Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album number 7 and it's a stellar one!
Most welcome return from the German progressive band Vanden Plas. "Chronicals of the immortals" sees the band take-on the challenge of a concept album, which will bring us a storytelling viewpoint for the first time; and this story will be split into 2 installments, (much like Pain of salvation's Road Salt 1 & 2), with the conclusion set for a tentative 2015 release. The...
Published 16 months ago by Agma

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Godmaker!
First off, I've been following Vanden Plas since 'The God Thing' and pretty much loved every album. They mix really heavy grooves with lighter moments throughout albums and songs making their albums really gritty and dark. They also have a few songs that I find little bit samey but are still fantastic compared to some other bands best output. When I heard the concept...
Published 3 months ago by L. Cobham


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album number 7 and it's a stellar one!, 25 Feb. 2014
Most welcome return from the German progressive band Vanden Plas. "Chronicals of the immortals" sees the band take-on the challenge of a concept album, which will bring us a storytelling viewpoint for the first time; and this story will be split into 2 installments, (much like Pain of salvation's Road Salt 1 & 2), with the conclusion set for a tentative 2015 release. The inspiration for the story (named Bloodnight) and idea itself came from an author known as Wolfgang Holbein and it is about a challenging tale of a lad (I believe), who is different and feels no-one understands him.

The CD showcases a concept album, (not original or fresh to this genre) but a hugely well done one. A mixture of all the best of progressive musical qualities is helmed together by excellent musical lines, unpredictable musical corridors & strong transitional links. The album is versatile, with a huge range of variability allowing full idea exploitation and the development of these ideas in many aspects of they're musical qualities. They're isn't a single boring moment on this CD, constant shift and tempo changes provide the prelude for it's engagement, and this has been done very effectively.

As you would expect from a band of this caliber, grandiose and classical blueprints support this machelian task; The album is a excellently done tapestry of well balanced metal and beauty. Shades of light, (but mostly dark) are used for a well-laid foundation of dynamacy, and this has created a somber and epic feeling of progression as we first enter these realms and indulge inside it. So Importantly, the songs too sound inspired and full of musical character; musicianship & clarity is absolutely top notch as well which also enhances the CD to a genuinely mammoth level.

Vanden Plas, - Like other great prog metal meastros such as: (Threshold and Symphony X) have become very reliable components in this genre who deliver the goods time after time. This is the seventh studio album from the band and is just as good as their other masterpeices such as: (The god thing & Christ O); and may even even superseed other great efforts like their debut & the Serephic Clockwork. Definately don't miss out on this progressive encapsulation, the whole album is absolutely brilliant and I cannot imagine any progressive metal fans not eating this one up: This is one of the best albums of they're career so far- without-a-doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Which is a Ghost Light and which is True Illumination?, 2 Mar. 2014
By 
Andrei Aciobanitei "Andrei" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been following Vanden Plas musical journey since that incredible live album Spirit of Live. They have never disappointed and they manage to write high-quality prog metal.
To be perfectly honest, I have bought this album initially only for the spoken intro which I find the darkest, most intense and beautiful I have heard in rock music. And I listen to thousands of bands. That intro kills me. The text and the way it is spoken by Dave Esser just give me the chills. But then, the rest of the album is just great. Andy`s voice is as good as ever and the whole band sounds just beautiful!
The album is based on Wolfgang Hohlbein`s Chronicles of the immortals books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Godmaker!, 20 Mar. 2015
By 
L. Cobham (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First off, I've been following Vanden Plas since 'The God Thing' and pretty much loved every album. They mix really heavy grooves with lighter moments throughout albums and songs making their albums really gritty and dark. They also have a few songs that I find little bit samey but are still fantastic compared to some other bands best output. When I heard the concept behind this album (and the excellent artwork) I was looking forward to hearing it. My first listen revealed a change in the band toward a more 'stage show' sound due to the members appearing and playing in musicals in Germany. I wasn't sure about this turn in sound and, unfortunately, I'm still not. There are tracks on this album that have that 'musicals' structure and sound to them which is a bit bland and spoils the flow of the album. Standout track by far is the marvellous 'Godmaker' with its catchy riff and gritty sound. Maybe because this track is so very good, it makes some of the other songs appear a bit lacking. It's still a good album though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vanden Plas are the greatest progressive metal band in the world., 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After 36 years of listening to rock and metal,i don't make this statement lightly.Everything this fantastic band has produced has been phenomenal,and they never fail to surprise or impress.They are all top notch musicians covering the full range,and,like their last two albums,this is another amazing concept story.Vanden Plas can go from thundering power to ambience in an instant,no song is ever ordinary or predictable.This is yet another brilliant album,and I would urge anyone who loves rock and metal to discover this superb band,they really are the best in their class!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album and probably my favourite of all the Vanden ..., 6 Nov. 2014
By 
proggydave (Coventry, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic album and probably my favourite of all the Vanden Plas albums. Pt2 is going to have to be very good to match this! We live in hope! Love well crafted, melodic metal? Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid German Progressive, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Metal Progressive but with some good vocals with a tight guitar driven perfomance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great band - great music - end of !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Jan. 2015
By 
C. M. Mckenna (Not specified) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best CD Yet!, 26 Feb. 2014
By 
Michael B. Squires "LodgeLion" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chronicles of the Immortals - Netherworld (MP3 Download)
The best CD yet by Vanden Plas! I have always enjoyed their music but this is less metal than usual and all the better for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews