of this. It could appeal to a younger audiance and I may not be giving it credit, ater all I haven't ever been able to write anything myself.
OK... but not for me :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story and can't wait for the next one, 1 Mar 2014
By 
J. Nixon (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relentless (Book One) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant story and can't wait for the next one. Really good characters and all with a twist hope the others carry on in the same manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relentless (Book One) (Kindle Edition)
Great story line and brilliant description. I loved the characters and the twists and turns were perfectly unexpected. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relentless (Book One) (Kindle Edition)
Very good read really enjoyed the story lots of potential for more hope there's a book 2 and 3
Can't wait hope it's soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars .., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relentless (Book One) (Kindle Edition)
:) Very good book, enjoyed it, what is book two about? does it carry on from the first book? X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 77p full of vampires ,werewolfs the lot in this great book, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relentless (Book One) (Kindle Edition)
what a great book. wasnt expecting some thing so cheap to be of any good now i carnt wait for the next book. i can recommend this book to both children an adults. it dosent contain any sexual filth at all. its full of twists an turns. if you like vampires,werewolfs etc you will love this story. i disagree with people who say you could tell what was going to happen ! its a great read. if this is k lynch first book then keep em coming. 77p great price for this book if you love books on vampires an werewolf,fairys you have got the lot in this book. great book to take away on hols for 77p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!!, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relentless (Book One) (Kindle Edition)
This was a surprisingly good read! I read a lot of books in this genre and usually can find at least one aspect about them that I dislike , but I loved this book from start to finish.Can't wait for book2 , Come on Karen Lynch please dont keep us waiting too long !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Relentless (Book One)
Relentless (Book One) by Karen Lynch
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews