Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Austrian, Creature Feature that is rather good.
Also known as ‘The Station’, Blood Glacier is set in the Alps where we meet a group of beardy, scientists (except the lady one) who are monitoring the glaciers to inform us more about global warming etc. We have one who has stayed there for too long after a relationship went south as indeed did she. This is Janek who likes a drink and his companion dog –...
Published 10 months ago by Tommy Dooley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars INTO THE FIRE!
A group of scientist are studying the recession of a glacier. Global Warming has caused some issues, but it is about to get worse. Janek (Gerhard Liebmann) is the main character. He has been stationed up here for 5 years. When they lose contact with one of their remotes, he investigates only to find the "blood glacier," a red colored glacier which places a red...
Published 7 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Austrian, Creature Feature that is rather good., 31 Jan 2014
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Also known as ‘The Station’, Blood Glacier is set in the Alps where we meet a group of beardy, scientists (except the lady one) who are monitoring the glaciers to inform us more about global warming etc. We have one who has stayed there for too long after a relationship went south as indeed did she. This is Janek who likes a drink and his companion dog – ‘Tinnie’ which I think is short for tinnitus – well if the cap fits and all that.

Anyway one day the glacier has turned rather red and seems to be oozing some sort of ‘stuff’. After examination the scientist boffins proclaim that it is definitely organic, but in true ‘don’t go back to the dangerous place’ fashion, they need more samples and so will have to return – mwah!!

Then we have a ‘worse for wear’ Janek spying a mutant fox – and he is taken less than seriously. There is also a visit from the environment Minister the following day and she is being accompanied by Janek’s lost love Tanja. The thing is should they ward off the Minister because of a potential danger from a rabid fox thing or let them come to secure future funding? Well of course they won’t put them off and then things start to get strange as not only animals but birds and insects start to appear that have never been seen before and they are all rather violent too; cue the gore and drills and guns and spikes etc

Before you can say mutant infectious freaks, things go very bad indeed. Now some horror fans did not like this but I loved the fact that they are proper made up mutant things and none of the CGI cop out that we are becoming so used to. There is a bit of CGI but only when needed for SFX. The acting is actually extremely good and so is the cinematography. It has been compared to ‘The Thing’, but if you view this with no preconceptions then I hope, like me, you will be very pleasantly surprised – only not too pleasant as it turns out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nightmarish beasts unleashed in Austrian horror, 19 Jan 2014
By 
John Milton (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
There's something special about horror set in sub-zero conditions that just adds another dimension to such stories for me: 30 Days of Night and The Shining are excellent examples of tales that have been greatly enhanced by the characters having to deal not only with their respective antagonists but also to contend with the adverse weather conditions and the isolation thrust upon them by the harsh climate. Boldly, Blood Glacier quotes a review as "reminiscent of John Carpenter's The Thing", which is for me, one of my all-time favourite horror films...

I was a little sceptical about watching this film at first since the title isn't exactly inspiring but the comparison to The Thing and learning that the man behind this Austrian flick is Marvin Kren, who was responsible for 2010's Rammbock (AKA Siege of the Dead and Berlin Undead) instilled some hope in me.

The film starts out with a bit of an eco-message which could easily have consumed the rest of the movie but simply sets the scene with some passing references throughout the film thereafter. We are introduced to the main characters and fairly quickly, things start to go wrong for all involved at the remote alpine research station.

Blood Glacier employs both practical and CGI effects appropriately but it is with the former that I found the film to be particularly impressive. This film marks a welcome return to quality practical effects that are lacking in many modern genre films and for many viewers, will leave their stomachs roiling at times. The monstrous hybrid creatures mentioned in the film's synopsis may, in writing, appear preposterous; however, the set up and explanation for their "evolution" is well thought out and an expository moment later in the film adds considerable depth to this aspect of the film.

Also known as The Station and Blutgletscher, this film does not simply rely on its effects. The character development is well-rounded with numerous flawed individuals as the central players, making for compelling viewing as the film rolls along and the body count mounts higher. Filmed on the Italian side of the Tyrolean Alps, the viewer is left with a real sense of isolation which assists in ramping up the horror.

Look past the title and sit down to a well-executed horror that is a welcome addition to the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Land of `rabid foxes', 24 Jan 2014
Here's a fun game... watch `Blood Glacier' and give yourself ten points every time someone mentions rabid foxes. I would say drink an alcoholic drink, but you'd probably need hospital treatment if you did that.

In `Blood Glacier' we join an assortment of bearded geologists studying a glacier somewhere in the natural wilderness. Then, one fateful day, their glacier looks like it's made up of blood. Although it's quite pretty it does have the drawback of produces rabid foxes. Okay, so the `rabid foxes' turn out to be an assortment of monsters, but the geologists still seem to refer to them as `rabid foxes' for much of the film (even when Santa Clause arrives with his butt-kicking wife).

What you have here is a homage to John Carpenter's classic, `The Thing.' I don't say `rip-off' because that would be running Blood Glacier down and, despite its reliance on rabid foxes and baldy-beardy men, it's actually pretty fun. Yes, it has subtitles, so be prepared for that, but the effects are cool, the monsters well thought out and not that much (if any?) CGI effects which ruin so many films. The cast does as well as any cast in these situations. Of course there are always going to be a few daft moments where people do that thing Ripley does in Alien where they sacrifice humans to save animals, but, apart from that, if you're a fan of foreign horror, or liked The Thing, I'd give this one a go.

It also includes the rather surreal line, `Stop eating that banana while you're crying!' I don't know why that amused me so, but it did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars INTO THE FIRE!, 9 May 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A group of scientist are studying the recession of a glacier. Global Warming has caused some issues, but it is about to get worse. Janek (Gerhard Liebmann) is the main character. He has been stationed up here for 5 years. When they lose contact with one of their remotes, he investigates only to find the "blood glacier," a red colored glacier which places a red filter on the camera for a few scenes for no reason other than to scare us. When more samples must be collected, the glacier is gone, but there is a mutant rabid fox running around.

40 minutes into the film we are provided with an explanation as a team which includes the prime minister is on its way, lead by Janek's ex-gf Tanja (Edita Malovcic).

The action builds slow. The special effects were better on small creatures, but comical on larger ones. The big horror scene shows people uncontrollably screaming as lights flash and a big fake creature head comes through the door. The dialogue was extremely dry. Some might find this entertaining for various reasons, I did not.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 21 May 2014
Decent horror movie. Lots of jumps and scares, interesting plot.

The arctic-style glaciers and mountain terrain make the story that much more interesting as characters interact. Good actors too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good try., 14 Feb 2014
has its similarities to the thing. but if anybodys old enough to remember its more like prophecy the monster movie from 1979 which you can only seem to buy from germany or the states. i thought the film was ok but i wouldnt watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars NOT BAD FOR A LOW BUDGET MONSTER MOVIE, 2 Feb 2014
Good acting, fairly good script and not bad monsters make this THING wannabee not bad at all
If you go into this not expecting much you may be surprised
xtras on the dvd are nothing much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gory-german horror extravaganza!, 6 Jan 2014
A gory-german extravaganza! Blood Glacier had me shrieking like a little girl, and delivered a horror-filled fright fest, with plenty of weird mutated creatures, gore and scares to keep you up all night. The Station is great viewing, and I would recommend it to all horror fans, particularly those who enjoyed "The Thing".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More disappointing than bad [rental], 8 May 2014
I assumed the movie would focus on the four people in the station itself trying to survive, but many other characters appear too, so the body count is higher but there's less opportunity for characterisation, and so little reason for concern over what happens to these people.

Essentially, if you thought films like "Anaconda" or the "Friday the 13th" remake was good because of the production values and other superfical aspects you would probably enjoy Blood Glacier.

On the other hand those who thought films like "Anaconda" or the "Friday the 13th" remake OUTRIGHT STUNK for being an exercise in a bare-bones,slasher movie devoid of any reason to be scared, one-note characters and nothing resembling ambition or vision will probably be disappointed.

(Yes, Blood Glacier has a bit more characterisation than the "Friday the 13th" remake or "Anaconda" and much better pacing but that's not exactly high praise)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dire, 25 Jun 2014
This review is from: Blood Glacier (DVD)
Just about as bad as it gets.........some bits are just funny!!
If it had a budget it wasn't enough and it was laughable as a story.
Suggest you will get more excitement and shocks if you don't watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blutgletscher (Blu-ray) (FSK 16)
£14.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews