Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a horror film, but still amazing!
The problem with this film is that it has been marketed as a horror film, where in reality it's a psychological drama. It is very eerie and I would recommend it to people who enjoyed Richard Aeyoede's 'the double', 'the virgin suicides' or the first season of 'american horror story'. It is uncomfortable and strange to watch, which just makes it better. You never quite...
Published 1 month ago by Jasmine

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is Not a Horror, It's a Weak Psychological Drama.
This film is marketed as a horror film, which is entirely misleading. It's a psychological drama, and not a good one. Alicia is a young American lady, who goes to visit her cousin Sarah in a remote farmhouse in Chile. Soon after Alicia arrives, Sarah departs to go and sit an exam somewhere, leaving Alicia alone with three of Sarah's mates.
The three mates are...
Published 6 months ago by William Mason


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is Not a Horror, It's a Weak Psychological Drama., 28 Sept. 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This film is marketed as a horror film, which is entirely misleading. It's a psychological drama, and not a good one. Alicia is a young American lady, who goes to visit her cousin Sarah in a remote farmhouse in Chile. Soon after Alicia arrives, Sarah departs to go and sit an exam somewhere, leaving Alicia alone with three of Sarah's mates.
The three mates are immature and largely charmless. One of them, played by Michael Cera, is lewd, sneering, creepy, tactless and misogynistic. Another is a Chilean guy, who's an amateur hypnotist. The third mate is a dour, selfish, dull and anti-social Chilean woman.
Alicia starts to have a nervous breakdown, which is very gradual and portrayed in a cliche ridden fashion. It's never actually explained why she has a nervous breakdown. The film asks you to assume it's a combination of lack of sleep, and being hypnotized, and little else. It entirely fails to convince.
The film moves at a leaden pace, but I stuck with it determinedly, thinking that one of two things might happen. Firstly, that the movie would be like The Wicker Man, i.e. a very slow and slightly creepy build up, with a young, virginal, central character, who endures a horrific fate at the hands of the homicidal locals. No such luck.
Secondly, that Alicia would turn into a deranged, maniacal killer, and slay her annoying housemates. No such luck. As Alicia goes into meltdown, Sarah, who's come back from sitting her exam, and her odious pals, take the ranting Alicia to a neighbour, who's some sort of witch doctor.
A black magic ritual then takes place, involving a goat, and Alicia stops breathing. The end credits started. I just couldn't believe it. I felt utterly cheated, that the film couldn't justify the slow, very long build up, with a stunning end sequence. Atrocious!
If you want to see a brilliant movie about a young woman, who is driven to a nervous breakdown by the obnoxious behaviour of others, and reacts in a stunningly terrifying fashion, watch the Korean movie Bedevilled - Bedevilled [Blu-ray] . Okay, so Bedevilled is subtitled, but it's as shocking, mesmerising and unforgettable, as Magic Magic is limp, uninspired, irritating and anti-climactic.
I hate to give any DVD just one star, and the acting in Magic Magic is okay, probably good enough for two stars, but the ending is just so resoundingly and unforgivably lacklustre and frankly spineless, that I had to stick with the one star. Give this film a wide swerve and buy Bedevilled on blu ray instead, it's a tour de force horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tries to be clever but isn't, 8 Jun. 2014
By 
MacDee (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Magic Magic [DVD] (2013) (DVD)
This is another attempt to make an arty psychological horror which doesn't quite come off. The characters are less than engaging and the overuse of darkness in an attempt to create some kind of eerie atmosphere leaves the viewer feeling both irritated and confused. Nothing much actually happens - the lead character has a breakdown over an hour and a half but even that is not well portrayed. The description on Amazon and on the cover is completely misleading - this is simply an art-house drama with no redeeming features. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT WORTH BOTHERING WITH, 31 Aug. 2014
By 
Reader (The south) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This is a confusing film that is trying very hard to be arty and interesting. It's supposed to be a psychological thriller, but it's rubbish, with a bunch of actors who look as confused to be in it as I was watching it. As far as the plot is concerned it goes nowhere. All in all it was a waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the journey, 4 Dec. 2014
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magic Magic [DVD] (2013) (DVD)
Despite largely negative reviews I thought I'd give this a spin - sadly I've got to add my name to the list of people left underwhelmed by Magic Magic.

Juno Temples probably the best thing in it - she gives a pretty decent performance I thought as Alicia, a young lady who journeys to stay with a friend on a remote island off Chile. Here she meets some other friends of her friend who she doesn't get on especially well with despite the fact none of them do anything particularly horrendous to her.

For reasons I'm not entirely sure of, Alicia starts to fall apart - she has a breakdown of sorts. This may be due to the location, a feeling of loneliness, an inability to cope with the strangers she meets or possibly there are problems in her past (there's the odd hint to this end). There are no real answers offered and this is a theme of the film. A promising opening hour slowly builds up a bit of tension and a certain sense of dread but the last act unravels into one of those frustrating non-endings that crop up often these days.

Michael Cera plays his role admirably against type and the actings generally decent throughout but overall I felt the film just didn't really add up to much. A wasted opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars hard to hear, hard to see- a lot happens ..., 26 July 2014
This review is from: Magic Magic (DVD)
hard to hear, hard to see- a lot happens in darkness. irritating "characters" and an anti climactic ending- sorry, but nope
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MINNIE THE MOOCHER, 16 May 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Alicia (Juno Temple) visits her cousin Sarah (Emily Browning) in Chile. Sarah is suddenly called back to Santiago to take exams (weak plot point) while Alicia remains isolated with Sarah's inhospitable friends. Brink (Michael Cera) is a tag-a-long who keeps hitting on Alicia who does not like him. In fact I didn't like him. He was immature, prissy, dorky, and creepy all rolled up into one. Barbara (Catalina Sandino Moreno), the host, was cold while Agustin (Agustín Silva) an amateur hypnotist and Sarah's BF lacked personality.

The film was boring for the first hour as sleepless, jet lagged, Alicia didn't want to be on the island anymore than the other people wanted her there. We get clues early on that there are issues. After the first hour, the film turns weird, but I found it lacking in entertainment value because the characters and dialogue had been dead for too long.

This film is not a horror film, nor is it an action-thriller. It is a drama which teases you into thinking it is a thriller. Not something I will own, and regretted the rental.

Parental Guide: F-bomb (2 languages) Nudity (Juno Temple) sex?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a horror film, but still amazing!, 19 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Magic Magic [DVD] (2013) (DVD)
The problem with this film is that it has been marketed as a horror film, where in reality it's a psychological drama. It is very eerie and I would recommend it to people who enjoyed Richard Aeyoede's 'the double', 'the virgin suicides' or the first season of 'american horror story'. It is uncomfortable and strange to watch, which just makes it better. You never quite know whats going on. A couple of my friends have also seen it and we have all got different ideas of what actually happened. Its such a good film, and each time you watch it you think more and more about what happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish rubbish, 23 April 2014
This review is from: Magic Magic [DVD] (2013) (DVD)
Absolutely appalling film which I wanted to stop watching after just 15 minutes but as I'd paid to view it online I carried on in the hope it would improve. It didn't, it got worse. There's no plot, no strong characters, no reality, no gripping tale, nothing. What you do get is a lot of bad acting, zero storyline and one of the worst movie endings I've ever seen. It all revolves around a teenage girl who goes on holiday with a bunch of weirdos and she gets crazier as the film progresses. It's slow and painful and basically about as interesting and pointless as nailing jelly to the ceiling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars crap crap, 10 May 2014
This review is from: Magic Magic (DVD)
yes I agree with some of the other reviews ,this film has to be one of the worst ever,absolute crap crap don't waste your time or money renting this, there was little or no meaning to this film and certainly no magic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars avoid, 1 Sept. 2014
By 
A. Cockburn (Lost) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magic Magic [DVD] (2013) (DVD)
Badly shot, slow self indulging rubbish. Poorly written, what on earth were they thinking when they made this..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magic Magic [DVD] (2013)
Magic Magic [DVD] (2013) by Sebastián Silva (DVD - 2014)
£4.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews