Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Series
I watched this on Channel 4 and it was excellent. Michael Sheen is great in everything but he excels in his role as the very serious Dr Bill Masters. He hires Virginia Johnson (Lizzie Caplan) as his Secretary. Virginia is a modern woman very in touch with her sexual self! Bill is married and he and his wife are trying for a baby. What comes to light in that respect makes...
Published 5 months ago by Laura

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Sex Files
This is the first season of a show based on the real life studies of Dr Williams Masters and Virginia Johnson. Alongside being a gynaecologist, Masters started an illicit study of the secrets and science behind sex; everything you wanted to know but were too afraid to ask. In some ways, the show is similar to The X Files in that two mavericks, who are perfectly capable of...
Published 3 months ago by Miss Scarlett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Series, 13 Jun 2014
By 
Laura (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I watched this on Channel 4 and it was excellent. Michael Sheen is great in everything but he excels in his role as the very serious Dr Bill Masters. He hires Virginia Johnson (Lizzie Caplan) as his Secretary. Virginia is a modern woman very in touch with her sexual self! Bill is married and he and his wife are trying for a baby. What comes to light in that respect makes the viewer see Bill as a rather cold and calculating individual. The fact this story is based on real life couple Williams and Johnson makes you realise that somewhere in the coming Seasons, Bill's poor wife is going to get terribly hurt. In fact quite a few characters will be effected by Masters and Johnson's actions.

Masters wants to know what happens to the body during sex. He is not exactly personable with the people he enlists to take part in his study. Realising Virginia is a people person, he enlists her as his Assistant. They begin experiments on prostitutes, anonymous couples and single men and women and observe their bodies responses during sex and masturbation. There are lots of sexual scenes in this series but nothing offensive. As the series progresses you sense Bill becoming attracted and intrigued by Virginia. I didn't sense Virginia reciprocating with the attraction until near the end of the series but by then, she has befriended his wife so as I said before, I'm beginning to feel sorry for his wife especially as it's based on a true story. After a while of experimenting on others, Bill and Virginia decide to participate in their own study, having sex with each other and monitoring their responses. I did feel the chemistry between them. Lizzy Caplan is fantastic in her role as Virginia. She's super confident and I loved it when she stood up to Bill.

There are lots of different characters, all of them interesting but the stand out side character for me was Margaret Scully. She is married to Bill's mentor. Without spoiling anything, there is a really moving and poignant storyline involving this couple. The actress who plays Margaret gives a stunning performance. Beau Bridges plays her husband Scully and although I didn't like his characters actions, he plays a great part.

I'm not sure if many people overlooked this when it was on TV but if you did, then buy the DVD and be prepared to be amazed at a great storyline and superb acting. There is humour, sex and sadness. I'm eagerly awaiting series 2 but can't find a date for it as yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Sex Files, 7 Aug 2014
This is the first season of a show based on the real life studies of Dr Williams Masters and Virginia Johnson. Alongside being a gynaecologist, Masters started an illicit study of the secrets and science behind sex; everything you wanted to know but were too afraid to ask. In some ways, the show is similar to The X Files in that two mavericks, who are perfectly capable of doing an excellent job in a role that conforms, are dedicated to work which is controversial and laughed at yet it reveals hidden truths.

It goes without saying that the show has sexual content but it doesn't feel exploitative. The real interest of the show is Masters (Michael Sheen) and Johnson's (Lizzy Caplin) passion for their work and how this shared passion draws them to each other. It could be any branch of knowledge but the fact that it is a study of sex adds even more layers. What is real and what is science? The relationship between Masters and Johnson is a great slow burn, built on the profound level of a shared understanding- despite their very different personalities. Michael Sheen plays Masters' starchy attitude and personal struggles very effectively (that's the British speciality after all!). However because the character is so unlikeable, the show needs Caplin's warmness and feisty spirit.

One interesting thing the show does is to remove the rose-tinted spectacles with which we view 'the olden days'. Whilst they did wear some nice dresses in the fifties, it was a time when people had to rigidly conform to prejudice and women had to conform to gender rules that had been set by men. The show's tone is not preachy though; it has the right amount of tongue-in-cheek humour to make the science interesting.

Where the show is less interesting is in its secondary characters and conflicts. I did think Masters' boss's (Beau Bridges) struggle with his homosexuality was interesting but some of the younger pretty characters felt a bit weak and 'unreal', such as the character of young doctor Ethan (Nicholas D'Agosto). D'Agosto just feels too modern to convince as a sexually naive young man.

Also, eleven episodes is too much and the show felt dragged out at times. Seven or even eight episodes would have made it punchier; I found that as much as I enjoyed the episodes whilst watching them, I could easily miss them.

Now Season 2 has just started and the premise has been set-up, I hope that the concept of the love story between people who have an intellectual bond will be even more central.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 23 May 2014
By 
DOUBLE 'L' (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I watched this on Channel 4 primarily because of Michael Sheen. I love him in anything. I had never heard beforehand of the real life couple the series focuses on, Dr William Masters and Virginia Johnson but I have since done a bit of research on them and it was certainly interesting!

This series deals with how Virginia first comes to work for Masters but it also includes many other characters and storylines. I particularly liked the storyline concerning Master's Mentor, Scully, played by Beau Bridges and the story with his wife. That was actually quite poignant and some great acting by the actress Alison Janney playing Scully's wife Margaret.

Masters is almost repressed. He shows very little emotion. We are given tiny clues into why he is the way he is. He is married but it doesn't appear happily on his part.. His wife is trying to get pregnant which is a storyline that plays a big part in this series. Virginia is a very modern woman for her time. She knows what she wants sexually and she's not afraid to ask for it! Masters is intrigued by Virginia and soon she begins to work closely with him on his research into human sexuality. The programme does contain a lot of nudity and sex scenes but nothing too gratuitous.

Knowing this is a true story and that eventually Masters and Johnson did become a couple almost spoils the 'will they, won't they' aspect created in this series because of course we know they do get together but what is interesting is they made Masters wife Libby a really lovely character who it's easy to feel sorry for so knowing what is to come concerning her marriage leaves me as the viewer very sympathetic towards her. Virginia's character is also interesting, she basically has a pair of balls!! I am not yet convinced that she has fallen for Masters but it is clear he has for her so I look forward to watching the characters growth in the next series.

Through their work on the research project we slowly begin to see a relationship form between Masters and Virginia yet he still holds himself back. The series has a climatic (excuse the pun!) conclusion. This series has it all, romance, sex, wit and sadness. I can't recommend it highly enough. All the actors are fantastic and I'm looking forward to Series 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this. Very stylishly filmed, 20 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this. Very stylishly filmed, with some great performances, and certainly evokes the period (or at least what I imagine that era to be). Very interesting how the attitude to women is shown. Everything must have been easier when sexism was not only normal but mandatory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding., 10 Oct 2014
By 
A. Sisson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very well made series and well acted especially Liizzy Caplan fits the sexy part so well - she is gorgeous.

Michael Sheen as Bill Masters is outstanding, I would like to think that he has captured the real Dr. Masters completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Matthews' Masters of Sex Review, 29 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this DVD box set as it was just what I was looking for. It was imaginative, thoughtful, concise and to the point whilst still managing to be creative and the service I received was very good as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Despite its lurid title and subject matter this a sensitive ..., 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite its lurid title and subject matter this a sensitive and enthralling account of a scientific team who have given so much insight into an intimate area of human behaviour which had been previously unexplored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pioneering Analysis of Relationships, 24 July 2014
At times, I look at Yahoo news online and my free local newspaper for ideas on what might be good to watch (in ways of television and/or movies). However, I have to credit finding out about Masters Of (starring Martin Sheen and Lizzy Caplan) through Entertainment Weekly magazine around 3-4 weeks ago. I was looking through Entertainment Weekly magazine during one of my scheduled lunch breaks during my overnight shift at work when I spotted an article about the Masters Of television show (starring Martin Sheen and Lizzy Caplan) and pictures of scenes from the show. The author of the article wrote it in a way that persuaded me to know more about the show and eventually purchased the dvd on July 3, 2014. The twelve episodes keep one at suspense and the dvd has a jacket that features a brief summary of what each of the 12 episodes are about. Please know that I only have the intent of respect for their real-life partners. However, the scenes of some of the “research work” going on between Martin Sheen’s character of Dr. Masters and Lizzy Caplan’s character of Virginia Johnson highlight strong chemistry and an off the chart dose of intense passion/ steam. Beau Bridges, Caitlin Fitzgerald, Teddy Sears, and Nicholas D’Agosto are listed on the back of the dvd as some of the actors and actresses on Masters Of(the third word is left out due the fact that I’m concerned that writing the third word may clash with Amazon’s terms of profanity in written words) . The back of the dvd also features pictures of the various actors and actresses that are featured in the show. The front of the dvd shows the picture of Martin Sheen as Dr. Masters and Lizzy Caplan as Virginia Johnson. There is a quoted text of the Rolling Stone magazine review of the Masters Of dvd calling this television show “The Best New Show” while the TV guide review on the back says “stimulating and satisfying.” Disc one contains the first three episodes, disco two features episodes 4-6, disc three has episodes 7-9, and the fourth disc has the last three episodes. The following are the special features included within the four dvds for the Masters Of television show:
Cast & Crew Commentary On the Pilot Episode
Deleted Scenes
Making Masters Of
A Masterful Portrayal: Michael Sheen As Dr. Masters
Ahead Of Her Time: Lizzy Kaplan As Virginia Johnson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 28 Oct 2014
Excellent! Great story lines and acting, together with the period set makes for good viewing, watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Nov 2014
Thought season 1 was great! Recommended by a friend, glad I watched it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Masters of Sex: The Complete First Season [Blu-ray] [2013] [US Import]
£76.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews