Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth keeping!
I loved this book and the intensity of the story. For me it was sometimes difficult to read but that only enhanced the reading experience. I fell in love with these characters and cared very much about what happened to them. I loved the setting and everything else about it. Highly recommended.
Published 6 months ago by Emerald1

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok but not my cup of tea
t was okay but i didn't really love the characters. It was well written though. I love MM fiction of any type but for some reason this didnt click with me.
Published 6 months ago by Raradivalicious


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 25 Dec 2013
This review is from: Worth Keeping (Kindle Edition)
Wow this book is filled with emotion it will rip your heart out in bits. Nick and Owen what a pair you will just love them and little Socks is soooooo cute. You will definatly need your box of tissues at the ready .Worth every penny you dont want to miss this book.Well done Susan Mac Nicol and cannot wait for your next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It, 24 Dec 2013
By 
Andrea (Halifax, Nova Scotia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Worth Keeping (Kindle Edition)
I was given this book in return for an honest review. This is the second book by Susan Mac Nicol I have read and I must say I was not disappointed! I loved this book from the get go. Nick is a young man who had a very rough and tormented childhood and is struggeling to live with the life he was dealt. Owen is trying to deal with a tragic situation from his past when the two unexpectedly meet. What happens after that is an amazing story that will take you on a journey filled with ups and downs and a few twists and turns! I can honestly say this book had me in tears on more than one occasion! This is a must read! Well done Susan, you should be very proud of yourself! Can't wait to see what is next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read, But A Bit Like Soft Porn With A Good Plot., 9 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Worth Keeping (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this.

Having avoided gay fiction for a number of years, I felt the urge to dive back in and read some and see if there was any improvement over some of the stuff I'd read over the years and, as this was going cheap, decided to give it a shot.

I'm glad I did, it's an interesting read, even though it's pretty telegraphed as to what's going to happen and how it's going to turn out.

The real gripe I have with it and with another book I've just downloaded by the same author is the apparent lack of any gay characters who seem to be just average blokes.

So far as I've read, all of her gay characters seem to be beautifully built and gorgeous and always "at the ready," so to speak.
There are endless descriptions of what they "get up to," to the point where I think it interferes with the development of the plot.
It would be nice to read a book where Mr average appears from time to time.

Also, what is this obsession with long thick manes of hair?
From my experience it's not a thing I've observed on the gay scene, where a preference for short, if not cropped hair seems to be the "norm," whereas a number of Ms Nicol's characters seem to have long flowing locks..but then, perhaps, that's her fantasy of the ideal man, it's certainly not mine! :O)

That said, I'd certainly recommend giving her books a shot, they're a great leap forward from the sort of depressing stuff one used to read, where the only ending was the inevitable death of the main character..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as previous books, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Worth Keeping (Kindle Edition)
To start with, I can understand inventing a town or village for your characters, it goes with creative license, but moving a whole lighthouse (which does exist on the Norfolk coast) half a mile out to sea when its actually inland was pushing it. Also, whilst Nick' s background was fleshed out, I felt I knew hardly anything about Owen, let alone why he came to try and kill himself. I was disappointed with the book overall as it wasn't up to the standard of the previous ones, especially with a comic book villain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth keeping., 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Worth Keeping (Kindle Edition)
Characters not very believable, sex scenes unimaginative, Narrative too predictable. Couldn't wait for it to end. I have read much better in this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Freaking Awesome!!!!!!!, 31 Jan 2014
By 
kirstyv (Torquay, Devon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Worth Keeping (Kindle Edition)
As 2013 drew to a close I did not believe I would read a book as awesome a Susan Mac Nicol's Saving Alexander, for its tenacity, passion and character development. However, I discovered Worth Keeping was being released prior to Christmas and was lucky enough to receive a copy - unfortunately my review has been delayed due to family and internet issues - but it is very clear Nick and Owen are trying to battle Alex and Sage for their crown!
I feel Worth Keeping begins like a twisted fairy tale; our hero, Nick, is walking the stormy cliffs (yes, contemplating his suicide) and saves a man who has washed up on the beach. He takes the man back to his lighthouse to recover but this would be no Susan Mac Nicol book if I said they fell in love and lived happily ever after, the end.
Whilst staying at the cottage Owen realizes Nick is suffering from harrowing nightmares, which are a sign of a tortured history, and the more he begins to care, he wants to help him heal.
The two protagonists have very distinct characteristics and although they are attracted to each other, Susan Mac Nicol gives the reader different reasons for us to identify with them. Nick is temperamental and guarded, still controlled by his triggers and past, but he is also loyal. Owen is witty, loving, adventurous and open, but flirty.
The times which Nick breaks are heart-wrenching and Susan Mac Nicol has obviously researched the legal details well; managing his painful history with sensitivity, understanding and tenderness. Due to her complete knowledge I feel she raises awareness of the serious issues raised in this book and forces her reader to think.
Although Nick has a therapist I love the way in which Susan Mac Nicol shows that love and passion can also be an outlet, the lighthouse scene being my favorite!
Worth Keeping has an element of suspense and the villain of this novel is bad enough to make the reader's skin crawl! Susan Mac Nicol brings the story to a fantastic climatic ending and I am holding my breath for her next release!
This book is a GO BUY NOW!!!!
I received this as a review copy, but this has had no influence on my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 Brilliant Stars, 26 Jan 2014
This review is from: Worth Keeping (Kindle Edition)
“Leave me.”…”Let me die.”

Gitte: Wow, there’s no doubt is there Jenny, Susan Mac Nicol sure writes beautiful, flawless and emotional stories. I think I’ve cried every time I’ve read one of her books. Her characters are lovable, funny, and sexy and have a real emotional depth to them. This time we got cheekiness too and a monkey named Socks, which I loved and made me laugh! I have to say I found Worth Keeping had just about everything you’d love in a story; angst, passion, drama, suspense and humour in abundance and the fact that the insta-love didn’t bother me speaks volumes about the class of this lady’s writing!

Worth Keeping was extremely dark at times; covering rape, abuse and violence, the writing is so brilliant, I sometimes felt sick and had constant tears in my eyes. It was also full of love, hope and inspiration.

“Please fight for me..”

It’s about two guys who both have a different type of tragedy in their past and need to learn to heal and find true happiness again.

“What are you scared of?”

So why not a 5 star? Well, now that this is the third book I’ve read by this Author, the formula has gotten a tad predictable. Don’t get me wrong, I loved everything about Worth Keeping, it was just too easy to foresee what would happen next. You felt the same didn’t you Jenny?

Jenny: Absolutely Gitte! Firstly, I know when I pick up one of Susan’s that it’s going to take me on an emotional and enlightening journey that will surely touch my heart and, in between a lot of other feelings, Worth Keeping certainly did just that. It was a tragic, painful, dark and yet wonderfully triumphant story of love against the odds.

“Close your eyes and let me help you forget for a while.”

And yes, I do agree that the formula is quite predictable after a few books so I knew from the start how the story would eventuate but getting there was such a memorable journey and it really did mess with my emotions.

Nick’s story in particular broke me. What this man had experienced in life….well, you can’t comprehend.

“He’s a difficult son of a bitch but he’s one of the strongest and bravest men I think I’ve ever met.”

Yet, in amongst the heaviness of Nick’s story we had the cheeky humor of Owen, the passionate chemistry between Nick and Owen and the suspense throughout the story and YES! Let’s not forget Socks who, I might add, completely stole my heart! This little cheeky monkey was just gorgeous and had me giggling like crazy and in tears in the scenes when he became upset. This little guy was something else! The cast of characters in this story were just beautiful. Nick’s Dad in particular was such a fun and loving character. His love and devotion for Nick was as extraordinary as was the man himself. Of course, not everyone was loveable. Don’t even get me started on the horrid Brad Mayhew!!!! This author certainly does have a way of portraying these evil characters that leave me seething! What a cruel bastard he was. And Sid and Barrett…..hmmmm do I detect a fellow Floyd fan here Susan?

Gitte: So we have Owen; funny, sweet, stubborn and gorgeous Owen who lost the love of his life and is unable to see a way of living no matter how long has passed. Owen’s grief is overwhelming to the point where he washes up on Nick’s shores. Bless him, he had no idea what he’s in for with Nick and his ghosts and the path he’s now on. However, Owen has the willpower of many men, a huge heart and he doesn’t give up. His heart takes a real battering in this story and at times I wanted to shout at Nick for not realising just what he had in this beautiful man as well as the fact that Owen too has suffered.

‘Owen thought fiercely that there was no way in hell he was ever leaving this man alone with his demons. Hell would freeze over before that happened.’

Owen loves with passion and his sense of humour is infectious and so endearing. He’s perfect for Nick and has the patience of a saint as well as the staying power Nick needs. The way Owen got through to Nick and helped him on the road to recovery and realising its okay to love was beautiful and inspiring. I think Owen is one of my favourite characters by this Author as he had some cute and funny quirks, he was completely lovable and so very passionate. He had an immense understanding of Nick and an empathy that knows no bounds.

Jenny: I think Nick knew what he had in Owen but he just didn’t have the confidence and self-love in himself to believe that a man like Owen would love him and want to be with him. He constantly questioned his own validity and self-worth.

“You just can’t bear to be happy.”

He was teetering on a path of self-destruction and self-loathing and it was going to take a lot of strength and a man of Owen’s substance to bring Nick out of himself.

Nick had suffered through so much in his life. Abused and used by a mother who should have nurtured and protected him and belittled, humiliated and abused by man who he thought loved him. Nick had survived under the most horrific of circumstances. In Owen he found a man who never judged and always accepted Nick for the broken man he was.

“You don’t need fixing, Nick. You’re great just the way you are.”

To hear Nick recount his story was shocking and heart-breaking. It was difficult to read and so raw and real was the telling that I just wanted to jump in my Kindle and hug Nick to assure him everything was going to be alright. It was testament to Nick that he tried so desperately to open his heart to love and trust. Owen became the saviour Nick so desperately needed.

“Sometimes you might just have to fight me for it. Please fight for me, Owen.

Yep, this story of two very broken and beautiful souls captured me completely.

G&J: So, we have to re-iterate that this Author will always be an automatic one-click for us. Her writing is flawless and her flawed characters are completely lovable. There’s always something quirky and fun in her stories as well as drama, angst and heaps of passion! We can highly recommend!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Jan 2014
By 
Sasco (Redhill, surrey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Worth Keeping (Kindle Edition)
An amazing tale of two lost and hurt souls. What a beautiful story and very well told.
I couldn't put it down and read it in one night. Didn't get any sleep in but it was worth it.
I adore m/m novels as l find them ... sexy yes, but also the storylines are so much more satisfying.
Wonderful and recommend highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Worth Keeping (Kindle Edition)
This novel warmed my heart and made me sigh in adoration for the protagonists. A component well written story and if it had reached me on a more soulful level or had set my pulse alight I would have definitely given it 5 stars. I admire both Owen and Nick and was happy for their progression and healing. A good solid read in between more racy stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Winner!!, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Worth Keeping (Kindle Edition)
This is not the first book I have read by Susan Mac Nicol and have to say I really do enjoy her style of writing!
Worth Keeping is another 5 star book that will grab your attention from the first page and keep your senses on high alert till the end. The story line although emotional and sad in places gave me lots to think about. The Two main characters are both trying to cope with past issues and you find yourself wondering if the scars are too deep for them to ever actually get past. It certainly made me realise that no matter what demons a person is dealing with there's always hope they can eventually be put to rest. I found during the second half of this book I could feel the suspense growing and was waiting and wondering what was going to happen next. This author manages to write in a way that the book is so easy to read yet still deals with intense emotional issues... I had to keep telling my self that I was actually reading fiction.
The characters were believable, the story very addictive so this is a must read for anyone that enjoy' s m/m books with a good romance. But be prepared it's not all plain sailing!
Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Worth Keeping
Worth Keeping by Susan Mac Nicol
2.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews