Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic.
I waited a while before I reviewed them, it's been nearly 2 years.

And I'm thrilled to say that even after a prolonged period of heavy use they still look virtually brand new, are working perfectly and sound fantastic.

This was my first (fairly expensive) pair of headphones after years of Sony in-ear buds and I've never looked back.

And...
Published 8 months ago by R. J. Price

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor sound, uncomfortable
I took advantage of a one-day sale on Amazon to pick these up for £95. I started listening to them, and was perplexed by the sound. It's dark and dim, bassy and without detail. There is little detail from these headphones, and the sound is very muffled. I held on to them for a while, hoping they'd open up, but they didn't, so I'm going to return them. (I've had them less...
Published 18 days ago by Kirk McElhearn


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 3 Jan 2014
By 
R. J. Price - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I waited a while before I reviewed them, it's been nearly 2 years.

And I'm thrilled to say that even after a prolonged period of heavy use they still look virtually brand new, are working perfectly and sound fantastic.

This was my first (fairly expensive) pair of headphones after years of Sony in-ear buds and I've never looked back.

And unsurprisingly the Momentum's blow my Brother's beats out of the water in both build and sound quality.

If you're in the market for a solid pair of excellent sounding headphones, then you can't go wrong with these. Trust me, they are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Does the Future Sound Like? Try These and Find Out, 17 July 2014
By 
Bill Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wow. It is hard to describe just how wonderful these headphones are, certainly when comparing them to any other headphones costing under £300.00. I was in John Lewis in High Wycombe on a Friday afternoon, trying out 20 or 30 different headphones, and came across a pair of Sennheiser Momentum. I put on the Momentum 'phones, and listened to The Future is Silent, a track by OMD from their 2013 album English Electric. I was stunned by how amazing the sound was, in a different league to all the over headphones I had tried, including a few by Bose. Crystal clear treble and vocals, warm and vibrant bass lines. Listening to the momentum headphones, after trying out all the others, was like trying to look through a car windscreen covered with rain, and then using the wipers. I've now listened to hundreds if not thousands of tracks on these headphones. Trust me, if you are going to demo these headphones, get the MP3 single of The Future is Silent and listen to that, because if that track doesn't persuade you about how good the 'phones are, I doubt that anything will. These headphones are not cheap at £170.00 to £200.00, but you are highly unlikely to be disappointed with your purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars stylish, great sound but..., 21 July 2014
By 
M. Chrobot "M. Chrobot" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These headphones look awesome. The design and build quality is excellent. They're basically made of stainless steel and leather. The sound quality is excellent; you can hear the smallest details and pauses between instruments. They are surprisingly light and don't stand out too much when you're wearing them. The ear cups however are very small so if you have larger than average-ish ears (like me although I wouldn't say that my ears are larger than average) you may not find these comfortable at all. The best feature of these headphones is that to remove the cable you need to twist and pull so if anyone decides they want to run off with your headphones, the cable won't come out and they will most likely let go. I just wish all manufacturers would go with this design.

If you're planning on using these in a quiet-ish environment then you won't be disappointed, if however you want to listen to the music on the London tube, you might want to look elsewhere as you won't be able to hear much unless you turn your volume up to 100% and even then you won't benefit from the quality of the music because of all the noise.

Overall, great headphones, excellent sound, build quality and design however if you have larger than average-ish ears or you'll be listening to these in a very noisy environment then you might want to look elsewhere.

Just in case, here's what's in the box:
1: 1.4m audio cable with a remote
1: 1.4m audio cable without a remote
hard shell travel case
and... the headphones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 107 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic addition to the Momentum Range, 22 July 2013
By 
Brian Hamilton "brianhamilton14" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a lucky owner of the full fat Momentums I was massively interested in trying out the new styled up and shrunk down version of the cans.

I have been a big fan of the Momentums and they have quickly become my go-to set of cans when looking for a relaxed listening experience.

So, what are the differences between the new Momentums and the old ones? Well, the first difference is the size, the cups are a good bit smaller on the new ones. Secondly, the headband has slightly less padding, thirdly the earcup padding is made from a synthetic suede that is very hard wearing (as opposed to the plush leather cups of the old Momentums) and fourth is the included case, whereas the old Momentums had a semi-rigid, form-fitting case, the new cans have a generically shaped case which is less rigid (but nonetheless very nice).

One other important difference I noted was the size of the headphone jack, the new cans seem to have shrunk the jack to miniscule proportions, the old cans had a very nice metal jack that could be adjusted from straight on to 90 degrees.

The pictures show the main differences.

Anyway, these cans ooze sex appeal, they are firmly aimed at the street market and will (hopefully) take some of the market share away from the god-awful Beats cans that the kids seem to think are the nuts.

Sennheiser is a well respected brand that has been in the game for a long time and their upper end cans such as the HD 800's and HD 650's have been praised by high-end audiophilles the world over. It is only right that the technology filters down to the lower range items. The original Momentums were highly praised for their styling and highly impressive sound quality. I think the new Momentums (lets call them Momentum Lites) sound equally as impressive.

Okay, the styling is obviously a big factor in this market sector and Sennheiser have thrown out a good range of colours, the green looks really nice, the Alacantra suede on the cups extends to the headband. The cups themselves are the same glass injected plastic as the old Momentums and the nearly but not quite lime green contrasts well with the almost khaki green of the Alacantra. The cabling is black and the package hangs together well, it looks classy without being overstated. As for the ivory/brown, this looks very classy indeed, the semi-gloss of the ivory sits well against the muted brown of the padding. A well chosen and elegant colour combination.

In use the cup size is immediately noticeable, they are a good bit smaller than the old Momentums but as they are so light and don't grip your head too tightly they feel supremely comfortable. In fact, the suede material breathes better than the leather so your ears don't get sweaty during extended listening sessions.

Anyway, enough about looks, how about the sound. Well, I used my standard lineage to trial these phones. It was

Ipod Classic (Rockboxed) > FLAC files > Fiio dock out cable > Fiio E7 Headphone amp
Sansa Clip Zip (Rockboxed) > FLAC files

I burnt the cans in overnight (plugged into ipod left on repeat and played at slightly louder than normal volume).

First up was Winter Fields by Bat For Lashes, this is a good test for cans as the wind solo at the start will reveal the small intakes of breath and the Momentums easily revealed this. The rest of the song was well rendered with equal emphasis across all of the spectrum. These are certainly not bass heavy headphones. Natasha Khans voice was very clear, and a small echo that I had not noticed before was apparent.

I then checked out Stepping Filter from the Analord Series by Aphex Twin. A lot of this material has less than clinical mastering so a revealing set up will show any fuzzy edges to the sounds. Again a good overall performance, some fuzz was apparent which to me is a good thing, you are getting close to the source and picking up detail that less able cans would overlook.

Next up, Get Lucky by Daft Punk. Given the richness of the original recording the Momentums delivered this with ease, the bass was actually quite forward and ever so slightly muddy, not a big surprise as the drivers on these cans are not huge. However, vocals and guitar were masterfully delivered with an effortless ease that made for an excellent listening experience.

I then listened to Foreground by Grizzly Bear, the fragile as glass piano notes were beautifully expressed and the whispered vocals sounded lovely. I am beginning to think the Momentums are strongest with mid range sounds. The muted drum sounds very clear, bassy but not overwhelming

Lastly, I checked out The Eve of the War, from Disc 1 of The War of the Worlds - The opening speech by Richard Burton is a good way to check out the dark space that cans give and the Momentums did not disappoint, again the slight echo was apparent and the noise floor is pretty much spot on. The opening bars of the movement are well presented, the brass is especially impressive, highly defined with no stridency. The strings are also excellent.

So, impressions so far

BASS - Not bass heavy cans but certain bass frequencies seem to come across as slightly muddy. However, other bass frequencies seem well rendered, very definite without being too heavy or forward.

MIDS - Like their bigger cousins the mids just sparkle, vocals are excellently defined and echo can be discerned where lesser cans would fail to pick that up, piano and guitar just sing, you can feel the strings vibrate, excellent

UPPERS - no issues here at all, well rendered, not sibilant or fatiguing

SOUNDSTAGE - These are small cans and the soundstage is not massive, slightly smaller than the full size cousins but you are not going to get a broad stage with cans of this form factor.

SOUND ISOLATION - The suede material leaks more sound in and out than the full size Momentums so sound isolation is not as good. However, the plus side is that the ears don't sweat and can breathe a lot better than with the full size cans.

OVERALL - A very impressive set of cans that are shockingly good given the market they are aimed at. They are well refined with the weight of the marque behind them. They have the feeling that they would be pretty scalable too and would grow with your system. The slight muddiness in part of the bass frequency is an issue but could be ironed out with judicious equalizing making these a very capable and competent set of cans.

I would easily recommend these over the likes of Beats headphones, they are hugely impressive, incredibly well made, refined, understated and the sound belies the massive heritage and expertise behind them. This is yet another slam dunk for Sennheiser, what is impressive here is that they are aiming at the Beats market and have quickly developed a new lines of headphones that is not simply an old can with a snazzy paint job, they have made a set of very capable cans that sounds really nice.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice sound and fits a big head, 19 Aug 2014
Sounds excellent with all sorts of music, from Rammstein to Schubert over Dire Straits they present a balanced and enjoyable sound. The case is big but of high quality and easy to use. One minor niggle: the mic is IMO located too high on the chord, it's hard to see it i.e. too close to the eyes so to speak.

Some practical information:

If you got a big head like me they're just fine, no problem with a comfortable fit.
If you got big ears however it may be a problem as the inner dimension of the cups is 3 x 4.5 cm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No added colourants!, 23 Nov 2012
By 
Paul Madge (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Like another reviewer experienced, Amazon were out of stock of these headphones so I had to revert to John Lewis who had them available. As far as I can see the price at all retailers is very close - there are no significant discounts at the time of writing! I bought these Sennheiser Momentums for static rather than mobile use and they are used in conjunction with a Marantz hifi system.

A critical requirement was to minimise sound leakage outside the headphones to avoid annoying others, so, a closed back design was essential. These phones are pretty effective at sealing in the sound (so I'm told).

The first and most obvious thing about these headphones is the high quality of construction - they exude quality. The headband is leather covered as are the ear pads which use a particular type of Somerset Leather to provide optimum comfort. The headband can be adjusted and remain in position despite there not being a click stop mechanism - the pressure of the "cans" against your head can be adjusted to perfection. Rather than having the usual two wires the single entry (detachable) cable makes the headset easier to take on and off. The detachable lead means a worn lead can be replaced, and, if your usage is similar to mine you can replace the iPhone remote/microphone lead with the (supplied) ordinary (but equally high quality) cable. I find these factors combine to make the headphones very comfortable to wear for long periods, in fact, I enjoy them so much I almost don't want to take them off!

I have read what other reviewers have said about the sound. To me, the sound is very good and detailed but neutral - you get out what you put in without colouration. I don't find when used with my equipment there is any emphasis on the bass as some reviewers suggest. The sound is very distinct and spacious across the audio spectrum, and, because of the detailed output, I've heard aspects of my CDs/MP3s that I simply wasn't aware of before. The sound quality is such that listening is a pure pleasure, and, I don't suffer from any physical or aural fatigue with these Momentums.

The presentation of these premium headphones is consistent with what you'd expect - they come in a luxurious and stylish hard case. My only negative observation being that the case could be a bit bulky if you are using the headphones on the move, although, that is irrelevant in my mode of usage.

In summary, the Sennheiser Momentums represent high quality in terms of their presentation, construction, ergonomics and, above all, sound output. In my opinion, hard to fault, but easy to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good quality and good value., 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Premium feel, definitely feel luxury too. Good overall performance. Very fine highs and mids. Doesnt need separate amp. Easy to drive with portable device. Very deep bass (frequency wise). But feels slightly like bose where lower mid/upper bass is weaken to create the illuaion of stronger bass. This makes some music some what unbalance. Very good for movie/gaming. I wish there is abit more adjustment to the headband, can feel abit tight after an hour of use. I also own akg 701,702,451, koss portable, gardo sr60, 325. And KEF reference 201/2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great set of headphones!, 22 May 2014
I've owned these for a few days now and I personally think they are worth their price tag! The soundleak isn't as bad as some people have stated. I work in an office where you can hear people crunching their food its that quiet and it doesn't seem to bother anybody (I have my iPod volume level is on 50%-75%). Volume at 100% can definitely be heard by anyone within a few feet of you. There not noise cancelling which I knew before buying, this doesn't bother me as I bought them to use in the office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A prime example of what expensive headphones should be, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an audiophone, I'm in love with these headphones! The sound is clean, punchy and extremely accurate. To top it off, they're extremely well designed and the build quality is second to none. They're also 100% comfortable to use, you can wear them all day with no issues which is really surprising for on-ear headphones. Equalisers be gone, a great set of headphones sound awful with any sort of EQ.

Regardless of what genre of music you like listening to these, definitely won't disappoint you.

Bottom line is it worth £170? Not really. You can buy a pair of £80 Sennheiser headphones with similar barely-distinguishable sound quality. All you're really paying for is the build quality when comparing these to any mid range Sennheisers. They sound great nonetheless, you definitely don't need to spend a penny more for any headphones even if you're a professional audio producer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want headphones for around £200? Look no further., 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would definitely recommend for someone looking for over-ears under £200. Dont think they are worth their original £250. Managed to pick them up for £190. Only down-side is some leakage at medium to loud volumes. They are however very good headphones. Even the box is classy, the case is slotted into foam, with a little ribbon on the spine, first impressions and all that. If you want bass heavy audio, these are probably not quite what you're looking for. Although they do cope with the lower frequencies well, they do not overpower you.

The inline audio controls work on my ipod and nexus 10, but not lumia 920. Not the headphones problem, but thought is worth mentioning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews