Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rollicking roller-coaster ride!
Just finished reading 'Hive Monkey' tonight - had to get the review in as soon as. I wasn't sure that Gareth Powell could top the success of 'Ack-Ack Macaque', but I think he has. This series just keeps getting better and better. I can't wait to read further adventures involving the monkey and his adopted 'troupe'- just as soon as you can, Mr Powell, please?
By...
Published 16 months ago by elizabeth anne hepburn

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not living up to it's promise....
Published 10 months ago by Bookbinder


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rollicking roller-coaster ride!, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hive Monkey (Ack-Ack Macaque Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Just finished reading 'Hive Monkey' tonight - had to get the review in as soon as. I wasn't sure that Gareth Powell could top the success of 'Ack-Ack Macaque', but I think he has. This series just keeps getting better and better. I can't wait to read further adventures involving the monkey and his adopted 'troupe'- just as soon as you can, Mr Powell, please?
By the way, does anybody think these stories would adapt really well to graphic novel format? Come on, publishers - what about it?
As for all you sci-fi/fantasy/steampunk readers out there, do give these books a try; they're tremendous fun and keep you grabbed until the last chapter - love them, love them, love them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The monkey strikes back, 1 Feb. 2014
By 
Christopher Long "Phone Monkey" (Rugby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hive Monkey (Ack-Ack Macaque Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Last year I came across the name Ack-Ack Macaque and I just knew I had to take a closer look. What followed was a wild fantasy ride that left me wanting more. And, lucky me, more there is.
Hive Monkey does not disappoint if you're a fan of the first book. If anything it takes the already brilliantly twisted idea and improves upon it. It pushes the lead characters further, drives the story to an even more insane place and the action never lets up.
If you're suffering from the beginning of year blues then I say hail a passing Spitfire and hang on for one hell of a flight to hell and back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great follow-up and a sense of direction for the monkey, 14 May 2014
By 
Andy (Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hive Monkey (Ack-Ack Macaque Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I loved Ack-Ack Macaque and the follow-up doesn't disappoint. In some ways I always felt the character was a little bit too clever for its own good - a good idea that somehow escaped into a novel - and lacked any real depth to develop. Powell confounds that here with a plotline that suggests some interesting books to come. Some may find the use of old tropes like parallel universes a bit of a cop-out. But the story barrels along at a pace regardless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Damned readable, and thoroughly enjoyable, 5 Feb. 2015
By 
Hive Monkey is the second novel in Gareth L Powell’s Ack-Ack Macaque series, a series I was eager to read more of after the impressive – and BSFA award winning – first novel, Ack-Ack Macaque. When I read the first novel last year I was surprised at what I found. Rather than a light-hearted steampunk romp I found an intricate and absorbing sci-fi story with a unique and rather enjoyable anti-hero. There was also much more to the novel than I initially thought, so wondering where Powell would take things with Hive Monkey was high on my list of priorities. And let me say this: I wasn’t left disappointed.

From the publisher:
In order to hide from his unwanted fame as the spitfire-pilot-monkey who emerged from a computer game to defeat the nefarious corporation that engineered him, the charismatic and dangerous Ack-Ack Macaque is working as a pilot on a world-circling nuclear-powered Zeppelin.
But when the cabin of one of his passengers is invaded by the passenger’s own dying doppelganger, our hirsute hero finds himself thrust into another race to save the world – this time from an aggressive hive mind, time-hopping saboteurs, and an army of homicidal Neanderthal assassins!

Now famous all over the world, Ack-Ack Macaque is piloting the airship Tereshkova for its owner and his friend, Victoria Valois. Among others on the ship are K8, a teenage hacker that Ack-Ack has grown close to, and Victoria’s holographic husband, Paul, who has moved past the constraints of his soul catcher to inhabit the ship’s computers. When popular SF writer William Cole escapes an attempt on his life and ends up on the Tereshkova, Ack-Ack, K8, Victoria, and Paul are drawn into a mysterious web of lies and intrigue when Cole’s double from a parallel universe turns up dead on the ship. Add to this the hive-mind cult, the Gestalt, are growing in power and size, and appear more involved in events the deeper Ack-Ack and the crew look.

Now that we’ve got that little bit out of the way I’m not going to talk too much about the plot again. Why, you ask? Simply because it’s one that I think you need to experience yourself, as fresh as possible. What Hive Monkey does is keep things going after the end of Ack-Ack Macaque, adding much that can be appreciated, but also doing so in a fun and informal manner.

The characters are much the same as in the first novel, so having them back is a welcome sight. However, events from the first novel have had an effect and Powell develops them nicely along the way. Ack-Ack is a particularly interesting character once again. Yes, he’s a violent, foul mouthed, and gun-toting monkey, but he’s got some deeper issues that start to come through as events in the novel unfold. The same can be said for all our main protagonists, with Victoria, K8, and Paul showing very real and emotional developments. Cole meanwhile, the new addition to the main cast, has all sorts of issues that the appearance of his doppelganger only exacerbates, as does the discovery of multiple universes.

While I won’t talk about the plot, I can say that things move along quickly, much like its predecessor. It throws some surprises in along the way, but nothing that doesn’t fit the setting and structure that Powell has created. In short, it’s damned readable, and thoroughly enjoyable.

Gareth L Powell has managed once again to deliver a novel that blows expectations out of the water. Hive Monkey is not only an enjoyable novel, it’s one that introduces new elements and opens up the setting for some very interesting future stories. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fun romp, 27 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. J. A. F. Turner "foxtrotyankee" (Wednesbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hive Monkey (Ack-Ack Macaque Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
But maybe not as good as the first book in the series. A nice, quick easy read, would almost suit as YA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable romp, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hive Monkey (Ack-Ack Macaque Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A good idea, but taken about as far as it will go, even here about two thirds through it got a bit repetitive on the descriptions and musings it just seemed to stagnate a bit before the big ending. I enjoyed it, but I think the idea has run as far as it will go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monkey Magic, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hive Monkey (Ack-Ack Macaque Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Ack Ack is back and back with a bang. The Macaque with attitude is back and bored with the quiet life and wishes for some excitement. Sometimes you shouldnt wish. Once again the world is in peril and Ack Ack steps up to the plate to save it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fun and highly thought provoking, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hive Monkey (Ack-Ack Macaque Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyable with likable characters and a lot of fun with alternate realities - genuinely thought-provoking. And of course there's the Monkey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An accomplished sequel, 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hive Monkey (Ack-Ack Macaque Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A punchy and satisfying follow up to the original Ack Ack Macaque that delivers on the promise of the first book. The monkey still represents the clash between wild and civilised and the characters all manage to develop a little amongst the chaos of a huge storyline.

It manages to be delightfully different to the original, without losing those aspects that made the first book so awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 22 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not living up to it's promise....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hive Monkey (Ack-Ack Macaque Book 2)
£4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews