Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where "Vreeland: The Eye Has To Travel" meets "The September Issue"
"Mademoiselle C." (2013 release from France; 92 min.) is a documentary about French fashion editor Carine Roitfeld. As the documentary opens, we are in August, 2012, where we learn that Carine is working feverishly to launch a new magazine called "CR Fashion Book". The documentary then goes back to late, 2011, with an announcement from Vodue Paris that Roitfeld is leaving...
Published 13 months ago by Paul Allaer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A PR stunt for CR magazine
I love fashion and I am interested in the "behind the scenes". CR has been the Editor in Chief for Vogue Paris for 10 years before launching into her own venture: her own magazine (plan that has been sidetracked by her appointment to global fashion editor for Harper's Bazaar).

This documentary is plain boring: very little fashion. It is more a PR stunt...
Published 5 months ago by Culture Enthusiast


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where "Vreeland: The Eye Has To Travel" meets "The September Issue", 30 Oct 2013
By 
Paul Allaer (Cincinnati) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mademoiselle C [DVD] (DVD)
"Mademoiselle C." (2013 release from France; 92 min.) is a documentary about French fashion editor Carine Roitfeld. As the documentary opens, we are in August, 2012, where we learn that Carine is working feverishly to launch a new magazine called "CR Fashion Book". The documentary then goes back to late, 2011, with an announcement from Vodue Paris that Roitfeld is leaving after a 10 year stint as editor-in-chief, to pursue "personal projects". The documentary is a mix of both a personal view/impression of Carine Roitfeld, and the efforts to launch a brand new magazine in the span of about 6-7 months. In that regard, this documentary can be described as "Vreeland: The Eye Has To Travel" meets "The September Issue" (although Roitfeld is NOT Diane Vreeland, let's be clear about that).

Couple of comments: writer-director Fabien Constant was given unparalleled access to his subject matter, without any visible restrictions. I don't know whether it was a conscious decision, but the documentary spends just a few fleeting moments on Carine's past, as a result of which we don't get to understand how this woman arrived to this particular moment in her life. Nor are we any the wiser what exactly happened for her to walk away (or to be pushed out?) at Vogue Paris. The movie does a much better job documenting the challenges of launching a new magazine, and in fact the last 30-40 min. are entirely focused on that, and are for me the most compelling part of this documentary. A big negative throughout the documentary for me is the incessant name-dropping. Kanye West! Donatella Versace! Kate Upton! Scarlett Johansson! Stef Van der Laan! and on and on, it just never stops. Carine Roitfeld does give us a couple of great lines, though, such as "It's better to be told you look beautiful tonight than to be asked what are you wearing?", ha! And even more appropriate: "You have to love the camera!", which Carine certainly does.

Imagine my surprise when this documentary showed up out of the blue at my local art-house theatre here in Cincinnati this past weekend without any pre-release hype or advertising. I figured this wouldn't play very long and went ahead to see it right away. The screening I saw this at was not well attended, and I wasn't surprised. Bottom line: "Mademoiselle C." is an okay but not great documentary. But if you are interested in high fashion and the fashion magazine world, then this is a no-brainer and worth checking out in the theatre or on DVD/Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A PR stunt for CR magazine, 13 July 2014
By 
Culture Enthusiast (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mademoiselle C [DVD] (DVD)
I love fashion and I am interested in the "behind the scenes". CR has been the Editor in Chief for Vogue Paris for 10 years before launching into her own venture: her own magazine (plan that has been sidetracked by her appointment to global fashion editor for Harper's Bazaar).

This documentary is plain boring: very little fashion. It is more a PR stunt for her magazine: the camera follows Carine across the globe and she talks with her collaborators about the concept of her new magazine, the cover, the logo and the "difficulties" she is facing. We see a lot of her children (one is an art dealer and the other one is a creative director ... very hard to get into fashion/art with mum and daddy's PR machine behind them ...). There are a couple of shoots and most of the documentary is about Carine is becoming grandma, Carine is polite and lovely with everyone, Carine is organising a charity event. You get the point!

The September Issue is what a fashion documentary should be: focus on fashion, how it really works behind the scenes, great photography. This Mademoiselle C is plain boring and just a PR assignment to boost CR image - rumour has it that she got dismissed from Paris Vogue for favouring her friends in photo shoots (Tom Ford). True? Who knows, the PR documentary does not talk about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not The September Issue, 29 April 2014
This review is from: Mademoiselle C [DVD] (DVD)
Disappointed by this DVD. Thought the September Issue was brilliant. But this one a bit too busy although some of the photography scenes for the book are good. CR is v likeable but a lot of the interviewees are just fawning and their contributions lack substance. Enjoyable enough but unlikely I'll watch again - unlike the SI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars interesting lady, 4 May 2014
By 
WPT "WPT" (Cronulla NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mademoiselle C [DVD] (DVD)
I am very pleased to have had this insight into this world and personality,
personality, charm & style -good girl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stylish, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mademoiselle C [DVD] (DVD)
It was fun to see behind the scenes in the fashion world. It is a bit busy as documentary but entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mademoiselle C, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mademoiselle C [DVD] (DVD)
Very interesting insight into the fashion world in this DVD film of Carine Roitfeld and the making of her
magazine CR. She shows the glamour of the fashion industry but also the very human and endearing
personal qualities which make her such an attractive and inspiring person. Item arrived on time and in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great in-sight into the world of Carina., 1 Jan 2014
This review is from: Mademoiselle C [DVD] (DVD)
Well edited and produced. This movie is a roller coaster of a ride to watch, An amazing in-sight into the world of fashion, media and family life of someone at the top of her game.
Carina is a very likeable person and comes across grounded with her values based around her family unit.
Her passion for anything fashion is very contagious, but she never lets the mad, unpredictable world of fashion go to her head. She has true classic style which seems based on just knowing herself really well and being comfortable in her own skin.
If you love fashion this DVD has a place in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mademoiselle C fashion documentary, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mademoiselle C [DVD] (DVD)
It was a really good insight in to the fashion world and how Carine Roitfeild
embarks on to set up her own fashion magazine really enjoyable worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Idol dreams, 3 Jan 2014
This review is from: Mademoiselle C [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great film for anyone interested in fashion or even career development. Like through Corinne's eyes is far from dull. Loved it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant documentary!, 6 Aug 2014
the fascinating life of a legendary force in the fashion industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mademoiselle C [Blu-ray] [2013] [US Import]
Mademoiselle C [Blu-ray] [2013] [US Import] by Carine Roitfeld (Blu-ray - 2014)
£13.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews