Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and concise framework for how product developers and managers should build great product in today's age, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Paul Zimmerman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hooked: How to Build Habit-Forming Products (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. It brings together all the elements you need to make your products come alive and stay relevant and fresh in the eyes of consumers and users of your product.

Eyal uses the framework of Triggers, Actions, Variable Rewards and Investments to show how users are first made aware of their own need to use your product (their "itch"), then what you need to do in the way of actions to respond to those triggers, how you need to continually improve and change the rewards you give users in return for their use of your product and finally what and how users will invest their own time / energy / resources in order to get more from their own use.

This is a great reference, and I'll be going back to this for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightened, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hooked: How to Build Habit-Forming Products (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant prose. A must read for aspiring and current tech entrepreneurs. Proof that 'build it and they'll come' = bankruptcy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Trigger, action, variable reward and investment., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hooked: How to Build Habit-Forming Products (Kindle Edition)
I follow Nir's blog already, and was waiting for this book to be published to get it. Like you, you might be aware of the Hooked Model discussed in the book from his blog posts, yet the book explains the stuff mentioned in the blog posts in more details. Also the example and case studies given in the book puts you in the shoes of those entrepreneurs and how they keep the users of their products hooked. I recommend this book if you are an entrepreneur or just into behavioral psychology.

I blogged about the book here too. https://medium.com/@gr33ndata/hooked-how-to-build-habit-forming-products-9458f0ef38e6
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A really useful read. The book clearly lays out some 'no-brainer' ..., 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hooked: How to Build Habit-Forming Products (Kindle Edition)
A really useful read.

The book clearly lays out some 'no-brainer' theses and concepts. Some of these may be commonsense, but Nir Eyal explains them in a way that makes total sense and lets one articulate the points made much better than would have been the case before reading the book.

Recommended to any tech start-up founders / CEOs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really recommend, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Such a useful book! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs up, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed reading this book and although I am not currently creating a product I found it an entertaining read and will certainly be referring back to it in future.

For the most part Hooked is an in depth handbook to help validate ideas/processes. After the more theory like chapters, there are two great chapters, one on The Bible App (by YouVersion) and one on CSR. The case study on The Bible App was a perfect example of the theories detailed earlier in the book. I didn’t really expect the section on our responsibilities when designing products and shipping them to customers but it really made me think about how important this is for the future.

Thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow!, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I feel like I've just been given the keys to the kingdom! Worth every penny if you love psychology and designing digital products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great and actual, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hooked: How to Build Habit-Forming Products (Kindle Edition)
Even if you already are familiar with the models and psychological biases presented in the book, it still manages to compile very actual and recent mobile app examples of how others have applied them to generate real engagement. Nicely done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars advanced product thinking, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hooked: How to Build Habit-Forming Products (Kindle Edition)
Nir delivers really critical insights backed up by methodical research. Habit is the holy grail of end-to-end user experience, and I'd call this required reading for anyone who wants to be an impactful product developer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hooked: How to Build Habit-Forming Products (Kindle Edition)
Insightful. Helpful. Well researched. Hooked is a blueprint for anyone thinking of jumping in to the App world. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews