Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back Ade...
First off, we get Jake and his Red Dragon Cartel, and now another 80's axe God makes his long overdue return.

Definite nods to former glories, and comparisons to Whitesnake are there for all to see, but a massive nod to Led Zeppelin too, in fact track 2 'Close To You', for me, is 'Black Dog' in every way other than title!! Just listen to that trade off between...
Published 10 months ago by Deano

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars moonkings
Not bad !! a welcome return for Mr Vandenburg , with a 70's vibe. Good songs and the band seem to gel very well.
Published 9 months ago by rocker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back Ade..., 24 Feb 2014
This review is from: Moonkings (Audio CD)
First off, we get Jake and his Red Dragon Cartel, and now another 80's axe God makes his long overdue return.

Definite nods to former glories, and comparisons to Whitesnake are there for all to see, but a massive nod to Led Zeppelin too, in fact track 2 'Close To You', for me, is 'Black Dog' in every way other than title!! Just listen to that trade off between vocal and guitar!
'Breathing' sounds like something the Scorpions would come up with, and 'Out of Reach' could be the typical Coverdale big ballad, in fact, each listen, apart from widening my grin!, throws up more and more comparisons, but this is obviously just an opinion, and others will hear things differently.

Some people may dock a star for the Comparisons, but not me. I admit, I am easily pleased, but this is a solid slab of exactly the sort of Hard Rockin' musical marvellousness I used to lap up back in the day, and here's hoping we get many more 'Old Schoolers' hitting the recording studios, and getting back out on the road. It doesn't matter if there is little in the way of progression or growth, because, if it ain't broke.... don't try and fix it!!

You know what?? JUST BUY IT!!!!!

Welcome back Ade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Nostalia, 11 April 2014
By 
Mr. Jon Garrett "JG" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonkings [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Lets be fair, a fair number of us will only buy this record because we remember Vandenberg in his pomp, either from his rather good solo records pre Whitesnake, or mincing around next to Mr Coverdale, giving shifty glances as Tawney Kitton, or whatever she was called.

But! This album is actually very good and stands alone as a very solid rock record.
Gutsy blues which harks back to Led Zepp, rather than the smaltzey sleaze of Whitesnake, which let's be fair folks, mentions the word 'love' every 5 bars and has the depth of a puddle on a sunny day.

Excellent vocals, knowing lyrics and solid guitars without going overboard and jumping head first into self indulgence.
This is certainly not a has been throwing out one last set of tunes but a very good rock band, having fun, belting out great songs, with great production making it all sounds really energetic and toe tapping.
An album that you'll be going back to on a regular basis - I keep wanting to hear 'Lust and Lies' again and again, if only for the line 'Love is strong, and the rules are rather vague'.
Anyone that uses the phrase 'rather vague' in a song is alright in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning comeback album!!!!, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MoonKings (MP3 Download)
Where do i start? simply sublime, dripping bluesy hard rock hooks, left right and center, superb vocalist sometimes reminiscent of Early D.C. great musicanship throughout oozes class from every pore, not just Ade Vandenberg, but sounds like a band together , very impressive album, buy it you wont be dissappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SOLID, 29 Mar 2014
By 
V. Chasirtzoglou "Heavy Paradise" (kavala, GREECE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonkings (Audio CD)
"Lust And Lies" the opening tune seems to be the perfect opener and the perfect appetizer of what's to follow here! A 'dirty' and classic rock sound in this excellent Whitesnake-esque track! The vocals, the guitar work, the rhythm, the chorus....everything here is PERFECT! Great stuff! "Close To You" features a groovier vibe while "Breathing" left me....breathless!!! This is one of the best tunes that I've heard this year! A mid-tempo rocker with an explosive chorus to whisper for days and Hoving's amazing vocal performances! "Line Of Fire" is another cool 70's influenced rocker and "One Step Behind" is a great ballad!! The album closes with the Whitesnake cover of "Sailing Ships" with a new arrangement and ,yes, we have here David Coverdale on lead vocals!!

This is a classic hard rock album all the way! The whole album 'smells' 70's and 80's from miles away! Adrian Vandenberg achieves to create a strong blues hard rock album with some great songs in it and the sure thing is that 'VANDENBERG'S MOONKINGS' will put a big smile upon the face of each and every single fan of this scene and of course in every Whitesnake fan out there!
(written for [...])
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More cowbell!, 20 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Moonkings (Audio CD)
Really? Adje has finally made a record? Indeed, tis so. Adrian Vandenberg has got round to releasing his first album since 1994 when the Manic Eden record came out. And that wasn’t exactly a world beater. But this time he’s dipped into his bag of long lost Whitesnake riffs and come up with a peach of a record.

He must have done it on purpose, because vocalist Jan Hoving is straight out of the seventies tight trousered mould, and he swaggers his way through an excellent set of songs. I must admit to being slightly annoyed at having to wait this long for such a good Vandenberg album. Damn those paint brushes! However, with lots of Hammond organ runs, powerful riffs and even some cowbell, this has ended up one of the best things he’s been involved in.

For sure, the ballads really need a vocalist out of the top drawer to make them work 100%, but on the up tempo numbers like ‘Lust And Lies’, Close To You’ and ‘Good Thing’ everything is just so right. Fans of his Whitesnake work should head straight for ‘Steal Away’, and just in case you’ve forgotten who he is, the whole set ends with a low key version of the Snake song ‘Sailing Ships’, with a certain Sir David Coverdale on vocals.

This will be one of the hard rock albums of the year; no doubt about it. So let’s rawk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy Rock Album, 15 Aug 2014
By 
M. G. Chisholm "chiefengineer3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonkings (Audio CD)
No way of getting away from the comparison between this album and whitsnake at their commercial hair metal peak. And that's not a bad thing because Whitesnake defined glossy blues based hair rock back more years ago than I want to think about

Of course we have a more modern sound and production is very good in line with most quality output today.

Having listened to this a few times now the overriding impression is one of a well balanced record. Lots of songs and a good variety of pace and tempo. All together it makes for a very good hour or so of listening.

And there are a few genuine classic toe tapping catchy rock tunes on here as well. Real ear worms that linger well after the album has finished.

Basically a damn good rock record that deserves to do really well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Album of the year 2014!, 11 Jun 2014
By 
D. Dixon "Diggler" (Middlesbrough, County Durham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonkings (Audio CD)
I love whitesnake...now that's out of the way, let's point out that this might sound a little like whitesnake on certain tracks, but there is a whole spectrum of musicianship going on here so the whitesnake influence isn't the principle sound here.

What this album is, is a 1970s hard rock album, with a 2000's update. Add in the Vandenberg who's
guitarwork is awesome, a vocaist with a range Coverdale would kill for and no weak songs, and you have a brilliant album..

Leave this town, line of fire ( will be used on football montages all over the world!), and out of reach are the pinnacle..

Think ACDC/Thin Lizzy/Free/UFO/Whitesnake / Scorpions and you know what this album is all about....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars moonkings, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonkings (Audio CD)
Not bad !! a welcome return for Mr Vandenburg , with a 70's vibe. Good songs and the band seem to gel very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonkings [VINYL] (Vinyl)
beau vinyl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moon king of kings, 5 July 2014
This review is from: Moonkings (Audio CD)
Wat a brilliant musical experience bought this after reading about it in classic rock. Best thing Iv bought since like in forever. Would deffo recommend this to anyone and everyone who likes their rock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moonkings
Moonkings by Vandenberg's Moonkings (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews