Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent collection
The BBC Folk Awards consistently bring out excellent collections of some of the finest folk music. There is something for all tastes - the music is varied, including the style and the way in which it is played. However, the music seems to fit together as a compilation very well and the CD as a whole works brilliantly.

There are familiar names here such as Chris...
Published 10 months ago by SM

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As an AWARDS album, I would have expected more.
The collection was fine, but as an album of "award winners" of an annual award for folk musicians, I would have expected more exceptional tracks, more originality in music and more innovation in arrangements.
But a pleasant enough collection to be sure.
Published 7 months ago by 1Fatts


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent collection, 17 Feb 2014
By 
SM (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2014 (Audio CD)
The BBC Folk Awards consistently bring out excellent collections of some of the finest folk music. There is something for all tastes - the music is varied, including the style and the way in which it is played. However, the music seems to fit together as a compilation very well and the CD as a whole works brilliantly.

There are familiar names here such as Chris Wood, Bella Hardy and Martin Simpson. It is lovely to see Linda Thomspon featuring. She was struck down by psychogenic dysphonia many years ago and then later with spasmodic dysphonia which prevented her from singing. So it is really good to see her singing on here as her releases over the years have been less than they would have been and rather sporadic.

The young folk award finalists are stunning. It is really noticeable how very different they are from each other. From full of energy through to more contemplative. Certainly these artists are ones to watch out for in the very near future - I can see I will be following some new folk artists and spending yet more money on CD's!

I'd recommend this collection to anyone who loves fine folk music or it offers great variation to those only just starting to explore this type of music. I've only listened straight through once so far - but can see that the CD's are going to be played an awful lot before next years collection comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A consistently good annual collection, 16 Feb 2014
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The folk awards annual very rarely lets you down and this year's edition continues the trend. It appears to me that this year the judges have returned to their roots a bit more than in previous years as most of the acts features as is apparent are in the main either solo artists or duos who use traditional instruments, song structures and more often than not lyrical influences. And that's no bad thing but I do miss the odd cuckoo in the nest that previous years have thrown up so we are left with the likes of Lau and Lisa Knapp pushing the "folk" boundaries just a bit. For me, this is no bad thing though as all the tracks on here from the plaintive opener Willie of Winsbury to the majestic Lau and their Throwing Pennies have something to recommend them and everyone will have their own favourites. An essential listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great selection, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2014 (Audio CD)
For anyone who Loves music and ignores genres in their selection of CDS or downloads .This Double CD will more than reward your open approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy, 27 Feb 2014
By 
r (weybridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2014 (Audio CD)
I have now discovered catrin finch & seckou keita. For me that in itself is worth the money. There aren't many things will make me smile on a cold drizzly early morning walk to work, but that did. Oh, and everything else on there is good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'E' for Effort, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2014 (Audio CD)
Not quite as compelling as earlier Folk Award compilations with relatively few stand-out tracks in this eclectic mix. Nevertheless it's good value-for-money. Anais Mitchell and Jefferson Hamer are captivating with their interpretation of Willie of Winsbury, while Delta Dreams is well up to Martin Simpson's usual high standards. No compilation album would be complete without a track from Chris Wood and he doesn't disappoint with None the Wiser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always eclectic, always good value, 9 Mar 2014
By 
P. Lee (South West UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2014 (Audio CD)
Folk Awards cd's show the amazing breadth of folk music.
Great musicians, great selection and range of music. A great 'taster' double album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2014 (Audio CD)
A great CD with a variety of different folk artists and styles of music. A good way to discover new artists if you are not a regular listener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2014 (Audio CD)
Great mixture of the styles in folk nowadays and some exceptional tallent. Watch out for the Young Folk Artists in future years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great music, 20 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. G. S. Harland "garethbluejays" (Washington, Tyne and Wear) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2014 (Audio CD)
Love these folk albums. Right up my street. Love the variety and the talent. have already built up quite a collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars folk awards every year is a first class choice !, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2014 (Audio CD)
a great variety as expected , all first class ,it is great to see young musicians blossoming over the years.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

BBC Folk Awards 2014
BBC Folk Awards 2014 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2014)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews